We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family Tradition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Ventana Inn

The Restaurant at Ventana Inn
48123 Highway 1, Ventana Inn & Spa, Big Sur, CA 93920-9538
+1 831-667-2331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Ventana Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $35 - $75
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Restaurant at Ventana is situated 1200 feet above the rugged Big Sur coast with views of the Pacific Ocean. The culinary team is lead by Executive Chef Paul Corsentino, who uses only the freshest, organic ingredients to create simple cuisine with vibrant flavors. His menus are driven by his commitment to supporting the local farming community. Chef Corsentino's experience is brought to life in each daily menu he creates. Chef and his team are known for daring and diverse foods with inventive recipes both comforting and decadent, offering something for every palate. A locally inspired, sommelier selected wine list offers many options for food and wine pairings. Seasonal cocktails and California craft beers are available to enjoy in the cozy lounge area or outdoors next to the grand fireplace.
Germantown, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Family Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of our must-do's in our biennial trips to California is to drive down to Big Sur for lunch at Ventana. Again, we were not let down. First of all, the drive down to Big Sur offers one of the most spectacular vistas in the world. Once we got there, the service was fabulous as usual. they accommodated our desire to eat inside and move outside for coffee and dessert. My wife and daughter #1 had the burger which they loved and daughter #2 had the veggie burger. I had the chipotle chicken sandwich which was ok, but uninspired. We moved outside to enjoy the view and have dessert. Again, very attentive service with delicious ice cream, crime brûlée and chocolate decadence. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    77
    35
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went here for Chrismas Eve dinner (Post Ranch was 'Guests Only' but based on my dinner there last year, I wasn't exactly let down by not having to pay their prices or deal with their mismatched staff and overwrought cooking...anyway, at Ventana, the pretentions were gone). So glad to see a small bar serving food to locals having fun and we were glad to have been trying this place. The guy at the front desk seemed a little new but showed us to a table right away. There seem to be 3 separate dining rooms; we were in a smallish one, with a fireplace, against the far wall and next to a window (after dark, I'm not sure which is the preferred dining room since there's no view). The set menu sounded nice, but I think some of the dishes fell short: I had the short rib agnolotti which were clearly house made but the sauce could have been better - and better presented. A (tasty) brown sauce poured on, with strange bits of beets in it - I've seen better plates. Bread was subpar (sad considering the spectacular local Big Sur Bakery down the road). My preferred dessert was sold out by the time I got around to ordering it but the server replaced it with something I enjoyed. Service was quality but lackluster. Definately would rather be try this again than Sierra Mar though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Only a Drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Because we were only in Big Sur for the day, we stopped at Ventana so our friends could show us the grounds and the views. We walked the various venues the grounds offer, appreciated the view and took pictures. Since we were only going to eat one meal in the area, we chose to carry our wine out to the emence outdoor eating area/lounge where we enjoyed the sun, the view and our friends. We did not eat anything. I would go back for a meal there especially on a sunny day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Meal with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a gem! We stopped here for lunch on a beautiful, clear afternoon. I was intrigued how we were going to have an ocean view from the wrong side of the highway, but what a view it turned out to be. The restaurant itself is lovely, lots of wood and granite. We ate out on the huge patio. I had a Cobb salad that was delicious. My husband ordered the pastrami sandwich on pretzel bread. Yum. The homemade chips were great. The wait staff is very attentive, including the hostess, our waiter and the man that bussed the table. The walk through the little gallery across the courtyard was a bonus. This is a great find. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Every bite was heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Incredible service and amazing food made dinner on the eve of our wedding delightful!! They serve Delirium Tremens (best beer ever but not common) and the chicken, gnocchi and risotto were PERFECT! Everyone that works there is warm and on it. Talk about 5 star service! Highly recommend :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Ventana Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Ventana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Ventana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.