We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Sandwiches!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Kevah

Cafe Kevah
48510 California 1, Big Sur, CA
(831) 667-2345
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Pacifica
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yummy Sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was a great stop for lunch, a great beverage selection and the sandwiches we ordered were excellent. Clearly the Chef loves what he does and takes it seriously. The potato salad was some of the best I've ever had. The view was awesome. We stopped downstairs at the shop on our way out and lost sense of time for awhile in our wandering. We'll stop again,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, Quick Service, Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the cafe restaurant below Nepenthe at Big Sur. We ate here because we could order immediately and find seating. There was a wait upstairs at Nepenthe. I think the view was the same: Awesome. Cafe Kevah only seemed to have outdoor seating, which is great on a beautiful day. Most of our group had salads, which were very good. A couple had the Reuben and said it was excellent too. There were 4 couples and we each shared our entree for plenty to eat at lunch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“views are amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was driving big sur on the way to Monterey and stopped here around 9 am since Nepethe was not open yet. Cafe Kevah has a nice breakfast/brunch menu and the views are just as good if not better than Nepethe upstairs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with this location - stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

That said they don't take your business for granted and the food was very good. They were busy and there was a wait for food, but they were clear about that upfront and delivered exactly when they said. When you're in the sun looking down on the Big Sur coastline the time flies by.

Great shop too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Inpromptu stop whilst driving through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Heading on our way from Glen Oak down to LA we decided to stop off for breakfast. With the more promoted Nepenthe only opening at 11.30am we decided to try Cafe Kevah.

The Eggs Benedict was sufficiently welcome, with quick, polite service and the same epic views that Nepenthe shares, it did make us wonder how the bigger restaurant uphill (Nepenthe) could be better.

It's not The Sierra Mar, but is pleasant enough

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kevah also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Kevah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Kevah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.