We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant

Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant
48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-2377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Seattle, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed at the inn and woke up to a yummy breakfast with my girlfriend. The french toast and the egg's Benedict were delicious. Very cozy... Good place for a couple.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    86
    30
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food and old style decor with classical music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We dined here with family who were staying. The food was great and our server suggested a great bottle of red. It was a bit surreal for us cousins from Worcestershire to dine in Big Sur to the sound of Elgar. The restaurant runs through the downstairs rooms with some open fires, an intimate ambience and lots of anitquey gewgaws.

It's expensive. It's good. I get the impression from reviews that Brunch is good value if you want to go there on a tighter budget.

We were glad to staying at Ripplewood as its great value and the Deetjens cabins are close together and close to the road.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Amazing food but pricey. We really enjoyed our meal but I have to say that they're house cat that roams around the restaurant while patrons are eating dinner really grossed me out. Minus that bit, it was excellent. Roasted garlic and paella were awesome!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two for two good food experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Have gone to Deetjen's twice for dinner over a 2+ year period and was not disappointed either time. A bit pricey but worth it ..Service great and gracious, food also matched the service. Had duck 2 years ago and was great, this time the veggie pasta dish was the special of the night and nothing was left in my plate - very good. Originally recommended by a friend from Santa Cruz and her recommendation was a good one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Deetjen's for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

When I asked where should I go for breakfast everyone said "Deetjen's" So glad I listened!! We ended up eating breakfast at Deetjen's two days in a row. Their eggs benedict are the best I've ever had anywhere...so good! The husband and I shared our benedicts and added a side of chicken apple sausage and bacon.. both times were absolutely delicious. The restaurant is one of the most charming restaurants I've ever been to and it's full of interesting history. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Price is reasonable. Just go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.