We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Good Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ripplewood Resrt Restaurant

Ripplewood Resrt Restaurant
47047 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: The restaurant for Ripplewood Resort in Big Sur.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, Good Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a lunch there on our recent visit to the Big Sur area.
Reviews I've read, and a cabin neighbour said the Ripplewood Resort Restaurant was good, and they weren't wrong.
Good choice, good prices, helpful staff, made it a nice meal.
Unfortunately, it only opens from 08:00 - 14:00 if I remember, so Breakfasts and Lunches only.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
woodland hills, ca.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“good breakfast & lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We came for breakfast shared an omelet, & blueberry pancakes Yum! We also got the ham & fontina cheese sandwich to go,for lunch another day, that was very good. We thought service & quality of food was very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simple menu, excellent execution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Ripplewood Resort Restaurant is a great place to have a simple, excellently executed breakfast after a beautiful drive down Highway 1. We've been here several times and have thoroughly enjoyed every visit.

What was great:
- The food was straightforward, fresh, and perfectly cooked. I had the sausage, eggs, and potatoes and my husband had chorizo and eggs. The portions were generous and both meals came with fruit; the coffee never ran dry, and the homemade muffin was very tasty.
- Poached eggs are perfectly cooked every time. Whites all the way cooked, yolks nice and runny.
- The Ripplewood Potato Gratin is quite tasty.
- The outdoor eating area/garden is quite pleasant. There are lots of flowers and trees and other plants. We got some ideas for our own backyard from here.
- Service was spot on. Our waiter was attentive, friendly, and prompt.
- Definitely try The Pepper Plant hot sauce they have available. Great flavor.
- Great value (for Big Sur). Our whole meal, including drinks and a generous tip was $34.

The one and only disappointment was that they didn't have eggs benedict this time around. We had it during a previous visit and it was delicious! Hope they have it next time!!

Bottom line: This is one of our favorite breakfast spots when we stay in the Monterey area. The drive down Highway 1 to Big Sur is beautiful (and fun if you have a sporty car, a clear road, and a capable driver), and the food is delicious. I will certainly recommend this place to others.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and next door to the Glen Oaks hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Since we were staying at the Glen Oaks hotel we walked next door to the Ripplewood Restaurant for breakfast and we're sure glad we did! The temperature outside was perfect so we chose to eat outside on the patio under the trees. The service was great and they cooked our hash browns well done just like we asked. We loved the beautiful vegetation inside the patio and in front of the restaurant and we enjoyed our breakfast with Steller’s Jays chirping and humming birds buzzing by, it doesn’t get much better than that.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Quiet, convenient restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The restaurant was in a good location - near where I stayed. They are only open for breakfast and lunch. I had 'brunch' at 1:30 p.m. The food was actually quite good but it wasn't real hot when it arrived at my table. I was a bit surprised since there were only two other customers in the restaurant. Their breakfast potatoes were excellent - very unusual.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripplewood Resrt Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ripplewood Resrt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripplewood Resrt Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.