We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking in so many ways....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Post Ranch Inn
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York, New york
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Breathtaking in so many ways....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Post Ranch doesn't need another review to tout its spectacular scenery, the fantastic grounds and its infinity pools/hot tubs. It does merit noting that everyone on the staff from Freddy at reception, Luis who drove us to the room, the helpful waitstaff (Sammy and Simone), and the cleaning staff were all stellar. Everyone was friendly and accommodating.
On a bit less positive note....The restaurant menu at lunch and dinner only presents a prix fix menu but the staff was MORE than willing to serve a la carte. Though they were willing, it seems a little awkward and unnecessary to have to ask. The meals were lovely but not all of us chooses to eat 3 courses in this era of "portion control". How about one sentence stating that a la carte is available upon request....? That would be my only complaint and a minor one.
Finally I must say that after hearing a great deal about this hotel, it lives up to its reputation.....Very special !!!!

Room Tip: I loved facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    74
    40
    15
    17
See reviews for
40
643
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is my favorite hotel on Earth. It is cozy yet elegant. It is peaceful and beautiful. The service is unparalleled. It is expensive, but it's worth it. We go there every year, and we always have an amazing time. I recommend renting a treehouse!

Room Tip: Rent a treehouse!
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is very "green." It's one of the things I love about it.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Post Ranch Inn is an amazing destination with first class customer service. And yes, expensive indeed. We stayed in a tree house that had great gulf views, amazing privacy, and amenities that included a full fridge restocked everyday with wine/cheese/snacks. We never left the resort, spent quite a bit of time in the infinity "hot" pools, hiking on the trails, and saving room for a great gourmet breakfast in the morning. The inn's restaurant has incredible 360' views of the ocean. This place is an adult escape-- I don't think they even allow children on site. You are whisked to your room in a Lexus and never have to touch your car keys once you arrive. Our tree house had a great wood burning fireplace and soaking tub. The Inn offers some interesting "spa" services such as Shaman sessions and fire rituals. Why not??!! First class, one of a kind, bucket list entry. Great place to have your soul get some rest and rejuvenate.

Room Tip: The Little house has a great balcony looking out to the mountains, the Hathaway treehouse has great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

we stayed for 5 nights in the Ocean house located directly on the cliff, 800 feet above the Pacific. Incredible views, Incredible service, and exquisite gourmet dishes coupled with a great wine selection. I would recommend it to anyone who can afford it---very expensive, yet the most romantic hotel in the continuous 48 states!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean House
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

There seems to be a common theme running here. We booked the Cliff house SPECIFICALLY three months in advance. Bear in mind that the Post Ranch Inn shows and SPECIFICALLY prices their upper end accommodations - such as the Cliff House. It has a unique and SPECIFIC rate. The confirmation they sent us SPECIFICALLY showed the Cliff House. Upon our arrival and greeting us with smiles as they sat us down at the reception desk they proceeded to tell us that the Cliff House was not available. They stated that the current guest had decided to stay longer and that they had assigned us to another suite on property. I told them that was unacceptable, at which point they brought down the general manager who proceeded to tell us that there was nothing he could do and rambled on and on about needing to accommodate the other party. When I pointed out that we were the ones not being accommodated and pressed the issue he became obviously angry. He eventually had to release the Cliff House to us as he had no legal leg to stand on - all those SPECIFICS mentioned earlier. Unfortunately, it pretty much ruined what should have been a wonderful experience.

We have stayed in hotels all over the world including hots ranked in the top 10 in the world and have never experienced this before. Also, in those cases we have been asked to initial when our check out date is acknowledging that we have the property until that date.

It became apparent that there was much more at work here. Whether it was infatuation with celebrity status on the GMs part or some other unknown factor, it doesn't speak well for the reputation of this property. It certainly cannot be considered world class with the current management structure.

I should hope that the current owners of the Post Ranch Inn take note of these reviews as there seems to be a trend here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Post Ranch is one of the most expensive hotels that we have ever stayed in. The dinner was over priced & the staff seemed put off because we did not want to spend $250.00 on a bottle of wine. We stayed in a Tree House room & it just didn't work for us. They are a weird design, have very dated finishes & furnishings & seemed more like a gimmick than a unique idea. On the other hand, the staff & location are incredible.

Room Tip: Spring for an ocean view but don't eat dinner there. Save your $500.00 for dinner without the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spectacular views, we stayed for one night on our way to santa barbara. Extremely pricey but the room was amazing. Room did smell a bit like smoke, but thats to be expected with a fireplace in the room I guess, and it did contribute to the "camping" feel of it. We had a wonderful experience with the staff at the hotel and even got a couples massage in the room. They have a fleet of hybrid lexus RX's to shuttle people to and from their rooms which was cool. Our only complaint was the restaurant..WAY overpriced and the hostess seemed bothered when we asked to move to a table closer to the window, it was our honeymoon!! (restaurant view is pretty amazing). Don't get me wrong the food was delicious, but the prices cannot be justified in my opinion. There was a $120 tasting menu, or you could order a la carte but each appetizer was $28 and the main dishes were $55 (it was the best chicken i think i've had...but for $55 I expect the best chicken i've ever had)

Room Tip: do more than one day at this place to really enjoy the area and surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.