We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend gateway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Campground & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Sur Campground & Cabins
Save
You added Big Sur Campground & Cabins to your Saves list
Route 1, Big Sur, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great weekend gateway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Overall, Staff are extremely friendly and professional. The grounds are very rustic and nature at it's best. Great place if you have kids and/or dogs. Kids have a basketball court, river to go inner tubing down the river, playground to exhaust the kiddies. If you gave a dog, there is a minimal daily fee depending on your campground location. I believe if your in a traditional pitch tent or RV/trailer it's $5 per day per dog and $15 in a tent cabin. Dogs are never allowed in or around cabins decks. The tent cabins have been updated with a new shaped roof with a clearer frosted material so sun easily greets you in the morning. The cabin also gained more space. In prior years, I cabined a queen bed and other small pcs of plastic furniture. But this year, it still has a queen bed AND a built in platform that stretches one entire wall. The thigh high platform also had a cushion about half the length. Tent dab in includes a lively porch, resin chairs, two towels, mini body soaps for use in the property's bathroom/shower building, of which is always cleaned by housekeeping on a routine schedule. Housekeeping also freshens up your tent cabins by fixing your bedding (they provide pillows, blankets and bedspreads too) and a quick sweep of your cabin floor. We also had a picnic table and a BBQ pit. The regular cabins were like little homes. It's equipped with dishes, pots, stove, cabinets, living roo, bathroom and bedrooms. Cabins were very cozy with electric fireplaces (not sure if they all have) . Don't forget afternoon social hour with soft serve ice cream, root beer floats (with a local root beer called SPARKYS) . They even a super mini store, for little things you might have forgotten. A few hundred feet there s a nearby shopping village with a restaurant, convenience store and a art collection gallery and others I can't remember. Just a few tidbits....be prepared to enjoy nature, very little or no cell or wifi service, major grocery store (Safeway and SAVEMART) are in carmel, ca (which is about 26 miles north of campgrounds), if you need dry ice, go to SAVEMART (Safeway doesn't carry), extra roll of toilet paper (in case there out, when you visit late into the super dark nights), be aware they have a quiet time, to insure a peaceful night experience. Quiet time starts at 10pm. Overall, we will be back. It started with a small family and keeps growing each year. Oh please book early, as it gets booked quickly especially weekends. We always book for following year while we are there or a couple days later. It's our family weekend getaway for the last 3 years.

Room Tip: Book early. Try tent cabins if you want to do glamping (glamour camping) but if you want a homelike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    41
    17
    13
    22
See reviews for
62
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grover Beach, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just stayed at this campground we had cabin 101, soooo amazing clean comfy and everything you need. We had a nice deck fire pit BIG grass area in front and right on the river. We were also next to the basketball court which was fun since we have 3 yr old twin boys they have balls for your use. There is also a playground and you can get games at the front for free as well as hot coffee. Everyone we talked to was extremely nice, as for location great very close to great hikes and we even drove to carmel for a few hrs one day only took us 25 min.
The cabin has everything dishes, extra pillows, paper towels, coffee, oven, fridge, it was perfect we will be back for sure. Best family trip yet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had camped here before and not had a problem, but this past weekend I felt very subjected by one member of the staff. We were a group of two couples in our late twenties The woman told us 7 times before we left check in that we needed to adhere to quiet hours and not party. We came for a relaxing quiet weekend! She continued to badger us at our campsite later in the afternoon. Unfortunately, I don't think she told the families that were near us the same rules and we woke up way before quiet hours ended due to children running and screaming. The woman needs to stop making assumptions because this time she was 100% wrong and lost the campsite a customer for life.

On top of the judgy staff, the campsites are small, its 4 times more expensive than other nearby sites, and the staff has no issue with parents let their children run crazy at 7am.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKRON OHIO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were blessed to be able to stay in an A-Frame cabin in Big Sur Campground and Cabins. It was well maintained and clean- the cabin had everything we needed- especially NO access to cell phone service, TV or internet - a rare treat to be totally cut off from the whirlwind life we normally share. There were books and games in the cabin for our use. Our cabin was nestled among HUGE redwoods and access to the beautiful Big Sur River. A real highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Let me preface by saying the campground was half empty when I stayed here but something tells me this place would still be mighty enjoyable even on a summer weekend. We stayed in a tent spot overlooking the river and surrounded by cool redwoods. Everyone was friendly and very nice. You can really tell that Big Sur is a happy place to live and work. It was also a close stroll to the River Inn and Maiden Publick House (a cool pub that stayed open late). They even had free coffee in the morning! I cannot wait to come back here!

Room Tip: Spot 8 is great if you like sleeping to the gentle babbling river and wonderful shade from the redwo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at big sur campground, it was so different from the rest of our trip up the coast and definitely worth stopping off. Everyone staying there was so friendly and so nice to us novice campers! There's a good bar close by and you can also float down the river on rubber rings during the day. It is a family place so dont go there if you're looking for a wild time and do pick up all your food supplies in a neighbouring town. Also, they sell warm cookies for 50 cents everyday: yes please.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice facilities, great river flowing in front of our tent cabin. Super nice staff. Everything was clean and worked well. Only complaints are that the sites are very clise to eachother. Also, you can hear the cars on Hwy.1.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Sur Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sur Campground & Cabins

Address: Route 1, Big Sur, CA
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located among majestic Coastal Redwood trees along the pristine Big Sur River, Big Sur Campground and Cabins offers camping and lodging with the emphasis on Family. Enjoy tent and RV camping on the forest floor as you watch the kids inner tube by in the cool water. Or pamper your family in one of several styles of cabins, from rustic tent cabins to fully equipped cabins with kitchens and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Sur Campground And Cabins
Big Sur Campground & Cabins Hotel Big Sur
Cabins Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur Campground & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.