We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant

Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant
48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-2377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Charming Inn with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We didn't stay at Deetjen's but we did make a reservation for the restaurant. The food was excellent, the service was great. A very romantic place to enjoy couples dinner, very charming.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    161
    68
    24
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Cozy, quirky, tasty food and good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Sat by fire and had delicious meal. Very laid back, friendly, informal place. Forgot to bring us our soups, so arrived with entrees. Waitress was cool said she would take them off the bill. (Corkage fee only 15 bucks!). Would go back in a second.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Ate both dinner and breakfast. Very cozy especially on a rainy day. Food was good both meals. Fireplace appreciated by me and cat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great atmosphere; good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We knew going in it would be pricey but we wanted to experience this local favorite at least once. The restaurant had a charming atmosphere with soft lighting and was elegant and cozy The food choices were good and we were not disappointed in our meals. If I had to say one negative thing, it was that we had decided to skip wine as it was out of our budget and we had already had a glass prior to coming in. The waitress acted a bit pretentious and threw at us we could just have a single glass ($10 per glass vs $40 for bottle). Anyway, I guess it was her job to sell us all she could. Over all, we liked it very much and would come back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding but take a fat wallet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This would be a 5 star if not for the pricing. Very small, really charming ambience in the Historic Inn's restaurant in old Big Sur. They start with garlics (cooked) in olive oil which set the tone for the delights to come. The food is impeccable, with the rib eye steak (at $32) being one of the perfectly prepared and presented dishes. My friend had the duck (also $32) which came with a delightful medley of yummy vegetables, including a rice curry. Nothing was left on these plates. This is the place to take that potential lover for the big impression. Really friendly service as well.
Reservations are a must.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deetjen's Big Sur Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.