We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
CT
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

There is no doubt that when you get the bill after your stay here you'll do a double take. But after a brief moment of surprise, you'll no doubt say to yourself it was well worth it. That's assuming, of course, that you want to go somewhere where you feel like you're in your own private sanctuary. That's because, no matter how full the rooms are here, you always feel like you have the whole place to yourself. The rooms are one-of-a-kind, with an awesome view. The service is impeccable. And the restaurant and experience you won't soon forget. My wife and I went here to reconnect after so many years of raising kids and not having time to ourselves. Mission accomplished. If I have only one forewarning it is this: The view from our room was spectacular. However. for three of the four days we were there, it was shrouded in fog. At the altitude you're at, facing the ocean, it wasn't surprising. But when you're paying so much, and looking so forward to it, it took a bit of time to get past the disappoint and enjoy our stay nonetheless. So go prepared that it may happen to you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upper coast panoramic view room. It was very private, well maintained, and the fire...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything this hotel does is environmentally-friendly. Though you're in a first-class room with first-class service, you feel nothing about the environment/location has been negatively altered.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    69
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
36
574
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Coming from the midwest (Chicago), driving up the California coast is a beauty of its own to see. One wouldn't imagine that the most spectacular part of the coast would be a hotel nestled inside mother nature's mountains just at the edge of the coast overlooking the Pacific Ocean. I was worried about not having a lot to do in the middle of Big Sur since I am not an experienced long distance hiker/climber, but you really don't have to stray from the hotel grounds. There is just so much beauty everywhere, from the hotel restaurant to the guest rooms. And by rooms I mean either suites perched cliffside hundreds of feet above the ocean, or tree houses (where we stayed) surrounded by mountain views and wildlife, with wood burning fireplaces and fully stocked minibars (without alcohol) with fresh juices and homemade chocolate chip cookies. We also saw a few celebrities when we were there. I can see why they go there because it's not stuffy at all, very low key yet it's 5 stars in every single way. The staff was attentive and friendly, and were helpful with recommendations. This is a unique experience that even if you are not that outdoorsy of a person, you will still love this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I went to the Post Ranch Inn for our "mini-moon" in June. I was so incredibly excited. I booked the "romance" package months early. It was to include 3 nights stay in a tree house, two dinners, two massages and champagne in our room. We arrived to a misty day which I could not have been happier with. Our room wasn't ready so we headed to the restaurant for a boozy lunch. It was spectacular. Between the food, the views and wine parings, we were in heaven.

Then we got to our tree house. I have stayed all over the world in the fanciest of hotels and in some of the cheapest, but at over $1000 a night my expectations were not surprisingly very high. And the only word to describe this tree house was "meh." It just looked like it needed a redo. The carpet was dingy, the sheets on the bed were moderately soft (again, $1000 per night I want to melt into Egyptian cotton), the robes they provide were very old and the slippers were clearly used with someone else's foot indents. The bathroom just looked old and not in fun rustic way. There's a way to do rustic and elegance and this was all rustic with no elegance. The tree house did have charming points - it felt very secluded, had huge windows surrounded by trees and a deck that deer came up to (at a safe distance). But again, at that price I want LUXE. What we did get was a great relaxing getaway which was most important. The mini bar in the room is gratis which is a great touch. And again, the restaurant was really out of this world.

But at that price they simply must upgrade their rooms and amenities. As is, I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

As others have said the setting is spectacular and all the staff we interacted with were friendly and professional. We did not spring for one of the most expensive rooms, thinking $1350 a night should get us something pretty special, but it didn't. The shower was part of the sunken tub, so difficult to get and out of for my wife who is short, and there was no door between the living area and the tub that seemed odd. Lighting in the room wasn't great either, and the leather couch in front of the fireplace was uncomfortable. Frankly this room was on the low end of place we've stayed for equivalent pricing.

Our dinner at Sierra Mar was the four course prix fixe (if a la carte was available it would be a nice touch) and $120 each. There was no Pinot Grigio, which surprised us, as did the high cost of the wines. The setting was lovely and the service was excellent, and was most of the food. A corn soup, sautéed duck liver and chocolate dessert were outstanding. That said,, a good piece of ahi tuna doesn't have the sinews that my wife's piece had, and my wild boar was bland. With a tab of almost $400 with no cocktails and one bottle of their least expensive wine it didn't feel like a great value, despite some excellent food.

So we have mixed feelings about this place. Kudos to the staff, but not sure the overall experience is in sync with the expense.

Green Features: This seems to be a priority which is great. The garden is organic and was fun to tour.
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I don't even know where to start - Post Ranch Inn is the PERFECT place to get away from it all and have a relaxing, romantic vacation. We stayed in the lower coast house, which was perfect for us and had a magnificent view. The food at Sierra Mar was heavenly. The infinity and meditation pools were heavenly. The yoga was wonderful and relaxing. The staff was very helpful and nice. The complimentary snacks and wine that they leave for you in your room is such a nice treat. The hot tub overlooking the ocean was blissful. I cannot say anything bad about this place. If you love to relax and do good things for your body and soul, then put this on your bucket list! My husband and I are still daydreaming about it!

Room Tip: Lower Coast House is a great option. Butterfly is good if you want to pay the lowest price but stil...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love that they have recycle bins in all the rooms!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for an october weekend. The Post Ranch Inn is not cheap. In fact, its pretty expensive. Its not easy to get to. In fact its quite a long trek...especially when coming from New Jersey via SFO. But, The Post Ranch Inn is worth every dollar, every minute and every mile. The location is just unbelieveable. The Staff is attentive without being obnoxiously pretentious. We stayed in a Upper Floor Coast House. It was incredible. The ocean view, the sound of the waves, the wood buring fireplace were all just perfect. This hotel is not some chic, modern luxury place. So if your looking for the Bellagio or the SLS, this isnt it. Its old school... but well maintained and spotless. Its quiet and romantic. An ocean front room here should be on your bucket list. Id recommend this hotel to even the most spoiled traveller.

Room Tip: if you can swing it... get an oceanfront room... the views and sounds of the ocean are incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

To our significant chagrin (to use the term of the general manager), we were unimpressed by how management handled our concerns at the property. We stayed for three nights in late September, and had issues with cleanliness in our room, along with general dissatisfaction with several breakfast meals at the on-property restaurant. The management is highly defensive and curt when guests report dissatisfaction, almost as if we had nerve to induce "chagrin" onto them. I recommend spending equal money and relaxing in the extraordinarily luxurious Lodge at Pebble Beach just up Highway 1 for a true five star luxury experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear friend,

We appreciate you took the time to review your experience at Post Ranch and we were distressed to learn about the shortcomings during your stay. We can reassure you the person you spoke with had no intentions to sound curt and defensive.

It is our intent to have our guest depart with a relaxed and satisfied feeling, especially if there has been a complication. We are sorry the apology was perceived as defensive. Please be assured we take all guest concerns to heart and they are shared with our managers in order to make corrections.

If you like to further discuss this situation further, please contact me personally.

Warm regards,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.