We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cottages with breathtaking views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucia Lodge
Save
You added Lucia Lodge to your Saves list
62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cute cottages with breathtaking views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night while driving up the CA coast. Overall, we really enjoyed our night. The cottages were really cute, and being set on the cliff, had an amazing view. I would recommend splurging for one of the ocean view cabins that are not connected if you can afford it. The lower priced cabins are connected and smaller. However, there is a sitting area past Cabin 10 with benches and chairs, so if you don't get an ocean view one, you can always sit outside and enjoy it as well. The gas fireplace in the unit was quaint and warm!

Negatives - The cabins were a bit secluded from other things. We drove up to Ventana for dinner, and it took a good half an hour to get back for the night. We also thought the bathroom was cramped (the shower especially). That made it a little pricey for what it was.

Despite the negatives, I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    103
    33
    18
    13
See reviews for
18
190
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I spent a few days here with my girlfriend for a romantic getaway, and we loved it. The only reason I rated it a four star and not five is due to it being a bit pricey for the accomodations. The cabin was rustic but we loved the quaintness and little gas stove. The bathroom was pretty small but the bed was very comfortable and the views out our cabin window (#7) was spectacular. We watched and listened to the waves crashing from our cabin and took a short hike up the hill behind the cabin to a private spot on a little bluff in the woods to watch the sun drop. We also enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant that was better frankly than we expected. On the walk back to the cabin we enjoyed and endless view of the night sky and brilliant stars...just perfect. What Lucia Lodge may lack in amenities it more than makes up for in terms of the privacy and the feeling that you are enjoying this beautiful place with just a few other lucky souls. We will definitely be back, and the staff were all very accommodating and friendly too.

Room Tip: It seems the free standing cabins are a much better choice than the motel style rooms. More expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was my 2nd time at Lucia Lodge (not really a lodge but a set of cottages sitting high on he cliffs above the Big Sur coast with a small shop and restaurant a short walk away), and my companion's first time. After nice stops in San Simeon and Avila Beach, my companion insisted the Lucia cottage was by far the best, most unique stay of the 3 days. They are are indeed unique: no TV, no phones in rooms, and it is off the grid so no cell coverage either- are you going thru 'e' withdrawal yet?? They have added a limited satelite wireless access since I was there 2 years ago, so now you do not have to go through total withdrawal when you stay.
The original cottages were built in the '30's so they are old and lean, creak, and have the obvious termite damage to show their age. That said, you will not find a more unique, truly rustic (the old cottages define 'rustic') location on the CA Central Coast. Only had breakfast at the restaurant (breakfast open for guests only) and is more than adequate. Never ate dinner at Lucia, only eaten at Deetjen's at Big Sur Inn and highly recommend it.
The short hike up to the overlook above the cottages is an absolute sunset must.
If 'rustic' or cozy/romantic is not you, find another place, otherwise this is a must stay.

Room Tip: Cottages 7-10 are best, oldest, best views; 1-4 have views but not as good; 5&6 don't have d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, California, USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a tough review because we didn't actually stay inside the lodge, we slept in the car in the parking lot due to highway 1 being closed directly north of the lodge and directly south, so we were pretty much stuck on the highway on the day before Christmas eve with dozens of other stranger and Lucia lodge was completely sold out. However, they were so incredibly nice, they allowed us all to group in their parking lot and kept the lights and the bathrooms open all night long we did interact with the staff. Also, we dined at their restaurant, super long wait as you can imagine tons of stranded holiday travelers needing to eat, and the service there was also great, given the situation they were incredibly nice and considerate. Food was pretty decent as well, it was a bit on the pricey side but it was rather good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was getting dark and I was not willing to drive the PCH anymore so I stopped here. The room accommodates 2 only and was 170. I had a view from room 4. The bed was comfortable, has a comforter and enough pillows. There is a shower stall and the bathroom is basic. The rooms sit on a ledge over looking the ocean. From room 4 there is a view. The lodge is old and has been there forever. There are no lights in this area so you can see all the stars at night. You hear the ocean waves at night, you see the sun come up over the St Lucia mountains and over the pacific ocean in the morning. My description does not give it the glory it truly is. They have internet via satellite and you will get a password to access it. The rooms have no tvs. You are not there to watch tv. The stars at night put on a show for you and in the morning you get a whole new show. Hummingbirds were flying around, whales were playing out in the ocean. Check out isn't until like 1030 take advantage of it. The lodge comes with a continental breakfast that was quite nice served in the restaurant. The restaurant overlooks the ocean also.
I had crab cakes in the restaurant, they were very good and average price. Otherwise I did not eat there. There is a market where you can buy convenient foods, wine or sparkling wine to take to the room.

Room Tip: cabins sit over the ocean and have electric fireplaces with sitting areas. If you are staying more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in cabin 8 for three nights over Thanksgiving weekend. Our cabin, although not luxurious, was lovely with a nice sitting area and gas fireplace. The view of the southern Big Sur coast was unforgettable. Each evening we enjoyed the sunset from the small hill behind the cabins with a bottle of wine ( brought from home- the stuff in the store is expensive). The Lucia Lodge was a great base for the hiking we did over the weekend. For dinner we ate at the Lucia Lodge one night ( good but not great). The other two nights we drove about half an hour north to Big Sur proper. One night we ate at Nepenthe's (amazing food and atmosphere) and the other we ate at the Big Sur Inn ( also excellent!) . I would recommend the Lucia Lodge if you are looking for a relaxing stay in Big Sur.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the cabins. I would not stay in the motel style rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a three day stay at the Lucia Lodge. Most of the time we were there it rained, but it was not a huge problem because we were there to relax and the bad weather gave us plenty of chance to do so. We stay in cabin #9 and due to the TA reviews it was just as we expected. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable...and as almost everyone else has noted the view was extraordinary. The bathroom was tiny, but again, from the previous reviews we were not surprised and although it was cramped it was not a problem. The only negative regarding the lodging was the lack of ability to contact the management. We were only two hundred yards away from the store but it's not very convenient to run back and forth if you have an issue and it's pouring rain. Theres no cell service and the pay phone in front of the hotel is out of order. One night during a period of high winds a shutter on one of the units was banging loudly but there was no way to contact anyone to fix the problem. Very frustrating. Other than that we were very happy with our stay.
As I said earlier, the bad weather kept us close to the lodge so we ate at their restaurant twice a day. We thought the breakfast they offered us with our room was ample. No complaints there. We also tried a variety of their lunch offerings including soup, salads and the fish and chips. We thought all the food we ordered was very good but what we really weren't impressed with was the service. Even though we had two different waitresses neither one of them were very attentive. It didn't seem to matter how many people were in the restaurant the service was slow and indifferent.
Other than those service issues we enjoyed our visit and we will likely return for the view.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Address: 62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.