We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Save
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magical place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The zen like rooms are complimentary to the natural beauty of big sur and the environment. I would come back. I loved the fire pit in the cool evening..a great place to be with your sweetheart or in prayer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    256
    55
    17
    6
See reviews for
69
634
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Dreamy, romantic, cozy and convenient. Our hip and comfortable (heated bathroom floor!) room was matched by the distinctive lush landscaping. The outdoor fire pit was a treat on our chilly night stay, we gathered visiting guests from Canada while drinking the wine that greeted us in our room. Walked across the street for dinner at their equally comfortable and hip restaurant.
Planning a trip back, only longer.

Room Tip: Best choice: Room 109 has a private patio that opens to the fire pit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Glen Oaks is like nowhere I’ve ever stayed before. It’s perfect for a city girl like myself who’s not a fan of ‘proper’ camping. We stayed in a Little Sur cabin in the woods, even though they’re joined onto another cabin it still felt very private. When you first step out of the car and look up at those redwoods - it’s amazing. The cabin was very small but perfect for a 2 night stay. It was very well equipped for such a small space. We cooked eggs each morning and ate the oatmeal provided which was a nice touch. I think for the price you pay they could throw in the s’more kit for free. The cabins are also missing a table and chair set to have the option to eat outside on the patio. The décor is very cool and loved the under floor heating in the bathroom. We also thought the location was perfect, it was a very short drive to surrounding state parks as well as Big Sur Bakery (amazing bread & food), Nepenthe (don’t eat here!), Post Ranch Inn and Deetjens.

When we headed down Highway 1 after checking out, I noticed the Treebones resort was way out of this part of Big Sur so I’m pleased that we'd opted for Glen Oaks. All in all the accommodation is VERY pricy but so is everything in this part of the world and it’s worth splurging the extra cash for the unique experience. The road trip we took may be a once in a lifetime experience…

Room Tip: Little Sur Cabin no.8 was nice and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Glen Oaks Big Sur exceeded our expectations. The rooms provide a cabin-like feel, while still offering great ammenities such as newly remodeled bathrooms, a nice size patio with table and chairs and beautiful landscaping providing a lot of privacy. There is a trail up the road that is part of this property where the cabins are located that you can walk down to a "beach" area along a fresh water river. A beautiful little swimming hole. There is a great breakfast place right next door, and a new restaurant with great food directly across the street. Also a nice fire pit area for roasting marshmallows at night. I highly recommend this place, and is very romantic if travelling with a significant other. My wife and I will be back here someday. A truly remarkable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Glen Oaks. The fire pit and s'mores in the middle of the night were amazing and it's just beautiful to wake up in the forest. In the morning we got up and went to the uber expensive resorts for spa and lunch and saved a ton by not staying there. The heated floor was a wonderful surprise in the bathroom!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

No need to elaborate on how beautiful Big Sur is, and the Glen Oaks is well located with scattered cabins on the shore side of the road and the office and connected rooms on the other side. The cabin are beautifully remodeled but both the rooms and my cabin (we had two as we were up for a wedding) were uncomfortably small. There was no TV and more importantly for the hot week we were there no air conditioner. There was a small fan which helped bring in the slightly cooler evening air. The windows had screens so we could open them but the front door did not. There was a cute fire pit outside the cabin which was all set up to light but we did not use it. The hotel was pricey and they charged my card in full right away even though we made the reservation months ahead. The wi-fi though included was only fair. There is no cell phone reception in the area and tO use the phone to make an outside call Took a code that they would not give us over the telephone but we had to get in person from the office (a 5 minute walk). Breakfast was NOT included but a nearby motel right next door had a lovely restaurant with good breakfast and service. The glen Oaks is soon opening their own restaurant on the sea side if the road, but if it will be as stiff as their hotel, I probably would stick with the breakfast place I mentioned above.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in the River View cabin in the Redwood Grove. The cabin was beautifully decorated and oh so comfortable. We loved the spacious front porch with fire pit and full-on view of the Big Sur River. It's like heaven being surrounded by the majestic redwoods and hearing the calming sound of the flowing Big Sur River by day and night. I wish I could have bottled that sound up and taken it home with me! You are right off Hwy 1, but definitely a world away. Big Sur is every bit as magical as they say. We went hiking every day and loved coming home to our cabin in the woods every evening. Glen Oaks is the perfect balance between rustic and modern.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the River View or Big Sur Cabin if you can! The cabins facing the river are best i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.