We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at Glen Oaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Save
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
las vegas
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at Glen Oaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My wife and I very much enjoyed our evening and night at Glen Oaks in Big Sur. The lodge rooms have been totally remodeled and are an exercise in modernism. Simply delightful. No t.v. which is always a negative with my wonderful spouse but we overcame this issue with a couple of DVD's and the laptop. The bathroom and shower all have headed floors and the fireplace was romantic.
Our room had a private lockable entry courtyard that was very nice for enjoying the night Pacific Coast environment in Bid sur.
We will return for another very cozy and loving Glen Oaks Big Sur experience.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms were great. Did not have an opportunity to check out a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    260
    56
    17
    6
See reviews for
71
654
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed for one night and really wish I could have stayed longer. Loved the quiet and the beautiful trees. The firepits were wonderful, all setup and ready to go, just lit a match. Took a walk along the trail in the morning for breakfast at the Roadhouse. Loved that there were no TVs and could take a break from reality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

harken back to your hip days. since we're a bit older, we may no longer wish to sleep in a tent or a sleeping bag on the ground. this place fills your desire for peace and tranquility. rooms are spartan, but cozy and comfortable. bathrooms excel with heated floors. beds are comfortable. if you need to watch tv, you'll have to do it on your ipad or smart phone. but why visit such a wonderful spot and opt for technology instead of retro? no worries. your devices will be waiting for you when you get home.

leaving glen oaks left a slight void which will again be filled as we've already booked for next year, and even added another night.

relax and enjoy! namaste

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We loved our stay here. The room was cozy but modern and very comfortable. The bathroom in particular was beautiful, with a heated stone floor. The room had an electric fireplace, which added to the cozy/comfortable feel of the room. Plus, there was a "communal" outdoor fire at night, which my partner and I had to ourselves and enjoyed thoroughly. Very quiet, and we slept great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We spent one night here in a forest cabin. The room was nicely furnished (no tv). The bathroom had a heated floor and large bathtub with shower. The room looked out into a beautiful redwood forest and seemed private, though there were several other cabins around us. There was a wood burning fire pit off the porch. We really enjoyed our time here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed here one night on our way down the coast. I wanted a more authentic outdoor experience but my kids wouldn't stay in tents. This was a compromise but not exactly. It was more "glamping" than camping. We stayed in the Little Sur cabins, which have queen beds. My husband and I split up and each stayed with a child. The cabins were small but very clean and well appointed. The fire pits already fixed up were simply awesome. We just had to strike a match. We stayed in cabins 7 and 8 near the water and it was quiet and secluded. You wouldn't know you were close to the highway. We used the fire pit in cabin 8, which was the best one because it is in a grove of redwoods. We kept our windows open at night and loved hearing the river at night.

The bedding is cozy and warm. The warm floors in the bathroom were awesome. There are dishes in the unit and a microwave but it is very small and don't expect to be able to prepare a meal. We did get takeout and heated it up, and the unit was perfect for that. It had everything we needed. They have a s'mores kit in the cabin for your enjoyment. However, we bought our own supplies.

My husband and my kids loved this stop on our way down the coast the most. If you want to hang in the woods and relax, it is awesome. There isn't that much to do in Big Sur for teens. We did hike and we did drive the PCH, but beyond that, it is an area to relax not necessarily "do" anything.

This is a wonderful stop for some quiet and nature. Cabins were very well appointed. I recommend checking in before sundown, as it is very dark at night. Also, the evening is one of the best parts of the stay. We would have stayed longer if we knew how great Glen Oaks was.

Room Tip: Little Sur cabins 7 and 8 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The service was outstanding. My fiance and I stayed 2 nights. One night in the main building (#11) and the second in a cabin on the other side of the road. We only had reserved one night but were fortunate to have a cancellation which allowed us to stay a 2nd night. The staff was attentive and accomodating. They helped us with providing a calling card after hours and helped us with reservations. Much attention to detail such as a nice smores kit in the room for our private fire pit. Overall this is a great "glamping" destination. The rooms were both modern and updated inside. There is a lovely creek/river nearby and a path for a walk or just star gazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.