We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Save
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best of the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Glen Oaks Big Sur is a peaceful place to clear your mind and have a very wonderful time with your loved one. No TV was a blessing. My wife and I had room 9 and the double sided fireplace with secluded patio was the bomb! When we checked in the front desk personal was wonderful and very informative about what to do and where to go in Big Sur. The 50's / 60's furnishings were great, the bed very inviting, but the best was the heated floor in the bathroom. We were there for three nights and four days and the employees at Glen Oaks were on top of the game. Everything we needed or asked for was provided or discussed. We would recommend this lovely retreat to anyone that want to get away from everything and enjoy the surroundings in Big Sur.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a double fire place with enclosed patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    275
    59
    17
    6
See reviews for
74
697
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in a Fireside Lodge Queen.

Pro's:

- Nice room decoration, rustic but very modern and the bathroom had lovely underfloor heating and a large shower.
- Across the road from a nice restaurant, Big Sur Roadhouse, where we ate both nights. Rather pricey but as it was our honeymoon we didn't begrudge giving ourselves a treat! Book in advance for dinner as it definitely gets very busy.
- Refrigerator in room which is always useful. Sadly wasn't that cold but helpful if you want to keep something mildy chilled.


Average:

- Staff were...meh. A few times they just stared blankly at us and I wondered if they were finished talking to us or waiting for us to say something. Bit too chilled out in my opinion for the price of the accommodation!
- Whilst we slept well and there was no outside noise the soundproofing from other rooms was pretty poor and we ended up hearing conversations from next door which was annoying.

Con's:

- Very overpriced for what you got. We paid around $550 for 2 nights and I really really don't think it was worth this kind of money. I totally appreciate Big Sur is expensive but this was pushing it a bit for what you got.
- There was no A/C and even at the beginning of April the room got pretty stuffy. There was a plug in fan but at this price I would have expected A/C or a ceiling fan at least. In the summer it would get SO hot!
- It was our honeymoon and we did make them aware beforehand however nothing special or extra was arranged. I don't expect to get special treatment because it's my honeymoon but to have it recognised in some way is always remembered and appreciated. Probably because there are so many weddings/honeymooners in Big Sur it's not such a big deal!

The choices are so limited and overpriced in Big Sur that I guess if you are going to spend the money you could do worse than Glen Oaks. Though be prepared not to be wowed as it is definitely average at best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed in a Deluxe King which has it's own private patio area with gate. This is part of the main building along CA-1. My room was beautifully furnished with a mid-century meets the woods kind of vibe. This is a big plus in my book. The lack of TV is welcome when in a beautiful setting. The dual sided fireplace provides heat for the room and adds a beautiful ambiance when you are either on the patio or laying in bed. The bathroom has a wonderful heated floor and large shower that is great after a day on the beach or a day hike.

There is complimentary water, coffee and tea in the small lobby as well as complimentary coffee/tea at the restaurant, Roadhouse, across CA-1. Definitely make reservations for dinner there if you can. It's also great for breakfast as you fuel up for a hike at any of the nearby parks.

Bring a bottle of wine and drinks as the room has a mini fridge. You'll want it later at night as you sit around the communal fire pit. The lobby also sells the making for s'mores or you can go to the little market next door if you have to make more than two.

I recommend it for couples or groups of adults. Overall I give this a double thumbs up and plan to go again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

A well furnished, decorated and comfortable room. The bathroom was incredible - under floor heating and amazing shower. The table and chairs outside were a great touch after a day in the car on the coast road, and although it was close to the highway, we weren't disturbed by the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and I drove down from San Francisco for a weekend getaway. Glen Oaks offered up a relaxed atmosphere, plenty of privacy (we stayed in the Sycamore cabin), a solid restaurant onsite (one breakfast, one dinner, funky Creole cuisine), and decor and design that reflected an honest sustainability. Perfectly located for hiking, too. We'll go back for sure.

Room Tip: We liked the Sycamore cabin for privacy, though it did mean a short walk along highway 1 to get to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was decorated beautifully. Loved the bathroom and porch area. I did wish there was a TV in the room.

Restaurant was amazing! We were very happy with our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

For my 31st birthday, my boyfriend and I decided to head to Big Sur for a few days to relax. After researching nearly every property within our budget, we decided on Glen Oaks Big Sur and, I'm convinced, we couldn't have made a better decision! The location is prime and the grounds are well-maintained. The staff was friendly and informative but, most importantly, the room was exactly what I wanted! We stayed in Archie's and it was perfect; nice and modern while still feeling a bit rustic. The layout was compact but never felt cramped. The bed was large and extremely comfortable with fantastic sheets and blankets, the fireplace kept the room comfortably warm and provided exquisite mood lighting, the kitchen area was just the right size for easy food prep and drinks, and the heated floor and double shower heads in the bathroom were a pleasant surprise...and thoroughly enjoyed! I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay in Archie's! Wonderful little cabin that feels private and posh. Also, enjoy dinner at Big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.