We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Ventana Inn

The Restaurant at Ventana Inn
48123 Highway 1, Ventana Inn & Spa, Big Sur, CA 93920-9538
+1 831-667-2331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Ventana Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $35 - $75
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Restaurant at Ventana is situated 1200 feet above the rugged Big Sur coast with views of the Pacific Ocean. The culinary team is lead by Executive Chef Paul Corsentino, who uses only the freshest, organic ingredients to create simple cuisine with vibrant flavors. His menus are driven by his commitment to supporting the local farming community. Chef Corsentino's experience is brought to life in each daily menu he creates. Chef and his team are known for daring and diverse foods with inventive recipes both comforting and decadent, offering something for every palate. A locally inspired, sommelier selected wine list offers many options for food and wine pairings. Seasonal cocktails and California craft beers are available to enjoy in the cozy lounge area or outdoors next to the grand fireplace.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a great place. The staff at Seven Gables recommend that we try this out and it was wonderful. We sat outside on the patio, looking out over the ocean and watched California condors sailing on the updrafts and hummingbirds feeding in the nearby trees. Service was excellent, they went out of their way to accommodate our requests and the food was wonderful. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    77
    35
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“MEMORABLE VIEW, FORGOTTEN SERVICE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our decision to stop at The Ventana Inn for a late lunch (around 2 PM on a Saturday) was a spontaneous one but even without a reservation, we were seated without delay. We had been driving up the Pacific Coast Hwy. Skies had been overcast earlier in the day but by the time we reached Big Sur the sun was beaming like the front page of a California tourism poster. The Ventana Inn sits atop a mountain so when given the choice, we gladly opted for a table on the terrace. The view from our table was memorable. By contrast, the service at our table was more like we were forgotten. Our server introduced herself by announcing that she had been running around all day. She must have also used up her quota of foot steps for the day because she made it back to our table infrequently after that. Now in fairness, let me say that we concluded that our server appeared to be the exception. We observed the service other tables were getting from their servers and it appeared that we simply had the bad luck to have not been seated at one of them instead. This is a fine dining restaurant. There was nothing surprising on the lunch menu as far as choices or the description of how they were prepared. I had the Croque Madam pannini. My wife had a salad. Both were fine. Were both over priced for what we got, as some other reviewers have noted here? Based on the food alone, yes. But when you add in that we ate it while also feasting on the beautiful view, it was probably a fair price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely meal at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Enjoyed our meal - great food, great service, great wine and was pleasantly suprised at the value for money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing view with the best sweet potato fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We dropped in for lunch on the advice of a tourist information advisor (who goes herself when she gets a day off). Fantastic advice. It wasn't busy as the day started with fog. Be warned the staff said it can get very busy on clear sunny days - but I would wait for a table. The food was full of flavour

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

First I have to say the service was amazing. The problem is for 68 bucks a person you get frozen food ! I ordered the shrimp for an appetizer and sea bass for dinner and they were both previously frozen and soggy. The presentation was beautiful, but the food was unfortunately not good. My husband had the pork chop that was much better, but we decided Nepenthe had a better view and great food for much less money. We heard great things about the bakery and if you want to drop 300 bucks on dinner for 2 (without drinks) post ranch was raved about from others staying at Ventana.
Although the food was more like a 2, the restaurant is beautiful and the staff is great. It would be a wonderful place to go for drinks and maybe an appetizer.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Ventana Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Ventana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Ventana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.