We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a hike.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fernwood Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernwood Resort
Save
You added Fernwood Resort to your Saves list
47200 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Big Sur B&B and Inns
Cranbrook, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location for a hike.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Fernwood offers good value for the money. Our room was basic but comfortable. There was good internet available in their lounge/restaurant. The restaurant food is very good. The staff are helpful. But best of all, if you walk down into the campground, there is a trail that heads up to a fabulous coastal viewpoint. Yes, it is a good hour of upwards work but what a view. The inn is very close to the road and there tends to be a lot of traffic - it must be awful in the summer. There are cabins down in the campground. I hope they are quieter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    73
    53
    28
    12
See reviews for
55
75
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Working my way home north from Los Angeles, I decided to stop at Big Sur. Local commentary led me to Fernwood, which locals say is "the living room of Big Sur". I was offered one of a very few rooms with a hot tub on the deck, at a price even I could afford due to lowered winter rates. It was wonderful! Fernwood has campgrounds down by the river, tent cabins, wood cabins, and traditional roadside rooms with decks in the back. In the summer, the roadside rooms might be noisy with traffic, but in winter, the rooms offer convenience and are easy to find those dark dark nights driving back from elsewhere. I loved filling up the tub and taking multiple soaks throughout the day and night and at dawn. An owl hooted nearby as I soaked, birds cocked their heads at me from the trees, and a racoon peered longingly at my picnic bag. A few doors down, people shopped in a friendly grocery store with little tables for munching, while others enjoyed the dining room, bar and leather couch and chairs where talking and lounging with fellow travelers is natural and inevitable. During the day a special store for hikers ensures you are in a place with great local knowledge and experience. Nearby (within about five miles) are all of my favorite Big Sur attractions. Come and discover, in winter, without the traffic, and you may, like me, even enjoy some time to lay in the sun on the beach with all of your clothing layers serving as just a pillow for your head. If it is too cold, there is the tub....glorious in all weather.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a hot tub on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed in a motel room here with a very reasonable off-season rate of $89/night. The room was basic but nice and fairly modern. It had a comfortable bed, wi-fi, baseboard heater, and bathroom with shower. The customer service and location were excellent. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed our evening at the Fernwood. The restaurant is terrific - the best part of the experience. The room was clean and the shower had good pressure and temperature. They have quiet hours and are rather serious about it because the walls are very thin. In fact, the roar of morning traffic is impossible to escape in any of their motel rooms although the camping area down below is more peaceful with the river. They run a solidly good operation. Not a bad option at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The Fernwood Inn was perfect if you are really looking to get away from it all. The rooms do not have TVs and cell reception is sparse.
The room was a nice size. It is right on the freeway so it's easy to find. There is a decent restaurant on site which also features live music on weekends. The vibe was very hippie and everyone was friendly. There are also two stores on site. One with snacks and a coffee counter and light grocery items and one with camping supplies and souvenirs.
If you are on a budget, this hotel meets all your needs. One thing I wish they had was a swimming pool, but that is a pretty minor complaint.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had driven from Santa Barbara and left quite late so when we eventually wound our way out of the cliffs of Big Sur it was becoming dark and we need to stop for the night then we came across Fernwood Resort (well Motel really) - dont be looking for 5 star comfort- we got a family motel unit up the top which slept the 4 of us, it was small, clean and comfortable and it had a gas wood pot belly heater which was lovely. We ate at the cafe for dinner and loved the food, it was amazing (better than the city) and we sat and played card and listened to the juke box. The waitress and check in clerk were lovely and very friendly and nothing was a problem. The next morning when we checked out we got one of their latte coffee and it was fantastic really yummy would give starbucks a run for its money (but thats not hard). I would love to go back and spend more than a night there and would probably try for one of their cabins down near the creek. If you love a bit of the wilderness you will love this but also good for one night stay on the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were driving back home to BC Canada from a trip to Disneyland. After a long drive ended up here around 7 pm, got a room, and had dinner.
The food and atmosphere was great as was the room, very comfy bed with a separate room for the kids. it was nice and quite all night even being right next to the highway. My wife brings her own pillow when ever we travel, and unfortunately forgot it here. We called the resort a couple days later to see if they found it, and the cleaners did. I said i would pay to have it sent back to us in Canada, and the employee said the owner said he will send it, dont worry about it. We received the pillow a short time later ( which cost them about $40 us to ship)
They went above and beyond what was expected! Thank you Fernwood we look forward to coming back to stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Address: 47200 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Fernwood Resort Big Sur
Fernwood Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.