We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I spent two days at the Glen Oaks at Big Sur- I was a bit wary because the name "Motor Lodge" threw me off... I didn't know what to expect! The Glen Oaks was beautiful- I am huge on cleanliness and the hardwood floors and brightly furnished rooms were incredibly clean. We had a couch and an indoor/outdoor fireplace in our room that was shared with the private outdoor patio, as well as heated bathroom floors (SO nice) and a fridge with a Brita. No television, but we had our laptop and the free WiFi meant we could watch movies easily. Housekeeping was so fast that they were in and out of our room while we ate breakfast, and they did a great job. A common area offered a fireplace where people were constantly cooking s'mores (artisan s'mores kits were available at the counter, they also sold fixings at the general stores in the area).

The location was great- the restaurant across the street supplied free coffee to guests and the general store a few steps away had anything we needed for a picnic lunch while we drove the coast. A few miles down the road is the Venetana, an incredible restaurant with a great view, and Nepenthe, another with the same. Everyone was very nice and helpful and offered tons of tips for the area.

In terms of price, it seems like a lot, but for the area it's not. Don't be fooled by the Motor Lodge in the name- its one of the nicer places we've stayed in for our honeymoon!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a private patio! It's such a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    221
    46
    14
    6
See reviews for
53
536
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

They converted an old motel into a series of sizeable modern rooms with rustic touches. We even had a private gated off patio area (king room). Room was very clean and staff was pleasant (but not on duty 24/7). It If you stay be sure to check out the restaurant across the street.

Only con - we were looking for 2 double beds (sleeping for 3) but the hotel did not have any rooms of that nature which was suprising, so we had to get a trundle bed. I believe it was a $75 fee, which seemed high, but I don't normally get one, so not sure what the going rate is (given we were only staying for 1 night it made more sense than $300 for another room).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is the bomb!!! My husband and I stayed in the Sycamore Cabin for two nights and everything was perfect. Location is beautiful and private, cabin is impeccably decorated with all the modern luxuries,(heated bathroom floor, wifi) and the fire pit/location makes you feel like you are really camping. We would return here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in a cozy room in a simple style but with modern comforts, including a beautifully redone bathroom with wood and stone motif, large shower, and heated floor. Instead of TV, the accoutrements included a "Buddha board" and a gas fireplace as well as a Scrabble set. There was a small private patio right outside our door, and also on the grounds was a group seating area around a larger gas fire pit. A little pricey, but worth it. The staff was helpful and friendly. Just across the road was the Road House restaurant, very convenient with good breakfasts. Even though we were close to the road, it was very quiet at night. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay here on our next trip.

Room Tip: Dual fireplaces (facing inside and outside) have private patio. Cottage is nestled in the redwoods...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about this Big Sur retreat. Although we only stayed in our tiny cabin one night, I'd love to stay a lifetime. Convenient, modernly rustic, comfortable, great staff, everything you need at your little hide away in the woods. The firepit outside our door was already set up and ready to light as soon as we returned from dinner. The heated floors, comfortable bed, and organic products made me want to call this place home. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose the Big Sur cabin. Cleverly nestled in the woods, you feel as if you are the only people around. Listen carefully and all you can hear is the river nearby. A cabin appointed with a decent kitchen and hot drinks ready and waiting; nice lounge and comfy bedroom. The staff go out of their way to make your stay special - including making up the fire pits before your arrival. Twin outdoor baths in front of the firepit with the giant redwoods towering above you make staying here a night to remember.

Room Tip: Go for the Big Sur cabin if your budget allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great lil motel if you want to stay near Post Ranch and Ventana but don't want to pay those prices. Glen Oaks is super clean, very upscale in a modern hippie sort of way. It's down in the woods so you get a different BigSur experience than staying right on the coast.
We loved our fireplace, loved the huge shower, loved the heated flooring, loved the bedding & loved the Scrabble and wine in our room! The staff was friendly and the room was quiet.

The owner of the motel also owns the Roadhouse restaurant right across the street.. The food there is FABULOUS!!!
We will be back again!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur
Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list