We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Save
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our trip to America. The room was very comfortable, clean, spacious and relaxing. Staff seemed very friendly and provided good advice on things to do in the area. I also liked the open fire pit which we could relax by during the evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    256
    55
    17
    6
See reviews for
69
634
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed for a night and were very impressed. Very easy and pleasant check-in, informative and helpful. Room was exactly as portrayed by photos. Spotlessly clean and very tastefully furnished. We also ate at The Roadhouse restaurant across the road, once again excellent service. Fantastic surroundings.

Room Tip: Maybe a little further back from main road. We were in the first room, queen with fire. Aware of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was intrigued by Sunset Mag's pick of [the cabins] as one of the "most romantic," so I camped out in one after tiring of the fiancial hemmorage to Ventana, and in the good old days, Post Ranch Inn. For the Leave a Light On For Me Crowd, you'll find this much nicer than your average motel, with heated bathroom floors (but no tubs), nice lighting, and cheerful colors. But I agree with the UK reviewer that they've gotten a bit pricey for their britches @ $325/350 room, given what you get: powdered Coffeemate on the shelf instead of a thoughtful little half cup of milk or creme in the cute fridge; beds arranged to miss the view out the door; weird pre-packaged "smores" with chemical marshmellows (an oxymoron, I admit). I will probably trudge back down the road to ensure a sublime Big Sur experience, but if you need Wi Fi and have never stayed in a place with a bowl-sink, you'll be happy. Personally, I missed the 52" TV.

Room Tip: The cabins are far quieter than the lodge, which features neighbor and road-noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I go to Big Sur most years on a trip to the coast and for a few years past have stayed in The Cottage at Glen Oaks. Under the same ownership but with new management for a year or so past, last year we did have a few minor grumbles we raised and suggestions we made concerning equipment and supplies given at the cabins including The Cottage; this year, we found that most of our previous comments had been taken on board and in fact we were welcomed back to this lovely place. Unlike many guests, we don't find the motel units suit us at all, so we can't comment on them, but we do enjoy this cottage in the woods. The management is helpful and responsive, housekeeping standards are excellent and all the staff seem pleasant as well as efficient.

Whilst Glen Oaks is undoubtedly good value by Big Sur standards, we do think that weekend premiums have now reached a level too high and we have told the general manager so; but our comments were courteously accepted and responded to constructively and we appreciate this.

We hope to be returning again in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lovely place, cozy, clean. If you are looking for privacy, do not book the River View or Forest View cabins as they are attached and you can hear EVERYTHING that is going on next door. We also needed to have night maintenance come out to check on a scratching noise that was happening every night. It sounded to us like an animal under the cabin, which can be understood staying in the woods. Maintenance assured us however that it was the heating system making that awful noise that was disturbing our sleep every night for all 3 nights of our stay. Maybe then the heating system needs an update, because it was beyond disruptive in the lovely little cabin. The front desk is not available after 9, so you are on your own until 8AM the next morning if issues do arise. We had contacted the office months ahead of time to let them know we would be celebrating an elopement. There was no effort or acknowledgment made of this at all, so they are not the warmest, or excited to share in the purpose of your stay; if you are looking for a warm, friendly greeting, do not expect it here. Overall, it is cute, quaint and we enjoyed the clean cabin, but the "noises" and non-personal feel did put a large damper on our stay.

Room Tip: Get a single standing cabin, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We picked Glen Oaks based on the reviews here on TripAdvisor, and what a good choice it was. The room was spotlessly clean and exceptionally inviting/comfortable. Loved the heated bathroom floor! And the mix between rustic and mid-century modern furniture was striking. We enjoyed a delicious dinner at The Roadhouse, The Glen Oaks' restaurant, that was delicious. (Never had a kale Caesar salad before, but loved it!) Great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in one of the motor lodge rooms (#3) October 23rd & 24th. Cool room decor, nice patio out front. Great heated bathroom floors, warming gas fireplace in the room. No TV (good!). Clean, comfortable, quiet. Neat fire pit near by. The grounds are very nice, settled into a wooded hillside. Having the Roadhouse across the street for a restaurant is great. Everything has that Big Sur/Northern California/Nestled in the Redwoods vibe.

Recommend taking a walk down to the cabins along the Big Sur River. We've booked for next year already!

Room Tip: Motor Lodge rooms have somewhat overgrown foliage screening them from the parking lot. Makes for goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.