We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy to sleep in Big Sur, but if you stay in the old cabin, it is worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gorda Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gorda Springs Resort
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
La Paz, Bolivia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Pricy to sleep in Big Sur, but if you stay in the old cabin, it is worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A great location with fantastic views over the coast in big sur, is, just like everything in this coastal stretch, really expensive. The staff were helpful, including getting the restaurant next door to lend us a pan for us to make dinner. We got the old cabin, that had two tiny bedrooms, that was nice and quaint enough, but was really amazing that in the night the calls of seals and sea lions hollored in the night. An avocado tree which dropped some avocadoes in the night gave us a nice encounter with some racoons that were carrying them off early in the morning. If you chose to sleep on big sur, you could do much worse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    15
    24
    42
See reviews for
22
55
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brittnau
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The front desk of the hotel is located inside of the shop, really unprofessional and sadly unfriendly staff. You can feel how spoiled they are because of the sea view, so they don't really care. The cottages are cute and the furniture inside is ok. there were spider webbs in all the rooms. No tv or Wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here after cycling from Monterey. My friend and I just wanted a clean and comfortable place to stay after a long ride on the bikes. After a hot shower, we headed down to the restaurant for some food and then to the front deck of the general store for some whale watching. Gorda Springs does not have internet or tv but the view of the ocean is right there. It was fun to just buy a beverage in the general store and hang out on the deck with other guests watching the sunset and the spouts from whales. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. One of the staff members even let us borrow some binoculars!

This is also a good choice when all the other places along Big Sur are booked.

Room Tip: Room A above the general store has a view of the ocean and a new mattress on the bed. I slept like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Gorda Springs Resort was probably really cute at some point in the past. The facility still has a bit of “cuteness” left, but in general is really pretty run down and tired. I booked this reservation a bit late, after I found that everything in Big Sur was booked well in advance.

There are two reasons this place had rooms/cabins available well into the summer. The first is the location, although a beautiful part of the world, there is very little this far south in Big Sur. Most of the restaurants, and things to do are on the north end, closer to Carmel.

The second reason is the condition/service of the resort. It’s very poor. I review in detail below.

Just for the record, we stayed in one of the cabins.

Location:
The best part of the resort and the only good rating they received (although not really something they created). Located on the south end of Big Sur, closer to San Simeon than anything really. This area is beautiful, though not too much to do. A great place to relax and do nothing, but stock up on groceries and supplies before you get here. There isn’t much shopping or dining (Treebones in the exception). I would give this facility 5 stars if it were in the north end of Big Sur, but do to its remote location they lose a star.
Rating: 4 Stars

Appearance:
Cute but really run down. It was probably a gem in the 1950s. Our cabin was really tired looking and looks like it last had any work done in the 1980s. The landscaping is pretty nice although it is not hard to have beautiful gardens in this climate. The store looks a little nicer, but the building where the gas station is looks like a renovation started and was stopped. Still overall, OK.
Rating: 3 Stars

Service:
The service was mediocre to poor. When I checked the, the girl was reasonably nice and helpful. However when I discovered an error with my bill the service hit rock bottom. We were over charged. The nightly rate was $225.00 for 2 nights. In my book that is a total of $450.00. We were charged $550.00. When I pointed that out the next day I had 2 people pass the buck to a third person that could help me. He was rude and at first seemed unconvinced that 225 * 2 = 450, not 550. It felt like a scam. In the end I never got an apology or any kind words. All he said was “YOU are lucky you caught that”.
Rating: 1 Star

Cabin:
Awful, just awful. We stayed in the Redwood cabin and it was rustic. The cabin was cheaply built plywood construction that last looked as if it were varnished in 1981. The floor was covered with very stained green carpet that was shabby. The cabin looks like it once had a full kitchen, but now just a sink, a fridge (giant new stainless steel) and a microwave. That is too bad since it would have been nice to have the ability to cook meals.

There were dishes, a coffee maker and supplied coffee. The supplied coffee was so gross, it was really old and had been wet at some point. The first morning I opened the coffee only to smell mildew and see the stained coffee packet. I thought it must just be that packet. The next morning though, the same issue, the new packet had also been wet. Super gross.

The cabin got REALLY hot during the day despite highs in the mid to upper 60s. At night the cabin was freezing. I’d hate to be here when it was really hot! The only heat was a portable heater and a fake electric fireplace.

The bathroom was a bit gross too, although the towels were nice. We had a bottle of lotion that had been used previously and was almost gone. The cabin in general was quite dirty too. If this cabin had been at a state park for $45 a night I would be much more forgiving. However for $225 per night, it should have been much nicer.
Rating: 1 Star

Environment:
There is really not much to say here. There were some CFL bulbs, but two electric heaters (basically no insulation) and no environmental policy. No recycling, no compost and they changed the towels daily. There were plates and dishes so that was a plus.
Rating: 2 Stars

Restaurant:
We didn’t actually eat in the restaurant so I am not going to include this rating in the overall review. However, I still wanted to report my experience. The restaurant is called the Whale Watchers cafe. The local paper describes the restaurant as classy and romantic. What a joke. We went there for a coffee and were planning on having breakfast but the place is a dump. It reminds me of a ski lodge from the 1970s. Dirty, ugly and old worn out furniture. There is not much in the world that is less romantic than this place. I ordered coffee and the price was outrageous, $4 for a 12oz. cup of drip. The lady we ordered coffee from was so cranky and rude; we decided not to spend another dime here.
Rating (not included in over all rating): 1 Star

Value:
I’m not even going to go into detail. This would be fine at $50 per night. At $225 per night it is a joke. Worst money I ever spent. Treebones resort, just to the north, starts at a lower rate and is super nice.
Rating: 1 Star

Overall Rating: 2 Stars

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you're staying here it's because you're cruising down the Pacific Coast Hwy and need a place to crash for the night. There's not much else around for miles.

The room was very basic, and thankfully very clean. One bed, a futon, and a couch. We had a front balcony that looked out across the water, which was cool (too bad there were no chairs on it though). Because there's so little to be found in the area, everything was way overpriced. Close to $7/gallon for gas, $15 for a 6 pack of domestic beer, and an attached restaurant with astronomical prices for average food. There's a convenience store/gift shop located within. No cell phone service for miles, but there's a payphone on site for $2 calls. Also no WiFi.....they had it but wouldn't give a password because it's only used by the boss? Weird. There's another resort 12 miles south that had cheaper gas and cell reception, so don't believe the sign that says last gas station for 40 miles.

Overall not bad for the night. The room was $167 and the hotel was sold out. Pricey for what it is, but you really don't have many other options in the area.

Room Tip: cabins are in the back....get one of the rooms in the main building so you can face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescadero, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is 'da bomb. Honest. I have been coming here for years. It's not a 4 or 5 star resort, so don't expect that here. Those places are 50 Miles north, and there you will pay for it!

This place has beautiful views from either the cabins, or the rooms above the store. Cabins are the better way to go because they are more removed from the highway, meaning less road noise. They are rustic.

Now, Big Sur is not cheap. No part of it has discounted prices like you might find in remote Nevada or some place. It's just the reality of this coastal existence. But, this little resort offers tv-free rooms, nice kitchenette facilities, large comfy beds, and unbelievable peace and tranquility built right in to your views.

If you haven't made reservations and you simply are a walk-in, then prices may seem high. But if you've done even the slightest bit of research on Big Sur, you'd quickly realize that these prices are great for the view and quality that you are getting. So leave your disgust at home, or simply keep riding .Morro Bay is the next place with reasonable prices, but it definitely does not have the Big Sur feel and grandeur.

Gas facilities and a restaurant are also offered here. Expect $1 higher gas prices than on a
normal, average, ever day road.

This place is close to Pacific Valley and to Jade Cove, for you beach- goers and rock- hounds.

I will continue to come here, for many more years. This place truly gives you that sense of remoteness that is so hard to find in our modern, fast-paced culture.

Enjoy, and say hi to Leo for me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Gorda Springs is a quaint little town with a population of 15 people. Located on Highway 1 , it was a place for us to stop and revive overnight before continuing our trip to LA. Everything was expensive as expected but a little over the top. Fuel was three times the price. Room was extremely basic for the price. No kettle, no tv, no extra blankets (we went in winter), no extra nothing. Basically just a bed and bathroom with a couple of towels. It served its purpose but if I were to come again, I would plan to stay some else next time. On the plus side, view from the balcony was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gorda Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorda Springs Resort

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Also Known As:
Gorda Springs Hotel Big Sur
Gorda Springs Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorda Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gorda Springs Resort to your Saves list