We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Week on Hwy One” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Save Saved
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Anniversary Week on Hwy One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Post Ranch is one of the most expensive hotels that we have ever stayed in. The dinner was over priced & the staff seemed put off because we did not want to spend $250.00 on a bottle of wine. We stayed in a Tree House room & it just didn't work for us. They are a weird design, have very dated finishes & furnishings & seemed more like a gimmick than a unique idea. On the other hand, the staff & location are incredible.

Room Tip: Spring for an ocean view but don't eat dinner there. Save your $500.00 for dinner without the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    61
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
32
524
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spectacular views, we stayed for one night on our way to santa barbara. Extremely pricey but the room was amazing. Room did smell a bit like smoke, but thats to be expected with a fireplace in the room I guess, and it did contribute to the "camping" feel of it. We had a wonderful experience with the staff at the hotel and even got a couples massage in the room. They have a fleet of hybrid lexus RX's to shuttle people to and from their rooms which was cool. Our only complaint was the restaurant..WAY overpriced and the hostess seemed bothered when we asked to move to a table closer to the window, it was our honeymoon!! (restaurant view is pretty amazing). Don't get me wrong the food was delicious, but the prices cannot be justified in my opinion. There was a $120 tasting menu, or you could order a la carte but each appetizer was $28 and the main dishes were $55 (it was the best chicken i think i've had...but for $55 I expect the best chicken i've ever had)

Room Tip: do more than one day at this place to really enjoy the area and surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you were to read my review of my last stay at Post Ranch you would no doubt have an idea that this hotel was held in high regard by my partner and I. Unfortunately on this occasion I cannot share the same thoughts.

With busy schedules we often have to plan such holidays well in advance. This was no exception, as we reserved our favourite room at Post Ranch 10 months in advance.

However, a few weeks before we were due to travel, we received quite an impersonal and falsely apologetic email from a member of staff telling us that due to the hotel being block booked by an individual that they could no longer accommodate us on our last night. They did however offer to compensate us with one complimentary night and dinner. After an email detailing our disappointment they offered to pay for us to stay in another hotel on the night we had to move.

The member of staff would not even take responsibility, instead blaming it on a management decision. Why therefore did a member of management not contact us personally ?

Upon our arrival there was no mention or note of our inconvenience and we spent our entire time there feeling unwelcome.

Upon checkout we were charged for the complimentary nights stay and dinner and had to embarrass ourselves further by asking for this to be rectified. This is very poor service from a hotel which sets itself out to be so much more. I did not feel that we ever received a genuine apology. Sometimes in hospitality it is the small but genuine efforts that are made to rectify problems that affects the customer experience.

The hotel itself was, as it always is, beautiful, peaceful, calm and relaxing. If not for our experience from the outset we would have done just so. I note the modernisation of the fireplace and the air conditioning.

The food offered in Sierra Mar is not what it used to be. It is placed at a very high price point but does not meet such standards. On one evening I ordered a beet dish which came with a large slice of orange rind which should never have made it to the plate. My dessert for this meal was nothing more than a small piece of almond tart with an inset raspberry and a scoop of sorbet. This is first week in pastry school kind of fare and not to be found on a $120 set course menu. How could chef let such things leave his kitchen ?

Overall I have rated Post Ranch, this time, on wether I would return. But this I feel was our third and final stay here.

It is a long way to travel from Ireland to be told there is no more room at the Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay. I would like to express my sincere apology and I regret your experience did not live up to your previous visit.

We understand this was a very rare situation and for over two decades we have demonstrated our value for every past, current, and potential guest in every opportunity possible. It was my understanding we made an authentic effort to remedy this unusual situation as we’re aware of the stress and disruption this may have caused you. Well before your arrival date, our Reservations Manager, offered you an apology, a complimentary night stay as well as dinner for two and accommodations in Beverly Hills prior to your departure back home.

I am grateful you chose Post Ranch as your destination for your most recent vacation and we would appreciate an opportunity to redefine this last nonconforming visit and gain back your loyalty. I will reach out to you privately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I reserved the Cliff House at the Post Ranch Inn 3 months in advance of our trip in an attempt to take my wife on a special vacation as we had just finished a hard season of work on our farm.They advertise this as their one of a kind premium accommodation. We had to do a lot of time juggling to build our trip from Florida to Big Sur Ca to fit the dwellings availability. Because it was such a long trip across country I confirmed the reservation 3 times. Once a month including one last confirmation on the day we left to go to California which was the day before our stay was to start.

When we got there to check in no one was at the office but the bell staff. They sat us down offered us drinks and said there was a small problem. The problem was that they said the ex CEO of Facebook Sean Parker bought up all the rooms in Big Sur at a premium for a $10,000,000. Wedding he was having there and that they sold our reservation.

They then offered us a completely different accommodation for the returning guest discount which adds up to not much. Even if free we came for the specific purpose of staying in the accommodation we reserved and confirmed. The representative asked if we watched TMZ and if We did we would have seen this coming. No one from management would see us or talk to us in person or by phone. The person we spoke to said the wedding was all the buzz in Big Sur which to me added insult to injury as it became apparent that they knew all along we weren't getting the room we confirmed.

So we left as we felt we had no other options. Needless to say all of Big Sur was booked due to this "happening" so we ended up with no place to stay.

Room Tip: Can't really say as we didn't get to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear

Thank you for sharing your experience. It was during Bill, Luci and Mary Post’s lifetime that the inn was conceived; this was after a century as a working cattle ranch. It was the Post’s beliefs to welcome all guests with the warmest of feelings and gracious hospitality, which they modeled for all of our employees to follow. Although they are no longer here with us, their wishes remain as our guideline. I apologize such a level of hospitality was not offered to you.

We regret your experience was so disappointing as it was never our intention to ruin your vacation. Thank you for acknowledging our attempt to remedy the situation. Nonetheless, our actions were regrettable and please know your experience and the way the situation was handled is not being taken lightly at any level. We have not lost sight of why the Post Ranch Inn has been here and will be for years to come; our guests. This instance is not consistent with the service on which we pride ourselves in. Although we cannot change the past, we hope these humble but sincere words help with the healing process. We would like to invite you back so may have the true ‘guest experience’ here at the Ranch.

With warm wishes,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleview, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband of 38 years planned a trip to this hotel as a gift to me. He book the cliff house room. This is suppose to be the best room in the hotel. After confirming this three times over the months leading up to it. Even calling on Saturday June 1st and was told yes everything was fine. Knowing at that time that the room was giving to a guest of Sean Parker's wedding. Because he bought out Big Sur for 10 million dollars ! After flying from Florida and driving down from San Francisco we were offered a different room at a returning guest rate! Then told our room would be ready the last night of our stay. Not one manager came to talk to us they left it to the young man at reception to tell us. I would not recommend this hotel because they lied to us for months and right up to two days before our stay. Know that the wedding was already taking place. So money means more to the Post Ranch Inn than there guest!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. It was during Bill, Luci and Mary Post’s lifetime that the inn was conceived; this was after a century as a working cattle ranch. It was the Post’s beliefs to welcome all guests with the warmest of feelings and gracious hospitality, which they modeled for all of our employees to follow. Although they are no longer here with us, their wishes remain as our guideline. I apologize such a level of hospitality was not offered to you.

We regret your experience was so disappointing as it was never our intention to ruin your vacation. Thank you for acknowledging our attempt to remedy the situation. Nonetheless, our actions were regrettable and please know your experience and the way the situation was handled is not being taken lightly at any level. We have not lost sight of why the Post Ranch Inn has been here and will be for years to come; our guests. This instance is not consistent with the service on which we pride ourselves in. Although we cannot change the past, we hope these humble but sincere words help with the healing process. We would like to invite you back so may have the true ‘guest experience’ here at the Ranch.

With warm wishes,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was a HUGE treat and we weren't let down. Despite it being very pricey we really felt we got our money's worth (!) - heavenly infinity hot tubs, roaring fires in the rooms, the softest linen you could imagine, an amazing picnic dinner assembled from the complementary food and drink in the fridge in the room, stunning sunsets with the complementary wine, beautiful trails and an absolutely delicious breakfast. The only slight let down was the army of Lexus vehicles driving around the site....something more modest would look so much better! All in all, the perfect over night romantic treat. We loved it!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

So I can't afford to stay here because its super expensive, but I did go for lunch and just have to say the food is incredible. So incredible that I didn't want to eat for the rest of the day. The view from the restaurant is stunning as it is cantilevered over a cliff looking out at the ocean. We wandered around the grounds a little and the place is unique. If you want to experience the California coast in all its awesome beauty then treat yourself to spending a little while right here. You won't be disappointed, and the memory will last long after you leave.

Room Tip: Treehouses just looke dincredibel, but I would go for a room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.