We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cupertino, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I was astonished to read lukewarm/negative reviews of the PRI, where we have stayed several times for "splurge weekends" and where we sent our married children a few years ago for a pre-baby getaway. Upon our recommendation, close friends also stayed there last year and loved it even though Sierra Mar was closed for renovation. When our daughter is married next fall she and her husband will spend the first two days of their honeymoon there as a respite between wedding and international travel. In our experience, from the minute we drive through the front gate at PRI to the minute we leave, everything is done to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. The completely professional and efficient staff is warm and gracious but never intrusive. The site is simply incomparable. Sierra Mar is pricey but worth every penny. From the complimentary wine and snacks in each room to the chilled bottled water in wooden bins on all the walking trails to the jaw-dropping views from the hot tubs, the experience is exceptional. I appreciate the fact that the architectural footprint on the environment is minimal and that the entire form of the Inn complements the natural serenity of the landscape, which is surely the crown jewel of the California coastline. The rustic elegance of the rooms is just our style. If I would pick one small nit, it is that we have noticed the breatfast buffet is not quite as lavish as it was in earlier visits, probably due to the economic downturn. But it is still beyond bountiful and offers all the choices any reasonable person could expect for a morning meal. Every time we leave Post Ranch Inn we feel replenished. It is the perfect place to renew a weary spirit or celebrate life's blessings.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2010
Dear Friend,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about Post Ranch Inn. We are so happy and grateful that you continue to visit us and, make recommendations on behalf of PRI to your friends and family. I think you will find, when you return, the breakfast at Sierra Mar is more bountiful and lavish than before. We do hope to welcome you back again soon, and look forward to congratulating your daughter and son-in-law when they visit for their honeymoon.
Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    69
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
36
574
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We love staying at this property, it's a very unique and special place!
We have stayed at many top rated properties all over the world and feel there are a few area's that could use improvement to make Post Ranch Inn a truly exceptional place to stay.

The rooms are rustic but charming, the newer rooms they built are more modern and very nice but if you have people below or above you, you can hear them playing their stereo's, etc., which is unpleasant, and for the price you pay you should not have to hear this.

The water pressure in the rooms while taking a shower is weak, it takes a long time to get the shampoo/conditioner out of your hair and we have ran out of hot water many times, this is truly annoying for the price you pay for a room. When we stayed at Ventana Inn, they had a wonderful rain water shower in the room which was really nice and had plenty of hot water.

Restaurant views are breathtaking, but the buffet breakfast food quality is average, except for the omelette and waffle station which was a nice addition. It would be nice to see more variety, and for a small property of this caliber they should offer food items cooked to order. They should extend breakfast time to at least 11 am, many guests are running in to catch the breakfast at the last minute, including us.

They should include more simple food items on the menu for dinner time, they have a wonderful creative menu with very flavorful dishes but for some people who have sensitive stomachs it creates too many digestive issues, also the pace of the dinner can be very slow. The food portions are small for the price and have left us not completely full. Now for some people where money is no object it might not be a problem, but there are people who stay here, who save so they can splurge on the rooms and don't want to spend around $300 for a prix fixe dinner for 2 every night. When we stayed at Bernardus Lodge in Carmel valley, they had good variety of dinner menu selections, better value and larger portions.

From last years experience, the room service menu for dinner time was very limited and way over priced, sometimes we just want to stay in the room and relax and not go out to eat at a Restaurant, but also don't want to feel like we are being over charged if we choose in room dining.

The Bellmen and most of the staff are warm and friendly and it's nice seeing them year after year.
We love staying here and hope to see these improvements in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Dear Friend,

Thank you for taking the time to go into detail about your most recent experience at Post Ranch Inn. These reviews reveal to our managing staff areas that might need improvement because; our number one priority at Post Ranch Inn is to exceed each and every guest’s expectations. We value your opinion, as a frequent guest of Post Ranch, and will ensure that the areas you mentioned above are addressed with each department. There are a couple of thoughts we had however, when taking the time to read through your suggestions.

The south ridge rooms do have a touch of modernism and we tried to keep that same sense of rustic elegance when they were designed. Unfortunately, we don’t have any control over neighboring guests, but would certainly address the situation if brought to our attention during your stay. We apologize if this in any way affected your ability to completely relax and experience the peaceful nature in the surroundings. We hope this wasn’t too bothersome for you. In reference to the water pressure in the rooms, we are restricted by the various county wide regulations to keep our water pressure at a certain level. However, we have looked into various ways we could adjust this through different types of showerheads, as you recommended.

Thank you for the breakfast suggestions. We are sorry you were not told you absolutely can order breakfast items to your liking; we are happy to accomodate you. As well, if you wish to order dinner items a la carte, the chef will be able to increase the proportions appropriately. And, if you wish to have special items prepared that are more suited to your needs, you have only to let us know in advance to discuss any dietary restrictions and we will certainly accomodate them. Our room service now offers a "light dining menu" or you may order any and all items on the nightly dinner menu.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Wow... My husband and I booked a last minute weekend getaway at Post Ranch Inn and can't wait for the opportunity to go back. We booked the Ocean Escape package and stayed in one of the Coast Houses. Even though we had a partial ocean view room, the view was incredible. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were very cozy. The staff kept us very well stocked with firewood and bath salts. The food was outstanding. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant and I can't remember ever having belgian waffles that were as delicious. Everything was delicious! The property was absolutely stunning. From start to finish, Post Ranch Inn delivered an unforgettable, outstanding, and serene setting for a romantic weekend that I would love to revisit someday. Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Dear Friend,
Thank you for sharing the highlights from your weekend at Post Ranch Inn. We are so happy to hear your spontaneous adventure ended in an unforgettable experience with your husband. Your comments about the delicious food and attentive staff are much appreciated by all. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another romantic weekend.
Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I had seen all the reviews, and had always wanted to stay at the Post Ranch Inn...what a mistake. It was the biggest let down. From the rude staff and ageing building/rooms/property, to the arrogant attitude at concierge and unfriendly behavior of security. If they weren't a hotel, and in business, you'd almost think that they almost wanted to keep people away. I would not go back, and would not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Dear Sir,

In the 18 years Post Ranch Inn has been in business, it's rare to have anyone who has stayed here write a review such as yours. Although we are not perfect, your comments about our staff just don't match with what our guests consistently say - that we have the best and most caring staff in the industry. Guest service is our number one priority, which is why Post Ranch consistently receives the highest ratings. We are a small independent hotel company, and we pride ourselves on honesty and passion for what we do.

It would have been helpful if you had told us about these issues at the time they occurred so that we could have addressed them immediately.

Dan Priano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

This is the second time we've stayed here. We're not high rollers, so we stay in one of the Butterfly rooms -- but this place is absolutely gorgeous. Incredible views, rooms, spa, food, grounds -- and service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Dear Friend,
Thank you for taking the time to share your fondness of Post Ranch Inn. We believe no matter which room you stay in, there is something truly special to be found on the entire property. We hope to welcome you back for your third stay soon.
Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Everyone should have an opportunity to experience the Post Ranch Inn at least once in a lifetime.
It is the ultimate in Luxury and Tranqulity. Everything about it is first class starting with transporting you to your villa in Lexis SUV's.
Members of the staff are at your call 24/7.
The views are stunning. Words cannot adequately describe the experience of visiting this world class facility. It is a hidden jewel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Dear Friend,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Post Ranch Inn. We are so happy you were able to experience the ultimate luxury and tranquility that is offered here; both in the natural beauty of the land, and the service provided by all of the employees. Our number one priority is to ensure you have the time of your life. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

The views are stunning and nothing else in the area comes close. The rooms are simple - somewhat rustic - but cosy and not shabby. The dining room is romantic and the food is gourmet but tries a bit too hard at times. There are interesting classes to take for relaxation and fitness (I tried Tai Chi). But this is a terribly overpriced facility for what it offers. There are far more incredible experiences to be had in Asia for half the price. No, that does not include flights... but this is a global market now and I want to see hotels acting accordingly. I posted some photos on Nomadz, if you want to see more.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Dear Friend,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you felt our rates were "overpriced".

Our views are spectacular and we do offer many amenities to our guests which are included in the nightly rate, which you won't find complimentary at other hotels. Free parking, complimentary use of the hotel vehicles, and complimentary shuttle service within the Big Sur Valley. We offer an elaborate buffet style gourmet breakfast in Sierra Mar each morning, a complimentary minibar in room stocked with all organic sodas, juices, cheese, fruit, coffee, tea, fresh cream and sugar, chips, crackers, mixed nuts, cookies and bottled water. We also offer a bottle of red and white wine as a complimentary welcome gift. We offer an array of activities including stargazing, cooking classes, daily yoga, guided hikes, two basking pools, a swimming pool and 100 acres of hiking trails.

All rooms have wood burning fire places, soaking tub for two inside the room, maid service twice daily, turn down service, beds fitted with all organic sheets and pillows. All bathrooms have organic towels, soaps, and toiletries.

We stopped offering Tai Chi approximately 4 years ago.

I hope you do pass on to your friends the incredible experience we offer at Post Ranch and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.