We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible View and great wine list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Mar

Sierra Mar
47900 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920
+1 831-667-2800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sierra Mar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $45 - $120
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: High atop the cliffs, offering breathtaking views is Sierra Mar, winner of Wine Spectator's prestigious Grand Award. Offering an unconventional fine dining experience, Executive Chef John Cox presents inquisitive food creations featuring ingredients highlighted by a sense of place and culture. Selections from the award-winning wine cellar enhance the innovative, inspired cuisine.
Apopka, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Incredible View and great wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I dined here with some friends and had a wonderful experience. The service was good for this price restaurant but not over-the-top. The food was very good and very well prepared. The wine list is award winning. But by far the best part of the restaurant is the view! It is a truly breathtaking look down on to the Pacific Ocean, it simply makes the restaurant (and hotel). It is worth a visit!

I recommend going for lunch since the daytime view is even more spectacular.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    78
    51
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wow the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Floor to celing windows really make you feel at one with the ocean - breakfast was a real treat the view and deer wandering under the window was magical - we had a really special dinner New Years Eve great food only nag please lose the tacky gallons and confetti next year these did not go with the relaxing natural environment of the restaurant and hotel and do not think they were Eco friendly which is so much of what this place is about

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome views, food frou-frou"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Service superb but food too "frou-frou". Little food, big price. Worth the view but better to go for cocktails for and not menus. I like fresh and pretty but a little more substance would be better.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The food is spectacular, the new chef John Cox is amazing (and humble), the wine selection (and wine director Dominique DaCruz) are fantastic. The view is second to none. The servers are amazing--every last one. Are you sold yet?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the View, but you don't have to dine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I knew this place was going to be an arm & leg to eat at, so my friend and I just went during lunch for a glass of wine. SOO Worth that. This place has amazing rooms that start at $700 (plus tax) a night, so I stayed at another resort, but Sierra Mar was well worh the visit. The views of the oceanside gives the impression that one is actually hovering over the water. I really wanted to stay here and I see how the 1% lives. If you're in Big Sur, check this place out. The food looked great too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Mar also viewed

 

Been to Sierra Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.