We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic cabins, awesome views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucia Lodge
62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rustic cabins, awesome views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked 3 nights here as part of my hubby's 50th birthday celebration. The views are amazing, and we spent a lot of time in our Adirondack chairs in front of our cabin #8 with a book and a bottle of wine, thoroughly enjoying it. There is no TV and no cell phone service (for Sprint at least), but slow internet is available. The restaurant offers free breakfast for guests, which is a very large continental spread, but the store next door is very expensive. (A single Diet Coke cost $3.25).

The cabins are very comfortable, with a gas fireplace for heat and upscale linens on the beds, as well as a leather sofa in the sitting area. The bathrooms are small, and could use a little updating, but are functional.

Come prepared - we headed back down to Paso Robles (about 4 hours round trip!) and found a grocery store, where we bought a cooler, ice, Cokes, cheese, crackers and salami, as well as some good chips and salsa, so we were able to enjoy our own food and wine. I wish we had known to bring all of this with us ahead of time!

Also be prepared to drive a long way on Hwy 1 to get to the main Big Sur sites. Lucia Lodge is on the southern end, near Limekiln State Park and the New Camaldoli Hermitage, but the Pfeiffer Parks are a good 20+ miles north. Fortunately, the drive is spectacular!

One final tip - the cabins are sheltered from the sunset, and face southeast, due to the curve of the coastline. To watch the sunset itself, we walked around behind the cabins and sat on the big rocks under the Lucia Lodge sign, which was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Cabins 7-10 are the original cabins with the best views. #5-6 have only mountain views, and #1-4 fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    92
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
17
173
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The view from this hotel is AMAZING. No doubt about it. It's a cute little rustic hotel, but a few upgrades to the bathroom would go a very long way. I don't mind shower stalls, but the thin shower curtain would stick to my legs as I tried to shower. Buying a higher quality curtain with weights on the bottoms would prevent this. Adding much needed shelving in the bathroom is also something they should consider. The food was good, but overpriced. There are a few other restaurants in the area that are the same prce range but much better quality. Overall, it was a good hotel and we were there mostly for the views anyway, so we would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had found this place online and was so excited about spending two nights here. Unfortunately, we could only get one night and not one of the front cabins. Ours was a bit back, but we could still venture around the side, down a path or up a path to get one of those breathtaking views that only Big Sur provides. The cabin was old and rustic, even though it was one of the newer ones. This was fine though...it helped create that quaint and charming affect. Comfortable bed and bathroom was adequate. No TV, but that was okay too. Dinner was pricey and not gourmet, but good. The view was priceless. Breakfast was included and more than adequate. The quaint charm and view makes this a perfect place to spend some time while traveling California's Scenic Route 1. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Lucia Lodge for one night while driving the Pacific Coast Highway. I saw Lucia Lodge on a wedding blog and thought it was on the Amalfi Coast and was very excited to stay there.
I read a lot of reviews and was concerned about all the negative reviews for the restaurant. We had lunch (fish and chips and the BLT & A) both of which were really good and we were pleasantly surprised.
The Lucia Lodge is in the southern part of Big Sur - so you have to expect the prices to be high because of the remote location. We had dinner reservations at a different hotel about 15 miles away which we ended up cancelling because we didn't want to risk the winding drive through the fog in the dark - so we ate at the Lucia Lodge restaurant. It wasn't the best - and definitely not as good as lunch was and was again pricey, but there really are no other places to go unless you drive at least 15 miles north or south.

The rooms were rustic and charming. We stayed in cabin #9. We bought an over priced bottle of local wine from the lodge store (all part of the experience, so worth it) and sat outside our cabin in adirondak chairs before dinner watching the sun set and the fog roll in (we saw dolphins and whales in the ocean). It was one of my favorite memories from the trip.
After dinner we retired to our room which had a little gas stove/heater which was both romantic and functional during the chilly night. The next morning we woke up to the sound of the waves crashing below the cliff the cabins sit on. It was exactly what we wanted from our vacation, a beautiful and remote location, with charming lodging.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

After traveling down the Big Sur coastline and checking out the beautiful views, we were glad to pull into the Lucia Lodge after a full day of touring. The facility consists of a restaurant and general store where you check in for your room, and about a quarter mile away a series of cottages cut into the mountain side overlooking the coast line. Not all the cottages or rooms overlook the ocean, but most do. The rooms were very clean and the cottages seemed well maintained. Of course there is no TV as this lodge is off the grid. Power comes from a generator located more than a mile away, but there is satellite furnished wifi. Staying at the lodge includes a very nice continental breakfast. You really have to eat supper here as well as the nearest restaurant is either a half hour North or 20 minutes South. Because this is a remote location, supper tends to be a bit pricey from $21 up for entrees. It is possible to eat appetizers and share a large Caesar salad to hold costs down. I found the food to be good and well prepared, but not gourmet. You won’t find a more spectacular view from a room at the Lucia Lodge, and I’d return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Soooooo adorable, so majestic with the amazing location and views that this sweet and wonderfully old, yet kept up, motel offers. We only had one night in Big Sur and didn't want to be stuck up away from the water and hidden in the trees, because we didn't have any time to explore the coast on foot. We wanted a place that we could soak it all in from the comfort of our front porch. And that's exactly what Lucia offers! The bed in #7 was super comfy and we slept soundly. The breakfast that is included is simple but welcome. Definitely a must!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Lucia Lodge is not in Big Sur, its actually 24 miles south of it. We stayed in mountain view cottage #2, which still gave a beautiful view of the ocean. Room was small,bed was comfortable, no vanity in bathroom to set your things down. No TV and internet is by satellite only so they don't allow you to look at websites like Netflix or Youtube. Ice bags were available to guests for free since there was no fridge in the rooms. Convenience store was way overpriced. Bring your own snacks and drinks! The reviews for the onsite restaurant were not so good and it was expensive, so we opted to drive 24 miles north into the actual town of Big Sur where we found a TapRoom and Deli. Food here was excellent and all the workers were nice. Continental breakfast was free for guests which consisted of bagels, muffins, yogurt, and fruit. I voted the location as very good for the view but I would have preferred to stay further up the road.

Room Tip: Even if you get a mountain view room you still have an excellent view of the ocean, you just dont ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Address: 62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lucia Lodge to your Saves list