We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Chill Birthday Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Save
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
Berkeley, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Chill Birthday Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

For my 31st birthday, my boyfriend and I decided to head to Big Sur for a few days to relax. After researching nearly every property within our budget, we decided on Glen Oaks Big Sur and, I'm convinced, we couldn't have made a better decision! The location is prime and the grounds are well-maintained. The staff was friendly and informative but, most importantly, the room was exactly what I wanted! We stayed in Archie's and it was perfect; nice and modern while still feeling a bit rustic. The layout was compact but never felt cramped. The bed was large and extremely comfortable with fantastic sheets and blankets, the fireplace kept the room comfortably warm and provided exquisite mood lighting, the kitchen area was just the right size for easy food prep and drinks, and the heated floor and double shower heads in the bathroom were a pleasant surprise...and thoroughly enjoyed! I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay in Archie's! Wonderful little cabin that feels private and posh. Also, enjoy dinner at Big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    256
    55
    17
    6
See reviews for
69
634
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Glen Oaks in 2013 and loved it. This year we decided to upgrade into a larger room, with a patio and king sized bed, and it was well worth it. The opening of the Big Sur Roadside Restaurant across the street is a definite plus -- great food and fabulous ambience. Altogether, a great visit to the area; we made reservations for 2015 after checking out!

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the fire pit are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My partner and I stayed here, we wanted a cabin but only the adobe motor lodge was available. We still had a good time, it is very convenient with a restaurant RoadHouse across street and close to other areas to explore. Everyone is very nice who works here. Will try to be back soon!

Room Tip: Adobe motor lodges faces the street (hwy 1)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Glen Oaks was everything I expected and more. My boyfriend and I stayed in Room 12, a King Suite in the Adobe Motor Lodge. Contrary to other reviewers, we found this to be really quiet despite the proximity to Highway 1. Behind a rustic metal door (that we could lock in addition to our front door), we had our own private patio which was perfect for wine and games. The room was pristine--we very much enjoyed having some fridge room--the fridge was just tall enough to stock your own wine and beer...and snacks too! The landscaping was awesome--lots of flowers and succulents. There is free wifi if you're feeling too far removed from the city. But we quite enjoyed being off the grid. Ultimately, our lodging choice came down to Tree Bones and Glen Oaks. Considering how far Tree Bones is from the city--and how WONDERFUL Glen Oaks turned out to be--we were extremely happy with our choice! And we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The team was VERY accommodating, the place was enchanting, everything was perfect! We stayed in Little Sur Cabin, it was worth every penny. We stayed in cabin 8 beside the river. There were a lot of parts in the property to hike around and meditate. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Glen Oaks Big Sur for two nights last week. All of the staff were so helpful in sharing their knowledge of the area and giving us information to help us enjoy our stay. The rooms were very comfortable with the heated floor in bathroom was so nice when the temp dropped at night. The location was great as there were hikes and other restaurants in either direction. There is a restaurant across the street which was very good and a breakfast/lunch place directly next door. There is some traffic noise from Hwy 1, but it is very quiet at night. We met lovely people by the community's fire pit at night. The yoga mats in the room were such a nice touch after a incredible day hiking.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

we stayed in the main area. Not in the cabins. The main area was fine for our needs. We did day hikes we spent the night in the room not days. No television but no need. staff is very pleasant. Bathroom floor is heated this was great. there was a fire pit which is nice. restaurant also was quite good

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.