We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fernwood Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernwood Resort
Save
You added Fernwood Resort to your Saves list
47200 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Basic and Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in the 'Adventure Tent' (One of three) which comes already pitched on a raised platform with a Queen size bed, sheets, towels, power sockets, electric lamps, exclusive washroom and bathroom facilities for the adventure tent users, a picnic table and a fire pit.

The location is absolutely beautiful, it's right by the Big Sur river amongst the redwoods. We spent two tranquil and reenergising days there. If you like camping without the hassle then this is perfect.

They also have a shop, bar and restaurant all of which are more than adequate with friendly and helpful staff. There is also WiFi available around the bar and shop area.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    73
    53
    28
    12
See reviews for
55
75
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Small motel in the heart of Big Sur. Big Sur motels are not cheap! This motel was at a reasonable rate and in a Great location. Fernwood is best known for their campground which is lower and on the Big Sur River. I have camped her twice before, as well. The motel is quaint with smaller rooms - but you can't beat the location and the staff are really accomidating, friendly, and available. Very small town feel with a little market, restaurant (good food - pizza, burgers, ribs, salads) with bar (bands on most weekends), and little campgear store. The motel is located directly off the Hwy 1, so you can hear the traffic at times with your window open. Each room does have central heat, but I don't believe they have central a/c (which is fine - it's not THAT warm even in August up there) The bathroom is small w/ a standup shower. We stayed in a 2 bed room - has queen bed and then an outcove w/ door with a double bed (about $149 for Saturday night of Labor Day weekend). No tv's - as is the standard for Big Sur. The grounds are kept clean and with cute bushes/flowers and you can be in aweee over the Redwoods. The market serves tasty ice cream. I will definately stay here again, as I just love Big Sur!

Room Tip: Pretty sure the room are all similiar. I don't really have a tip but to bring water shoes for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had an Adventure tent for 2 days. What a blast after a week of camping on a motorcycle the adventure tent was a great change. Nice Restaurant, bar and general store with everything you need. Can't wait to come back and stay longer/

Room Tip: Go for the Adventure tent, they have 3 so if you have 3 couples you would have your own little area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Couldn't get a room at other hotels 24 hours prior and this place had availability. And so glad. Nice little room with fireplace. Clean and cool bar, grocery store. Best time out back at picnic tables and heaters. Met new friends!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Camping or tent camping here pretty much guarantees a great Big Sur experience. Watch out for skunks! But in case you do get the sauce, they have a home remedy (Joy, Baking Soda, Peroxide) that gets the job done. The tavern cooks up genius meals. Store is solid. Spaces are big enough. Just perfect, really.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I visited Big Sur and stayed at Fernwood Resort one night. We stayed in one of the tent cabins by the river and we absolutely loved it. It gave us the opportunity to camp without having to pack a carload of gear. We can't wait to be able to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

So we arrived to Big Sur without reservations for the night. There was no motel room available at Fernwood so we asked about a campsite. We ended up taking the last canvas tent for the night. I was not ready to camp. The last canvas tent was surrounded by other canvas tents and small RVs. We had sleeping bags to sleep in and charcoal to BBQ in the fire pit. We bought firewood there. The canvas tent was like a small room with 3 twin size mattresses. Don't forget your lamps and flashlights. Turns out I was warm enough to sleep. I wore ear plugs since my honey was snoring. We were lucky to have couples and small families for neighbors so it was fairly quiet. We made dinner on the fire pit grill. Didn't feel like cooking in the am so we drove to a restaurant. It was so expensive. Big Sur is beautiful but expensive. Next time i will camp in my own tent and bring all my camping gear and make sure to cook all meals. No mosquitoes. We did enjoy a board game late at night at the bar/restaurant up the stairs. They have free Wi Fi at bar/restaurant. There is a small general store at Fernwood in case you forgot something.
Bathroom was clean. I saw showers but didn't use them. Bring a sweater and/or light jacket to Big Sur. It gets cold here even on the beach.
FYI, we met people that couldn't cross one of the bridges to SF late at night due to construction so they were stuck there until 7am. Look out for Cal Trans signs when traveling on Highway 1 if you are going through Big Sur.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Address: 47200 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Fernwood Resort Big Sur
Fernwood Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.