We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20th Anniversary Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Save
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“20th Anniversary Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights in the Cottage recently to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We loved our privacy and the coziness of the cottage. The cottage was very clean and well taken care of each day from housekeeping. It was fun to have a full kitchen to work with, where we enjoyed one dinner and our breakfast each morning. We were delighted that even though we could hear Highway One traffic during the day that we were not disturbed by it by night as the bedroom is in the back of the cottage away from the highway.

We enjoyed hiking in Andrew Molera and Julia Pfieffer State Parks, an anniversary dinner at Sierra Mar, lunch at Nepenthe and dinner at Deetjen's and the Big Sur Bakery. We walked on Pfieffer Beach, enjoyed whale's spouting during our lunch at Nepenthe and watching soaring condors at Julia Pfieffer. The Henry Miller Library was also a fun stop.

We can't wait to return to Big Sur and Glen Oaks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    256
    55
    17
    6
See reviews for
69
634
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked our trip to Big Sur here. Our flight in and drive was gorgeous and we were looking forward to settling in for a great weekend.

As soon as we arrived though, I felt like we were in trouble. Checking in was a nightmare. They lost our reservation and luckily I had a copy of the confirmation, but even so they reluctantly gave us a room despite the fact we had ALREADY PAID FOR A DEPOSIT. The manager Jeanne was rude and my wife walked away because she got so mad with her attitude.

They claimed they were booked until I told them they were responsible for paying for another place even if it cost more. Later we realized they were only half full which made no sense to us unless they were hoping we would not ask for a refund.

The rooms were decent, and the location was good. Big Sur was beautiful. We were close to hikes and parks so location was awesome. There was some good places to eat near by and lots of sight seeing. Property was average. Some trash on the grounds the second day was still there when we left.

The first afternoon we were taking showers and realized our room didn't have many towels so we called to see if we could get more, they said we would need to come get them ourselves. That really surprised us.

Check out was possibly the worst part. By then we were already negative on the place. But they tried to add an additional fee and if I wasn't already suspicious I wouldn't have caught it. It was $40 more a night. We got in a huge fight and we just paid and left.

It ruined our trip. I will never stay here again. Save your trip and stay next door.

Dan

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Glen Oaks is a wonderful, quiet, cozy place to spend the night. The fireplace and decor are state of the art, artistc, and cozy. I loved the heated tile floor in the bathroom. Since traffic is blocked after 9pm for construction north of the location, there is no road traffic at night. Walk to the back and you can see the Milky Way. At check-in the very helpful lady at the front desk called for a reservation at The Bakery and also recommended Nepenthe, and the Cafe next door. All are excellent. I think the price is very reasonable for the California Coast and a great place to stay for hiking and exploring the area. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The prices are a bit misleading, as you expect a lot more than what you end up getting. That being said, we adapted quickly to the change and took it for what it was...a charming, rustic motor lodge in Big Sur. As far as Big Sur accommodations go, from what I saw when looking for places to stay, this is probably one of the nicer spots (not including Ventana Post Ranch). We would have loved to stay in the cabins, but none were available by the time we booked (though the couple we were traveling with did get one). We might stay here again, but only if a cabin were available.

The Good:
- Rustic charm
- Fireplace kept the room toasty
- Nicely re-done bathroom with heated floors
- GREAT restaurant recommendations from the front desk (we dined at Nepenthe and Deetjen's)

The Bad:
- Walls are VERY thin & you can hear everything in the next room
- Beds/mattresses could use an update--not comfortable at all
- Dropping off the couple we were traveling with at their cabin each night after dinner proved challenging--the turn-off is not well lit/marked to see at night, and the little driveway that winds through the cabins is also very dark

Room Tip: If you can afford a free-standing cabin, that's probably your best bet, as the cabins with two r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Husband and I spent 1 night here for my birthday weekend.

We really enjoyed our stay. It was clean and in a great location. Restaurants and hiking trails were minutes away. Free coffee and tea is provided in the office during the day.

The lady at the front dest was very nice and helpful. She provided a print out of hiking trails and had restaturant menus to look through. I loved that I could look at the menus in order to choose where to go for lunch and dinner.

We had lunch at Big Sur Bakery.... we chose pizza and it was delicious. The menu here is very limited.

Dinner and breakfast was at the Big Sur River inn. I liked that they had more to offer on the menu and it was tasty. They also have the river which is a great location to enjoy after a delicious meal.

I have to agree with comments about thin walls. I could hear the conversation in the next room. The highway was not very noisy and keeping the restroom door shut help to reduce the sound.

People may think that these rooms are over priced but i think that it was worth the spulge because of the location. Other hotels around here are twice as much. If you want to pay less for a hotel you can always stay in Carmel or Monterey and just drive down for hiking/sight seeing.

Room Tip: Bring your own smores supplies. They sell kits for $15 and it only makes 4 smores.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed in the Little Sur Cabin which was exactly what we were hoping for. Great location amount the redwoods on the bank of a beautiful creek. Room was smallish but has everything you need (including small kitchnette). We LOVED the smores kit (from Australia so had never before had the pleasure!). We also cooked our dinner in the fire pit and enjoyed an evening under the stars. Would have loved to stay longer. Small issue of a double charge was fixed quickly and with no fuss.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed a night at the Glen Oaks in Big Sur and were very impressed with the high-end cabins on offer. While it is perhaps a little on the pricey side, this is to be expected in the preserved areas and parklands of Big Sur. The cabin had everything you could ever want (except a TV, but who wants that?) for a romantic and/or wilderness getaway, including board games and smores. Utensils, etc. were stocked in the kitchen and the whole place had a scandinavian feel amidst the enormous redwoods.

We did not see the motel-style rooms which are smaller and, yes, less expensive, so cannot comment on those.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.