We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop for the view but Don't eat here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Whale Watchers Cafe

Whale Watchers Cafe
HC 67 Box 1811, Big Sur, CA 93920-9657
(805) 927-1590
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Stop for the view but Don't eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Worst cafe we have ever been to! Service was slow and Not friendly, food was terrible. A big disappointment because the view is great. The waitresses were talking on their cell phones and standing around doing nothing, while our drinks were not refilled, and our food took forever. there was only one other table occupied. Keep driving!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

13% Recommend
    4
    17
    32
    22
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you get the opportunity to eat here, pass it up!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place is NOT ADA compliant. There are steps in front of all the entrances. Kinda hard to get an electric scooter in the dining room. The bathroom floors were wet. There was a water jug sitting on the sink to rinse your hands. The roof in the dining room was leaking on one of the chairs at our table. The waitress was very friendly and the service was pretty good. The menu had some pretty good choices but the prices were waaayyyyy out there for the value received. My wife and I decided to split a captain's plate and a bowl of chowder. Our friends split the fish and chips and a bowl of chowder. We had only water to drink. It cost more than $80.00! When I mentioned that the portions were pretty small for the price, I was told I could order another one if I was still hungry. I wouldn't stop here again on a bet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice view. mediocre food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Super cute place. Diner menu. We got the fish and chips. The fish was good. The chips, not so good. Nice view. If you care about every meal you eat and are not in the mood for diner food, keep on going. If you're more flexible that way ... check it out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is just nasty. Taste is horrible, service awful and prices unbelievably high! One veggie lasagne, one hamburger, one pasta and 3 sodas ended up at $ 82 and yes, they do add gratituity automatically on the bill. THIS IS THE WORST PLACE I EVER SET MY FOOT IN! The person named CallDee that give positive remarks below must be an employee (that should be unemployed as it should close...)!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If you like being disappointed this place is for you!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were on our way to San Luis Obispo when we came upon this place. It looks like a cool restaurant, with a beautiful view. This is obviously what gets people in the door. The disappointment began as soon as we walked in. The waitresses were not very friendly. Not a smile. Not a welcome or a hello. After asking if it was open seating, we were told to sit wherever we wanted. We sat outside facing the ocean. The view is great. And the weather on this particular day was excellent. The weather is the only thing that kept us from walking out, and the fact that this place seems to have very little competition in terms of other restaurants in the area. After sitting down, nobody acknowledged our presence. We had to go up and get the menus ourselves. After a quick glance at the menus you immediately realize that the prices are outrageous. Ridiculous. We waited way too long for someone to take our order. Once we placed our order, it took way too long for the food to arrive. This was odd and frustrating because it was not that busy. Once the food did arrive, the disappointment continued. The food was way below average, which is unforgivable in any restaurant, but more so for this one due to the prices that they charge. I advise everyone to keep on driving unless, of course, you like being disappointed and throwing your money away.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watchers Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Whale Watchers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale Watchers Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.