We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A relaxing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time here. It was clean and the rooms are very nicely done!! It was secluded and romantic. It was like a 5 star camping adventure!!!! Everything was wonderful about it. I can't wait to stay here again !!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    233
    52
    16
    6
See reviews for
59
572
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in the Sycmore cabin for 3 nights and loved it. The scenery was picture perfect and the fire pit was put to great use. The bed, lines and pillows were also very comfortable. Pricey, but not for Big Sur

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. We stayed in the Adobe Motor Lodge Fireside King. We were in heaven! The decor is fabulous, and you can't beat the location. This is the best value in Big Sur if you want a place with style, but don't want to spend the money for Post Ranch Inn or Ventana. The staff was very helpful - they gave us great dinner recommendations (Big Sur Bakery!) and booked massages at Ventana for us. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for the double sided fire place. There is no restaurant on site, although t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in the Big Sur Cottage at Glen Oaks for 2 nights. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. If you want absolute isolation you would love it here! The cottage was beautifully decorated with it's own separate kitchen and terrace outside with a fire pit & two outside tubs (we didn't use these in October!). A minor complaint we have is that the concept of 'self-catering' is not really easily achievable in the cottage as the kitchen had virtually no cutlery, serving plates etc. to enable you to do this! We found eating out options in the Big Sur to be pretty limited so bear that in mind, you may have to travel further in a car to find a nice restaurant. Glen Oaks is within 15minutes drive of some beautiful national beach parks like Pfeiffer Beach which is well worth a visit for the views. In summary, although we did enjoy our stay in the Big Sur and would recommend it, for us 2 nights at our very remote Glen Oaks cottage was more than enough and we were ready to move on and we did feel that it was extremely expensive all things considered. It is after all still just a motel and not a hotel but carries a rather hefty price tag as there are few accommodation options in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was fine (if eccentrically decorated) but ludicrously over priced. We had little choice the other hotels locally did not have good reviews.

But the staff were very helpful ( you cant make long distance calls from the without a phone card), we didn't have one and a member of staff lent us hers.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Big Sur is breathtaking and these cabins were stunning. Our party booked the Big Sur and Sycamore Cabins. Both were quite different but in terms of space and decor, were as good or better than expected.
We decided to eat by the fire pit and had a great evening. The one thing that really marks this place down is the kitchen amenities. It's stingy to give 2 plates, knives, forks and 1 blunt kitchen knife. The wine glasses were missing and despite asking for more, I was told "out of stock", which wasn't true according to the receptionist at checkout. The coffee machine was awful - it made luke warm coffee and leaked.
The positives - a comfy bed and a superb shower.
I'd most probably go back. I'd probably recommend it.
Glenoaks - please tidy up the small raggy edges that detract from perfection.

Room Tip: Big Sur Cabin is the most private and closest to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

GlenOaks motel was such a wonderful suprise!! The rooms are spacious ,immpeccably clean and designed for complete relaxation in the Big Sur environment. The rooms have GasFireplaces, subtle lighting, comfortable beds and beautiful bathrooms, We enjoyed the outdoor firepit in the evening and felt completely relaxed and and refreshed when we got up in the morning! We will definately return to stay again. Also the cafe that is right next to the motel serves excellent food. Our stay in Big Sur at Glenn Oak Motel was most enjoyable, I also want to let everyone know that the staff at the motel was professional and customer service was a top prioriy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list