We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Big Sur, I promise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant

Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant
48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-2377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best food in Big Sur, I promise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's fun just to gaze around any of the small rooms at this restaurant. There's something fascinating anywhere you look. I always order the fish for dinner - the chef really knows his seafood, but breakfast is the absolute greatest treat: eggs Benedict, fluffy pancakes w/blueberries, perfectly done eggs, and great coffee. And this comes with open fireplaces, soft music, and excellent service, to say nothing of the resident kitty and the plethora of flowers outside (there are also tables outside for lunch. Two of them have tops made of stone with huge fossils in them). Lovely place!! If you're not staying there, be sure to make reservations, but, really, why not just rest your head at Deetjen's?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    79
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ennice, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good for gluten-free dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It's a small restaurant composed of several individual rooms, some with very low ceilings that could be considered "intimate" or could make a diner feel a bit claustrophobic.

As someone who needs a gluten-free menu it was nice to learn that any item, (except the pasta, of course) could be prepared gluten-free. We had the warm calamari salad as a starter and the entree special, grilled ono over wild rice with roasted vegetables in a coconut curry broth. Everything was excellent.

Suggestion: Sitting by the fireplace was nice but it placed us next to the side door which everyone used instead of the main entrance. It was noisy and drafty since people often forgot to close the door completely. Go for a table by the main door. Apparently no one comes in that way!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“GREAT fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Food is fresh and very well prepared. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Prices are very reasonable and we noticed that there are vegetarian offerings on the menu.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

You pay a fair bit, and get what you pay for, no more, no less. Like the rest of the inn, they're keeping it clean, but not bothering to improve anything. Not a memorable meal, but not terrible either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food & cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had an excellent dinner here with friends on our last night in Big Sur.

The Good:
- Amazing roasted garlic in olive oil with the bread basket
- Nice wine selection
- Lamb & Paella were both excellent

The Bad:
- It was a chilly, rainy night, and though we had a reservation, our table wasn't ready when we arrived, and we were sent to this odd little room (they call it their "library") with one tiny heater someone else was already in there using. To say it was an awkward wait for our table would be an understatement.
- Though cute, and I'm sure very cuddly, the sight of the Inn's cat roaming around the restaurant and in & out of the kitchen was a bit unsettling...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.