We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, petite cabins in a stunning forest setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Save
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Stylish, petite cabins in a stunning forest setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

It definitely pays to trust Tripadvisor on this one - we read the reviews warning about road noise in the motel rooms, and went for one of the duplex cabins instead, and it was incredible. These are not directly on Highway 1 like the motel rooms, but just a little way off the highway, down a short track, which is easy to navigate and drive in a normal car.

I think these cabins are a little smaller than the motel rooms, but ours was stylishly and beautifully decorated, and well thought-out - small but perfectly formed and with everything you need, including a coffee maker and a good amount of storage in the kitchen, under the bed and in the wardrobe. But the real draw is the setting, complete with soaring redwoods, babbling brook (a minute's walk away) and wild turkeys! It was like being in the middle of nowhere, a minute from the highway.

It felt like 5* luxury for 1* (in the Big Sur context) prices. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    262
    56
    17
    6
See reviews for
72
663
28
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We did an overnight stay at Glen Oaks last winter and LOVED it! The fireplace at the foot of the bed and heated floors in the bathroom were a welcomed sight. Our room (Fireside Guest Room - Queen) was clean, modern and cozy. Despite the chilly weather, we ventured outside to sit at the fire pit and talk story with some other guests before settling down for the night. I doubt we could have afforded to stay at Glen Oaks during the peak season of summer, but I was very happy with the seclusion and coziness we found there during December.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Glen Oaks in July of 2010 and found the whole experience to be far beyond our expectations. Having left the booking of our hotel until six weeks before we arrived, we did not have the pick of all accommodation, so we were very lucky to get a room at Glen Oakes.

Glen Oakes is situated in the middle of Big Sur and conveniently close to some really good restaurants and of course the Big Sur bakery. The accommodation looks fairly modest from the outside, but the finish in our room was exceptional - particularly the bathroom! The rooms were a decent size, very clean and cosy.

The staff at Glen Oakes, were also super friendly and incredibly generous, allowing us to stay in a cabin on our second night, for the price of one of the regular rooms - this act of generosity really made our time at Glen Oakes that bit more special and was in keeping with the good vibes of Big Sur.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed here one night on our trip down the central coast. We stayed in Room 11 in the Adobe Motor Lodge part of the resort. Our room had a small gas fireplace built into the wall. We never ended up turning it on though since when we checked in, housekeeping had apparently kept it on since cleaning the room and it was stifling hot all night.
The rooms are very small but comfortable and decorated in mix of modern and rustic decor. Very nice and clean. The bathroom was a nice size with a stone shower and heated floor. There was no tv in the room, which forced us to relax I guess. A small refrigerator and a couple board games are also supplied.
The major con of this place is the noise. The walls are paper thin and you can hear the neighbors talking, flushing toilets, etc. Also, the noise from the road (right on Rt 1) was pretty loud. It calmed down at night but picked right back up at about 5 in the morning.
The price at $189 for a queen room wasn't the best value but it was a nice little place to stop for one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I read lots of posts for various hotels leading up to our trip to Big Sur for a wedding, so I felt compelled to write about Glen Oaks for others who searching for a great find. The options in Big Sur are limited to $500 and up for rooms or less expensive, but much more rustic accommodations (we had lots of friends staying at Ripplewood and Big Sur Lodge-the general consensus was that this places were very rustic and had a state park lodge kind of feel). Glen Oaks is really the best in between option.

Pros:
The rooms (we were in the motel part-queen room) are absolutely beautiful with a natural, contemporary feel. We took lots of pictures of the bathroom for our future dream house. We didn't have one of the rooms with the fireplace to the outside/private patio, but we loved the fireplace inside and were happy with the more public front porch. Really every detail is looked after, and we loved the special touches like a beautiful orchid plant in the room, brita water pitcher in the refrigerator, yoga mats and heated bathroom floors. The entire place has a romantic, zen vibe. Super clean as well. Also, appreciated the free wifi (we had a laptop with us) in an area where cell reception is almost non-existent.

Also, a great location next to the Ripplewood store and restaurant.

Cons:
The only major con was that it was noisy in the motel. We could hear the room next door opening and closing doors, flushing the toilet, and turning on the shower. Didn't really bother us as we had anticipated it based on other reviews. We brought ear plugs for sleeping and road noise didn't keep us up at all.

Only other thing is that the bed was super hard-that's a personal preference issue though, so not really a con.

Overall, an excellent option in the Big Sur area!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed 2 nights here on a stop over on the way to Tahoe. All I can say is that I wish we would have stayed longer, and cancelled our Tahoe reservations. What an amazing little place! We stayed in the "Archies" cabin and upon entrance, I knew we were in for an amazing time. The bed was huge but cozy. The fireplace radiated great heat and kept us extremely warm from the cold rain outside. Finally a place that doesn't have a TV!! Glen Oaks truly knows how to appreciate it's gorgeous surroundings and doesn't apologize for it's lack of technological distractions. That, however, didn't stop them from adding frills like heated tile floors in the bathroom ;). The woman at the front desk was a little spacey, but check in was smooth. Don't think twice about staying here, you'll be glad you did!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich/Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed one night on our Pacific Coast Highway road trip and chose Glen Oaks based on the reviews. We were not disappointed: we liked the stylish clean design of our Queen room, the gas fireplace and the heated bathroom floor. It was a pleasure talking to the staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.