We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories for a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
SA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Memories for a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have wanted to stay here for 20 years......and finally we splurged and did it.
Post Ranch Inn's location is simply stunning.
We were greeted with champagne upon checkin in main house. We stayed in the butterfly house and felt like we were staying in our own little romantic treehouse, rustic luxe. The beds were super comfy, especially with the fire crackling at night. Fabulous well stocked minibar with artisan snacks, cheese, wine,etc.
The breakfast spread at Sierra Mar includes just about anything you'd want....and if it wasn't on display, they'll make whatever you want. The homemade scones were delicious!
We spent our days hiking on and off property and relaxing by the gorgeous infinity edge pool with ocean views. It's very small and intimate.
Service, including all of the Lexus trips around Big Sur, were a nice plus.
Yoga classes were okay, intended for all levels. Spa treatments, especially the natural facials, were relaxing and quaint.

Sierra Mar is a beautiful restaurant and very romantic to watch sunset. Food was pretty good but not our favorite in Big Sur. I would highly recommend getting a reservation at Big Sur Bakery and restaurant. They have absolutely delicious food! We also liked our dinner at Deetjen's.

I will always remember our romantic stay here and look forward to returning some day (maybe we will splurge for an ocean front room).
Be ready to relax and enjoy the laid back Big Sur stunning setting!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    74
    40
    15
    17
See reviews for
40
644
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We splurged on two nights here and I'm really glad we did. I won't spend ages repeating what others have said but I can confirm that the views are spectacular, the room (we had an upper coast house) was beautiful and the staff were lovely and helpful. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but we did have the breakfast and ordered some room service. We're not big cooked breakfast fans so it was great that the pastry, fruit and granola selection was brilliant, quite often that's an afterthought to the cooked breakfast even in good hotels. The room service ended up arriving a little late because the was some sort of confusion (that I still don't quite understand) but they were very apologetic when it got to us and it was still warm and tasted great. We spent loads of time walking round the grounds and saw deer and wild birds, and the infinity pools are beautiful.

The best thing for me was the attention to detail: at the time of booking they ask if it's special occasion and we said it was our honeymoon. When we arrived they gave us a little congratulation card, with a half bottle of champagne. But more importantly each time we spoke with a different member of staff in reception they mentioned it and said congratulations. They're only little things but it makes a real difference to a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Fantastic concept and amazing inn! The infinity pool is breathtaking especially when the fog rolls in and you feel like you are all alone in the clouds! It was bit cooler than we expected but the room felt totally safe and cozy. The restaurant was super and the staff was great too! It was definitely worth the effort and money. I love this place and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a piece of heaven. The little cabanas are so pretty, some have an ocean view while others have a view of the beautiful forest, they are all extremely well decorated in a traditional style and very clean (ours also had a fireplace facing the bed). The attention to details in this hotel truly makes the difference: from the little gifts in the bedrooms to the complementary champagne, wine bottles and snacks in the mini bar... Everything is made to make you feel spoiled. The heated infinity pools offer a breathtaking view, the forest trail is not to miss and the food at the hotel restaurant is delicious. This hotel is just perfect! It's definitely on the pricey side but it it is worth every penny in my opinion!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury wiltshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Traveled from the Napa Valley to LA, and spent 2 nights at the South Coast House.
Not cheap, at $2500 per night, but well worth it. Check in was really slick and professional, transporting us to our house using the hotels fleet of Lexus SUV's.
The house was amazing, a well stocked fridge on our arrival, and a superb demonstration from the staff, of how our temporary high tech home worked.
Nothing was too much trouble, and although the Ranch is spread out, while at the pool, if you fancy a drink, you pick up the phone, and its delivered via the Lexus within a few minutes.
The views are absolutely amazing.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms in the house are both exceptional, but up stairs has a bath looking out over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Depends where you stay in the compound. Much to commend it, nevertheless no escaping the fact that overall this looks like an attempt to upgrade a former boy scout camp in the woods by adding all the touches one can think of, if one were to be in Monte Carlo. But you are not. You are in the woods, albeit with the same great view you have experienced gratis all the way along the highway to Big Sur. But the trouble with attempts to upgrade camps in the 'woods' is that no one tells the bugs they are to behave accordingly. I had a small bark scorpion crawling up my arm which I brushed off at speed when it woke me at 6am. [ I still have a photograph of it taken on the bed sheets. ] To paraphrase VP Cheney 'A boy scout camp with lipstick is still a boy scout camp'.
It has some smart bungalows added to the front. Excellent, no doubt, if you rent one of these but the back of them represent your view if you are one row back from them - as we were in the 'butterfly' cabin over the staff quarters and work place - which is sited incorrectly bang in the middle of the row of the guest cabins instead of being kept well away.
Breakfast is very good but dinner is served in a dining room so dark that it was impossible to see the food. We have eaten in supposed 'atmospheric romantic darkened restaurants' world wide but have never seen - or failed to 'see' - anything to combat this. The food, from what we could sense, was beyond terrible and this was acknowledged by them. This, however can happen in the best of hotels from time to time, and if and when this happens we do not as a rule ask that the cost be credited to our account. We believe to do so has the effect of rendering the complaint suspect.
The swimming pool is in a field about 600 yards away at the bottom of a hill. [ Never saw anyone use it.] This then is a bad review but of course subjective. Many people appear to love it although there is a view that it's not as good as it used to be. [ But as Orson Welles once said when being asked if the above mentioned Monte Carlo is as good as it used to be replied " Dear lady...nowhere is as good as it used to be."] But hotels worldwide are certainly better than they used to be, hence this one needs serious attention.
As said then - it surely all 'depends': Were you to book one of the cabins overlooking the sea then you have indeed booked something hard to beat - anywhere. But other than that, whoa.
And woe.

Room Tip: Front cabins only. ONLY!
See more room tips
Green Features: I would have thought them to be very good. I have read what the hotel has to say on the subject and would not disagree.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I will preface this review by saying that I have many excellent stays here. This was my 8th time staying here and it was disappointing this time. I will list the good and bad. Check in was backed up but the staff were nice-the additional rooms have created longer wait times. The Guy that took us to our room was really nice and remebered Us. We spent the first night in an upper butterfly room that had soiled carpet and cobwebs in the vaulted ceiling. There was a funky smell by the wet bar and the room was outdated and in dire need of a renovation. The bed was very comfortable though. The second room was a Tree House which also had soiled carpet and uncomfortable chairs. The bed was hard as a rock and we had to have a mattress topper put on it. The room was more updated and better maintained than the Butterfly but less comfortable overall. Both rooms had amazing drinks and snacks that were included in the rate which was nice. The soap and shampoo pumps had nice products but they are a harbor for germs-recyclable individual containers would have been much nicer. I was given bar soap when I requested it. The small stainless steel hot tub at the north end of the property had milky water and was unappealing. The Jade pool and lap pool were nicer than ever. Breakfast was great and the food was better than ever but once again the additional rooms have created longer wait times. The nature walk that used to be amazing and extensive when Billy Post led it has become short and unencompassing. The new rooms at the south end look very nice but are less rustic and more mainstream. The staff were very nice and provided great service, but everything here feels very corporate these days. I was longing for the homey old days with less rooms and people. I had trouble writing this but I need to be honest. The location and views are still astounding. But at the high prices here things should be close to perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.