We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain In Big Sur Village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fernwood Resort

Fernwood Resort
47200 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 20 restaurants in Big Sur
Cuisines: American
Description: Please call 831.667.2422 between 8 AM - 8 PM for lodging & camping reservationsFernwood Tavern hours are 12 Noon - Midnight, Sunday - Thursday12 Noon to 1:00 AM, Friday and Saturday.Redwood Grill Restaurant hours are 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM - Open everydayFernwood Resort47200 Highway 1Big Sur, CA 93920
Restaurant details
Description: Please call 831.667.2422 between 8 AM - 8 PM for lodging & camping reservationsFernwood Tavern hours are 12 Noon - Midnight, Sunday - Thursday12 Noon to 1:00 AM, Friday and Saturday.Redwood Grill Restaurant hours are 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM - Open everydayFernwood Resort47200 Highway 1Big Sur, CA 93920
Tucson
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Bargain In Big Sur Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The restaurant and bar at the Fernwood Motel is one of the few bargain places in Big Sur Village. They have nightly specials and a variety of sandwiches including hamburgers. The evening specials are around $15 each. There is indoor seating as well as tables out back under a grove of redwood trees, which makes for a very nice setting. The restaurant is pleasant and the service good with a friendly waitstaff. For good simple meal at a lower price, you can’t go wrong with the Fernwood Motel Restaurant. They also have free WIFI. There is also small general store with some food supplies and a camping supply store on the premises.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    3
    17
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice little campground.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family and I stayed here in the spring time, originally had a tent cabin reserved, but then rain was coming so we got a real cabin instead. It was perfect for us, felt like luxury when we're used to staying in tents! It's kind of like a mobile home type cabin. One bedroom and bath and bunkbeds in the hallway. Bunkbeds are kind of small, for someone 5'9" or shorter, my sister who is 6' couldn't stand it and slept on the couch. I guess they're for little kids, not adult kids! Full kitchen, runs on propane, tv with a DVD player (no BluRay tho!) We brought a bunch of BluRays, but ended up having to rent DVDs from the camp store. Some campsites at Fernwood looked great, some were stupidly small, like they were getting greedy and wanted to make as much money as they could in the high season. If I remember right, site #00 looked great, private and right on the river. There's a small swimming hole right there too. It's a privately owned campground, if we're not staying at Pfeiffer State Park we're staying here.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stop at the bar for ping pong on the patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Really nice view and bartender. Had a nice rest after a long hike watched the kids play ping pong. Very laid back will go again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I liked my sandwich that I got here, but we waited forever to have our order taken and to receive our food. I would not go back.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic hearty food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Enormous helpings of hearty basic food- essentially sandwiches (of the hot meats variety). Good service, good beer.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.