We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel with modern, comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel with modern, comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a great hotel for couples wanting a quick stay in Big Sur while traveling down the coast.

I'd particularly recommend looking into the Adobe Motor Lodge rooms. For Big Sur, they're a good price, and they're very comfortable and thoughtfully decorated.

If you're not familiar with Big Sur, just realize that you're going to be a little ways away from the hustle and bustle. That's a good thing, but it also means to think ahead if you'd like to bring any food or drinks or supplies with you. The hotel is right next door to a small market, but it closed in the early evening when we visited... so at night, you're on your own.

Great, romantic place to visit, and next time I head to the coast, I'll look into staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    468
    233
    52
    16
    6
See reviews for
59
576
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved our stay at Glen Oaks but at the price point five stars would be stretching it. We stayed in one of the Little Sur Cabins for two nights and payed $305 per night. Just to keep things in perspective, everything in Big Sur is costly from restaurants to grocery items so Glen Oaks is doing no wrong in the rates they charge. Now to the good stuff and later I'll mention the very few negatives.

Glen Oaks is at the northernmost point of Big Sur as are most of the hotels and motels. It's a great jumping off point for the area attractions and hiking such as Pfeiffer Big State Beach, Mcway Falls and Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park. All of those are within a 30 minute drive and each features stunning landscape.

The check-in process was easy and it was located at the Glen Oaks Motel location which is a couple hundred yards north of the cabins on Hwy 1. Those working at the front desk were very friendly and even helped with some lunch and dinner recommendations. The drive over to the cabins is a quick one and there is a key code gate to get into the Glen Oaks cabin area.

Driving down to the cabins was my first impression of redwoods and I was awestruck. We're from Florida and don't see trees a third the size of a baby redwood. The cabins are all within a 1-2 acre lot with a nice little stream creating a boundary at the southern end. The way the cabins are angled you do have a little bit of privacy and the Redwoods certainly form a natural barrier. Each cabin has their own outside fire pit for s'mores or warmth. The Little Sur Cabin was exceptionally clean and I'll use the word "cute," as my wife would say. The downside is that it is veerrry small, most comparable to staying a big city (i.e., Paris, London, NYC). We knew that going in and accepted it as indoor camping which worked for us but may not for others. The size for price point is why I'm rating Glen Oaks at four stars and for no other reason. It was a very quiet, relaxing stay which we would gladly recommend to our friends and family.

Just for some close lunch and dinner recommendations, I would suggest Nepenthe for lunch and the Publick House (pub with great burgers and wings) and the Big Sur River Inn Restaurant (wide selections of seafood and American classics).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a trip where we drove from San Fran to Santa Barbara. We spent 2 nights in Big Sur at Glen Oaks and wish we could have stayed another 2 days.

The Big Sur Cabin was a perfect place to stay in that area -- it feels outdoorsy but with nicer amenities. The fire pit and 2 tubs in the private outdoor area were great. The fire pits came ready for you to just light a match and each day they were set up again so it was no work to get the fire going. We also really appreciated the heated bathroom floors.

The location was also ideal. We were surrounded by trees and a creek and it felt very private but it was only 2 minutes off of the PCH. If you are planning on hiking there is not a better spot. We went hiking at a couple of the parks and then spent some time in Carmel.

I would definitely recommend stopping at the General Store (there is one right before you get to the cabin) and picking up s'mores ingredients and a bottle of wine but if you don't, they do offer them for purchase in the cabin.

If you are looking for luxury this is not it but that's not the experience we were looking for in Big Sur. I can't imagine a better place to stay in this area than the Big Sur cabin.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We enjoyed the solitude, comfort, and clean rooms in Sycamore, a stand-alone cabin with a small refrigerator and microwave oven, bathroom with an over-sized shower, and private fire ring where we warmed ourselves by the fire and roasted marshmallows. The wi-fi came in handy since we had no cell phone access to keep in touch. And it was nice to explore the river at the end of the road. Would choose this cabin again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and stayed in the Adobe Motorlodge and thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful yet colorful ambiance. The location is convenient. The amenities are simple, high quality, well decorated, and relaxing. I do wish we had a coffee maker inside the room, however the staff in the main office were very friendly while providing coffee and knowledgeable about surrounding places. The outdoor seating area and community fire pit were fun (lots of fun diversity with other guests). We would absolutely recommend staying here for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed in The Cottage for two nights and were very happy with our choice. It's nestled at the end of a small road near some private residences but we didn't notice anyone else and it felt very secluded; exactly what we wanted as an escape on our road trip.

The cabin was very well decorated and had it's own kitchen with a Smeg fridge and all the necessary cooking facilities to allow us to make our own meals (cooker and microwave). A nice change from eating out all the time. The lounge was comfortable with a gas fire place that kept us cosy when the nights cooled down. Yes there's no TV but why would you want one? If you really need the outside world there's WIFI access. The bed was large and super comfy and the bathroom had under floor heating - lovely.

Location wise we were surprised at how close to the main road the motel is located (just our assumption!) but this only made it more convenient for us as it is ideally located to some of Big Sur's fantastic locations - Pffeifer beach and state park, Bixby Bridge etc. There is a general store and gas station next to the motel and another not far down the down where you will also find restaurants.

If you are looking for a meal with a view we recommend Nepenthe which has amazing views to enjoy while eating a burger/salad in the sun. It fills up quickly so be sure to book or go early to get your spot.

Back to The Cottage - it's worth the price for the space, comfort and convenience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was in Big Sur in March of 2013. We had an absolutely amazing time while we were there. We stayed for 2 nights. The rooms were very clean and updated. And the patio off the back of our cabin was awesome. We had a campfire every night and had lunch down by the river. I really can't think of anything that we didn't like. Because it is so secluded up there, everything is really expensive. Bring your own smore's makings and water. The only thing that was a bummer, after a long day, and a cold night, I wanted a long, hot shower, and because they are single cabins, the hot water ran out, one thing that never happens at hotels. But, if thats the worst part of our trip I'm pretty happy with that. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list