We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Coast Highway Big Sur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Gallery Big Sur

Coast Gallery Big Sur
49901 Pacific Coast Highway, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-2301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Shopping in Big Sur
Type: Art Galleries, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The California Parks Company no longer operates this business
Windsor, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pacific Coast Highway Big Sur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just got back and loved it. I found some good advice on the net before I went and thought it was worth sharing. If you drive North to South you are on the right hand side closest to the coast for better views. More importantly, there are many opportunities to pull over and enjoy the spectacular views. It is much easier to just pull over to the right rather than make a left turn in traffic. The driving is hard enough without adding that as well.

I went in September and it was busy enough so it must be really busy in the height of the tourist season. Weather was coolish but sunny for my trip but a hoody or jacket was enough.

One last thing you might not think about when planning the trip. During my trip, the mist or fog was there in the morning obscuring some of the views. Later in the day the fog burns off in the heat and visibility is good. So it was my experience at least that the early bird might not catch the worm :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hold your breath out of the water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Find a great car, that hugs the road on curves, and like a lover of a beautiful woman, explore the Cabrillo-Pacific Highway that undulates through the magnificent Nature of the Big Sur region of CA. Took the highway from the Monterrey Peninsula (spectacular in itself), to a combo of sky and sea and trees of tremendous proportions that cannot be viewed elsewhere except the coast of Maine. Many of your senses are active at once: sight, audio, taste of the salt air, touch of the trees and surf. Compared to much of the dryness of CA, this is a cherished haven that should remain thus for generations to savor.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Charming for Art, Espresso & a Brief Respite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Ask the proprietor and you'll learn that the original Big Sur Gallery located along this stretch of highway for decades was swept away in a mudslide. The wonderfully artful building that now stands on the site was constructed many years ago out of two massive World War II wooden water tanks relocated from a military base. The construction itself is fun and interesting! Be sure to examine the architecture: Rounded wooden walls are home to an art gallery, souvenir store, and the second-story espresso bar and restaurant that hide in this treasure.

The two shingled tanks are joined by two structures -- an indoor shop visible from the highway and the hidden open-air courtyard that merges the structure with nature. In the courtyard, take the circular stairs to the second-story espresso bar and restaurant. The restaurant offers a mix of affordable snacks and upscale dining menu. You can choose to sit inside or out; we enjoyed lattes and biscotti on the outdoor patio overlooking the sea and highway. We spent only about 30 minutes there and enjoyed every minute. It's a great stop along Big Sur's beautiful coastal highway.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, MT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highway 1 Big Sur-prise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This gallery and cafe just south of the town of Big Sur on Highway 1 was an unexpected little oasis on our coastal journey and was also one of the human highlights on our landscape/wildlife exploration! The photos and art for sale were very appealing including some by local artists which I loved. It is a wonderful aesthetically pleasing place and I would highly recommend a stop and shop and/or a lunch and munch in the yummy cafe with beautiful views!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood,Ca.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wow, another "accidental" find and what a wonderful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Driving down HWY 1 from Monterey to San Luis Obispo we discovered this wonderful gallery. As stated in another review, you just come around a curve and there it is!! Great artwork as well as wonderful gifts. Too early for lunch, but great Coffee/tea and cookies. View from the deck was fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will be back next time I am in the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Gallery Big Sur also viewed

 

Been to Coast Gallery Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Gallery Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.