We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in the heart of Big Sur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Oaks Big Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Oaks Big Sur
Save
You added Glen Oaks Big Sur to your Saves list
Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Monterey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel in the heart of Big Sur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We have traveled the world for both business and pleasure and have to say that this is a very unique place.
While driving from LA to San Francisco we wanted a special place to relax for a couple of days. The Glen Oaks was so incredibly beautiful. We stayed in the Big Sur Cabin along the river with a fantastic kitchen area, living room off of the bedroom and outdoor tubs! My husband and I enjoyed wine under the Redwoods and re-connected again. It is a very special and romantic place. The heated floors in the bathroom, nice size towels, comfortable bed and great coffee and tea in the morning just were great. We will be telling all of our friends about this fantastic hotel! We hope to return in the fall with three other couples. We hope you will have space.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabins along the river. It is very private and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    252
    54
    17
    6
See reviews for
69
624
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed in the sycamore cabin for two nights and absolutely loved it. It is worth the extra money to get one of the cabins vs the hotel - it is very private and you don't hear highway 1. The cabins are nicely located next to all kinds of trails. We would absolutely stay again on our next trip to big sur. The staff was friendly and the cabin was very clean. We loved the heated bathroom floors!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed in one of the Little Sur cabins - it was very stylish and comfortable. The amenities were great - the heated floor in the bathroom was pretty special. You couldn't ask for a more beautiful outdoor setting - chairs and a firepit among the big trees. Lots of space between the cabins. The only downside was that the cabin was remarkably small - about the size of a typical motel room. It was pretty chilly when we were there (early March) so we didn't want to sit around outside too much - that made the small interior more of a concern. I've seen complaints about the price - I thought it was pretty fair for the middle of Big Sur. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Great place - We stayed in a little cabin it was brilliant. Clean and modern nice bed, kitchen and bathroom with heated floor. Great experience very quiet, you literally can only hear the stream and wildlife.

Only one slight issue - we were given no instructions for lighting our log fire outside and as this is something we are not experienced in doing ours was a bit of a disaster. I called reception to be greated by a very rude lady who told me to come and collect a fire lighter from her and the reception which you have to drive to. This was around 9pm so by this time we had had a glass of wine and were unable to drive. I told her this and she was annoyed and said she had lots to do but eventually said she would bring a fire lighter. When she did come she was very rude and basically threw the firelighter on the floor, told us to get more wood and left. We then spent the next hour or so walking round in total darkness trying to locate the woodshed and then get the fire lit.

Minus this hour or so we really did have a lovely time!! Great location close to Pffefier Park and beach. My only advice would be to start your fire early!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the Little Sur cabins for two nights last week (March 2012)...granted, our experience was colored by the rain, but overall, the cabin was VERY small...and with no amenities, it seems highly overpriced. We've been traveling the coast for a month, and have found much more relaxing and welcoming places to stay that are just as scenic. Unless you are an avid hiker with alot of extra money to spend, these cabins are not worth the price...save your money, and go on to Carmel or Monterey where, for less money, you can enjoy the beautiful view and have a nice breakfast ...and a MUCH more comfortable bed ! If you are an avid backpacker with $$$ to burn, these designer cabins may be just right for you.

Big Sur is a lovely area, but you will pay the price to stay here...not necessary...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed in a basic motel room, but even their most basic room is close to $200 per night. It may be that the other rooms are better.

The room itself is really an architectual gem. It looks great, and there is much about it that is quite practical as well --- heated floors in the bathroom were well appreciated, for example. Also made use of the wifi. Yoga mats were an interesting addition. Not sure that there was enough room to use them, though.

But there were a few critical niceties missing for such a high-end place:
* No coffee maker in the room.
* No hotel guide in the room. Although the front desk attendant gave us some info when I checked in, I didn't remember it. Why not have instructions (phone usage instructions, etc.) in each room?
* Coffee and tea were available in the lobby, from only from 8am-9pm, and it was often empty.
* Front desk staff were too busy answering the phone. Need to offload that service to someone who is not also manning the desk. It makes me think you care more about your future customers than your current ones.
* Really need a local restaurant guide, especially considering that there are only a few restaurants, not all have menus online, and most are outrageously expensive. After some pressing, the front desk attendant did make a few recommendations, but we ended up eating somewhere else altogether.

In sum, I thought the room was cool, but otherwise this hotel was a bust.

I'm also not sure that I would ever stay in Big Sur again. It would probably be better to stay to the South in Cambria area or to the north in Carmel area. Easy to get to Big Sur from either location and much better dining options.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This place is amazing.
My sister and I booked one of the "Little Sur" cabins with a firepit. It was basically a one-room studio type room, complete with a little fridge, microwave and general kitchen utensils.
We did some wine tasting/purchasing along the way and brought some simple food items to picnic on. Each night we would sit out by the fire. Then we would take showers to wash off the "campfire" smell (in the bathroom with HEATED FLOORS), read, listen to music and sleep in the comfy bed. And do it all again the next night! Every day they would make up our room and restock the firepit.
My sister and I are somewhat outdoorsey people- we love camping, etc. but it was January... so this was the perfect mix of outdoor and pure luxury.
They offer several types of rooms- we checked out a couple of the other options. They are all in these little buildings tucked away over a sprawling redwood property. For what we were looking for this was perfect and I look forward to going there again SOON!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Oaks Big Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Oaks Big Sur

Address: Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as one of the most romantic places to stay, our adobe motor lodge was considered modern in 1957 and 50 years later Glen Oaks Big Sur has a fresh rustic-modern and Green sensibility. Our accommodations consist of 16 Adobe Motor Lodge rooms with cozy gas fireplaces and 10 Cottage/Cabin style rooms with kitchen/kitchenettes and most have access to the Big Sur River. All accommodations have free wireless internet and telephones with free local calls. We are located on Highway One in Big Sur Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Oaks Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Hotel Big Sur
Glen Oaks Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Oaks Big Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.