We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful retreat ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Save
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blissful retreat ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a beautiful midweek getaway at Glen Oaks Big Sur. I had read about this place last year in Sunset Magazine and what a treat! Since I only had a couple of months to plan we couldn't reserve the Big Sur cabin, but got one of the Little Sur cabins. Small but wonderful! Nestled in a redwood grove with only 10-12 other cabins on the property it felt very private and secluded. Walked along the Little Sur river ( more like a small stream during the drought), had wonderful dinners at The Roadhouse restaurant a 10 minute walk away, made fires in our personal fire pit at night under the stars. No tv or cell, just natures beauty and tranquility. Reminded us of Yosemite without the crowds. I will be making reservations for the Big Sur cabin a year in advance. This place is a jewel! My husband has a hard time just letting go and relaxing, and this place did the trick. And as an added bonus their pricing is very reasonable for the area. We will now be annual visitors to Glen Oaks!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    275
    59
    17
    6
See reviews for
74
696
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mom in nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I did a bunch of research to find a hotel in Big Sur. I came up with some terrific properties - but all very high end and more than I wanted for a family trip. We checked in knowing very little about this property and we all loved it. We stayed for two nights and would have happily stayed a third. The rooms are beautiful. In fact, it makes you ask why there are so many ugly hotels rooms when the ones at this hotel are so well designed. There is an open fire where you can make smores at night. We checked in late and there was a mixup with our rooms. When the manager, Michelle, met us the next day, she more than made up for the mixup. In fact, she dealt with us in such a lovely way that we almost loved the property more.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
275 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My wife and I very much enjoyed our evening and night at Glen Oaks in Big Sur. The lodge rooms have been totally remodeled and are an exercise in modernism. Simply delightful. No t.v. which is always a negative with my wonderful spouse but we overcame this issue with a couple of DVD's and the laptop. The bathroom and shower all have headed floors and the fireplace was romantic.
Our room had a private lockable entry courtyard that was very nice for enjoying the night Pacific Coast environment in Bid sur.
We will return for another very cozy and loving Glen Oaks Big Sur experience.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms were great. Did not have an opportunity to check out a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed for one night and really wish I could have stayed longer. Loved the quiet and the beautiful trees. The firepits were wonderful, all setup and ready to go, just lit a match. Took a walk along the trail in the morning for breakfast at the Roadhouse. Loved that there were no TVs and could take a break from reality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

harken back to your hip days. since we're a bit older, we may no longer wish to sleep in a tent or a sleeping bag on the ground. this place fills your desire for peace and tranquility. rooms are spartan, but cozy and comfortable. bathrooms excel with heated floors. beds are comfortable. if you need to watch tv, you'll have to do it on your ipad or smart phone. but why visit such a wonderful spot and opt for technology instead of retro? no worries. your devices will be waiting for you when you get home.

leaving glen oaks left a slight void which will again be filled as we've already booked for next year, and even added another night.

relax and enjoy! namaste

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We loved our stay here. The room was cozy but modern and very comfortable. The bathroom in particular was beautiful, with a heated stone floor. The room had an electric fireplace, which added to the cozy/comfortable feel of the room. Plus, there was a "communal" outdoor fire at night, which my partner and I had to ourselves and enjoyed thoroughly. Very quiet, and we slept great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We spent one night here in a forest cabin. The room was nicely furnished (no tv). The bathroom had a heated floor and large bathtub with shower. The room looked out into a beautiful redwood forest and seemed private, though there were several other cabins around us. There was a wood burning fire pit off the porch. We really enjoyed our time here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.