We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whale Watchers Cafe

Whale Watchers Cafe
HC 67 Box 1811, Big Sur, CA 93920-9657
(805) 927-1590
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great stop on the Big Sur...good service, good food and great views! Saw some whales too! Next to a gas station and a general store.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    22
    33
    24
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, horrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stopped during drive up the coast and the view was amazing. The food was good, but the service was one of the worst we have ever seen: entree was brought out for one person and the rest of the table was told the rest of the food was on its way only to wait 10 minutes for it to arrive. Wait for check was even worse. Suggest you stop, check out the view and buy a sandwich a the general store next door.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The problem with reading about this eatery is that you will stumble across it when travelling Big Sur but not have any phone signal to Google it. If you are fortunate enough to be researching prior to your trip then take heed!

So if you're reading this I have one word. Avoid!

The service is abysmal. Our order was mixed up resulting in lengthy delays. Food was like something out of a packet. Other customers had issues too when we were there. We often so food just left on the pick up area for lengthy periods.

Do yourself a favour, keep driving. It's not far to the next eatery.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food was below average and Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The food was not very good and the service was horrible. We stopped due to the location and view of the ocean which is beautiful but were so disappointed in the service and the food was not very good. I had a burger and it was a notch above fast food at high price.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Good place to miss and pass”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just do not stop here.

We had breakfast here and it was a mistake. At the end of the holiday we had votes by all 4 of us for resto experiences - we didnt find a clear winner of the best restaurant of the trip BUT the winner of the worst one was very clear.... this one.

- they messed the order, claimed a omelet had salmon when it was very clear it didnt. then they brought in awhile salmon as side, said sorry, but of course remembered to charge it
- paid almost 5$ for extra bacon: 4 slices of burned bacon
- waitress inprofessional and unpleasant
- also other customers didnt seem to be so happy...

Would be good place for Kitchen Nightmares though..... ;)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watchers Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Whale Watchers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale Watchers Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.