We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Big Sur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Save Saved
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Perfection in Big Sur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I stayed for a night at the Post Ranch Inn and was absolutely amazed at this fantastic property.

The warm welcome by everyone on staff was sincere and friendly and the accommodations are some of the finest I have ever stayed in. The rooms are set 1,000 feet above the Pacific Ocean, and have views looking down the spectacular Big Sur coastline. I was lucky enough to be there on a clear night with a full moon (see photo) and a more incredible experience would be hard to imagine.

My room was a stand-alone house called the Post House -- a 3-bedroom house with full kitchen, dining and living rooms, 2 1/2 baths, 2 outdoor decks, private basking pool, a full fireplace (with wood already prepared for a fire!) and some of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. The Post House overlooks the Big Sur coast. I have attached some photos here.

Dinner at Sierra Mar restaurant was superb, with taste combinations that were surprising and unusual. The chef does an excellent job of providing variations on a theme: I had one course that consisted of scallops prepared in 3 different ways, each with its own taste and texture. Service in the restaurant was absolutely top-notch. The view from the restaurant is unbelievable as well. The full moon rose as I was having dinner, and the waiters pointed it out when it first came up.

My elderly father was with me on this trip, and the fact that the staff will pick you up in a Lexus and drive you anywhere on property was particularly appreciated by him.

I was sorry to have only one night at Post Ranch Inn, but I am sure it is one night that I will remember the rest of my life.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    515
    55
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
29
468
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
benji_kt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

About as good a location as you will ever find a hotel. The whole place is excellent from the rooms to restaurant. It is extremely well done and fits into its location perfectly. The plunge pools are an amazing place to have a glass of champagne whilst watching sunset over the Big Sur.
Romantic, fine food and an unmatched view sum it up perfectly.
For the same money as Ventana Inn this is head and shoulders above it.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

For those who can afford the eye-popping pricetag, there is perhaps no finer destination than the Post Ranch Inn. While its rooms are not up to the standard set by the Ventana Inn, the Post's neighbour across Highway One, its setting is unsurpassed. The Post offers a fantastic restaurant, helpful staff (who are quick to offer weary travelers a glass of champagne upon check-in) and, most of all, a view you will not soon forget.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

The sun was shining, our Mustang "soft top" had been delivered
to our hotel in San Francisco and we were ready for our
Highway 1 costal drive experience.
The drive was fantastic, the road snaking around the coast with lots of photo opportunities at various stops on the way.
4 hours later we arrived at our destination "The Post Ranch Inn" and what a destination stunning in every way.
After a speedy check in and a glass of champagne we were soon relaxing in our fantastic Ocean View Pacific Suite.
The living Room/Bedroom and Bathroom all having glass walls which open onto the hills of the coastline. The king sized bed and wood burning fireplace create a very romantic setting.
With another glass of champagne i headed for a soak in the
whirlpool bath, gazing at the bright orange californian poppies and re creating my garden back home.
Refreshed i was ready for my Sierra Mar experience, the web site describes the restaurant view perfectly "awe-inspiring setting."
The food was also excellent on both our evening visits as was the service.
The complimentary breakfast was also excellent with a wide choice of cereal, fruit and cooked food.

I cant recommend the Post Ranch Inn enough, it was superb in every way and i cant wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

Stayed one night in early Jan 2009. Paid ~$1,700 for the "ocean house" just north of the restaurant.
Man-alive the view is spectacular, breathtaking, and any other superlatives you can think of. It is a SPECIAL property.
We were greeted at the guard gate professionally and told we were expected and to drive up to the office(we were impressed). When we arrived up the hill--no one greeted us. No one told us where to park (or took the car which is what should've occured). I found this quite irksome with the room price in mind. We found our way to the office where pleasant but underachieving desk staff registered us after I explained who we were and what we were doing there :) (do they work with the guard who let us on the property?) They then did a fine job of getting us to our room in short order to view the sunset. THAT WAS KEY AND MADE OUR STAY! The view was unforgettable.
The room was nicer than we expected and actually quite impressive. Well designed with ecologically minded sod roof, perched on the edge of the world. Nicely furnished and neat as a pin. Combination of posh and rustic, lovely fireplace, well appointed bath and DID WE MENTION THE VIEW?! we started a fire and had a lovely evening.
The breakfast (including in room price) was excellent and well prepared (fresh berries, yogurt, eggs, granola, AND A SPECTACULAR VIEW) no complaints.
The only downside was the staff/ ownership. They know about the view ;) and charge for it. But don't expect a 5 star resort experience or service. We encountered either a friendly cluelessness about how to treat guests who paid more than you ever thought you'd pay for a night's stay or were generally ignored. The parking experience was a perfect example, so was tripping over the linens for the next guest set right in front of our room door. And ask a Howard Johnson's level question about some hot cocoa or how to use your phone and you'll be met with blank looks and (again friendly) generalized incompetence.
If one of the best views in the world and being esconced in nature is for you, then they have it here; if you want 5 star/fawning treatment then look elsewhere, they have Days Inn level service.
But all in all we look back at an excellent stay due to the view and the room itself; you just have to decide if you want to spend an obscene amount of money to experience it. We did for a once in a long time (lifetime?) experience.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

...and given the price, our expectations were pretty high. The setting is unmatched and the accomodations are lovely, comfortable and serene. The cost of this hotel probably is impossible for most people to justify, but for a very special occasion or if you can afford it, it really is worth money.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

This was our fifth visit, and I'm glad to say that the service, quality, and attention to detail all remain top-notch. My only problem was that our two-day stay was too short! Many of the staff remembered us from previous visits and could not have been more welcoming. We stayed in one of the newly-constructed Pacific Suites: it was the size of an apartment (about 1000 square feet), with a king size bed, floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the ocean and mountains, wood burning fireplace, huge sitting area with two couches, and all the 21st century amenities like electronically controlled window blinds, a satellite stereo system, and its own private high speed wireless Internet network, not shared with the other rooms.

We've stayed in four different kinds of Post Ranch rooms now (Tree House, Coast House, Ocean House, and Pacific Suite), and found things to love about each. All rooms, regardless of price, have a king-size bed, wood-burning fireplace, spa tub big enough for two, and great views of the mountains. In addition, all of the bathtub areas have huge windows, but are angled so they're totally private. For more money, you get more space, and ocean views cost $1100/night and up.

One complaint I see on occasion from other reviews on this site is the noise from other guests on upper floor rooms. We've never stayed on a lower floor of any of the duplex rooms, and would probably not do so.

All rooms also have a minibar with free restocking of snacks and nonalcoholic beverages upon request. We ran out of diet Coke one afternoon and they quickly brought up more when we phoned, at no charge. You won't get dinged $8 for a chocolate bar here. There's also a huge free gourmet hot breakfast buffet every morning, and the experience of sitting in the Sierra Mar restaurant watching the sun come up over the mountains while devouring a well-prepared eggs Benedict is unforgettable.

The Post Ranch is certainly expensive for most budgets, but we've fallen in love with the land, the views, the architecture, and the service. We look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur
Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.