We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It is a great hotel inside a gorgeous property! The rooms are really great (I stayed in an Ocean House and highly recommend it!), spacious and cozy, with good amenities and breath-taking views! The restaurant is delicious! And staff is really nice. My only complaint is that they didn't tell us that the road was closed (we were going up the highway 1, and the GPS and Google maps didn't have that information). So when we were close to the hotel we had to come back take another way, which took us 4 hours more! I was really sad because we lost the amazing sunset that day (our only day in Big Sur)…

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    74
    40
    15
    17
See reviews for
39
632
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our recent stay at the Post Ranch Inn was perfect in every way....the service, the room and the overall ambiance of the hotel. We needed a place to "chill out" and Post Ranch met our expectations in every way.

The excellent service began when we were whisked up to our room on the ridge in a hotel Lexus. They take your car at check-in and you don't see it again until it appears at check-out. Everything you could possibly need or want at the hotel is within walking distance of the rooms.

We stayed in a Pacific Suite which was perfect, to say the least. It had a gorgeous view of the ocean which we took full advantage of especially while in the spa tub on the terrace. We even slept with the sun shades open all the way. Every possible need was met as well with extra touches like the ready to light fireplace (came in handy on one foggy night) and the complimentary "honors" bar which included many snacks, a bottle of wine and non-alcoholic drinks (I especially liked the healthy pear juice and oh yes, the chocolate covered almonds) and the comfy robe and slippers. After a stressful couple weeks at work, we were in full relaxation mode almost immediately. The peaceful atmosphere of the room and grounds seriously make you feel like you're in a spa 24/7! The actual spa was closed for renovation while we were there (I think it's open now) but the therapist came to our room and seriously, it was the best massage I have ever had....no exaggeration.

Walking around the property, we were struck at how beautiful the surroundings were and how the rooms seemed to blend seamlessly into the environment. We've stayed a lot of places but I don't think we've stayed at a place as unique as this. There are two large infinity spa pools (and of course a regular swimming pool) for guests and we especially liked the bar/food menus along with a phone at each one of those pools in case you were ever in need of more food or drinks. Nice touch!

The dining room/bar is very comfortable and has floor to ceiling windows to fully take in the view. I think we sat at breakfast for 2 hours taking it all in. The hot complimentary breakfast is the best offering a lot of different things (my husband loved his fresh fruit, omelette and the bacon cooked perfectly!) but I loved the little special additions like the mini crispy potato pancakes topped with smoked sturgeon and an edible flower ....yummy!
Our dinner there was very good as well. My husband is a picky eater and the friendly excellent accommodated his every request. We left dinner happy and satisfied and walked out to gasp at how many stars we could see in the clear sky. It was as if we had a personal planetarium show being up on that ridge without really any lights. It was just breathtaking...a perfect cap to a perfect evening.

We took advantage of the guided nature walk one morning and when we return I think we'll do some hiking on our own. We were so happy being on our terrace soaking in the view that we didn't have enough time to do everything!

If you want to combine luxury with the ability to be casually dressed, natural beauty and throw in great service, then this place is for you. I've never written a review before, but we were so happy that I wanted to share it with others.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel lives up to its reputation as one of the best. It's unique and has spectacular views. We stayed in a treehouse which was wonderful. On one side, the ocean; on the other, a terrace facing the mountains. The rooms were quiet and private. A great couples retreat. The staff was courteous and drove us to local restaurants. The massage by Anna was one of the best ever. Breakfast buffet included.
The restaurant food was good but very pricey, even at these rates. The menu limited. No need to feel compelled to eat at the restaurant. There are plenty of good ones in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the Boronda room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

When I worked with American Express Financial Advisors they exposed Nita and me to the best of travel, the best of food and the best of service. It's been something DSCN0476that we've been reluctant to give up, so on occasion we seek out the "best" and count the occasions as some of our "best memories". We experienced another one of those special places with our visit to the Post Ranch Inn at Big Sur. The Post Ranch Inn is a 1200 acre facility with a Pacific Ocean view consisting of only 39 units. It's breathtaking in all respects

Our room/cottage came with an ocean view patio, fireplace, magnificent bathroom, all built into the side of a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, while offering total privacy. There is no reason to lower the blinds. You shower with a view of the Pacific, you dress with a view of the Pacific, you sleep with a view of the Pacific, and you enjoy each other with a view of the Pacific.

The idea is to relax, to chiDSCN0477ll. Morning starts with a Yoga Class followed by a dip in an infinity pool 1200 feet above the Pacific Ocean, followed by a complementary breakfast in the Sierra Mar Restaurant which is some how suspended off the side of a cliff above the Pacific Ocean.

The days activities consist of hiking the grounds, swimming in the pool, soaking in the two infinity hot tubs (kept at 102 degrees), reading a book or visiting the shops in near by Carmel. The evening is highlighted with a visit to a five star restaurant that doesn't serve food but specializes in what I call "food art" - the blending of taste, texture, and color into a presentation that excites the eye, the pallet and the nose to a dinning high.

I had a King Salmon dish that enhanced the natural flavor of King Salmon with basil, artichoke, and tarragon educing an explosion of both pallet and sense of smell resulting in a level of DSCN0516satisfaction that I'd never experienced with King Salmon. My evening was caped with the mixing of a good Pinot Noir and a chocolate desert; if you've never done this treat yourself to a legal drug rush.

The staff at The Post Ranch are eager to fulfill your every desire. "Would you like to use one of our Lexus convertibles to drive into Carmel?" "Let me fill your wood bin so that you won't run out of wood for your fireplace" or "The contents of your mini bar are compliments of The Post Ranch."

They offer full Spa services and the only TV on the property is in the library, you have to relax.

We ended our California vacation with a day in the "1% Club".

The fire's burning down in our fireplace over the Pacific, it's approaching midnight and tomorrow requires a step back into my world, but I'll remember the time I've spent here.

www.Grinkmeyer.com

Room Tip: get your Klout Score up and you might get an Upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We absolutely loved our experience here.This is the most unique and special place we have ever been! It was so beautiful and relaxing we did not want to leave. It is magical. The stunning location, excellent food and service is unsurpassable. The people that work here are so kind and so helpful too, they made our event even more sweet and special! We loved it and want to return! It is soooo beautiful one cannot describe ..you must go see for yourself! It is unforgettable!!!!

Green Features: amazing architecture and very and most environmentally friendly we have ever been. The earth smiles here with love! Truly special!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

After running the Big Sur International Marathon we decided to treat ourselves to three nights at the Post Ranch Inn. We were not disappointed. This is an exceptional hotel. Go for the architecture if not for the pampering. Relax in one of the two hot pools overlooking the ocean. Every single staff member that we encountered during our time at the Post Ranch Inn was friendly and super helpful. We had amazing massages at the Spa. We had looked at a few reviews that were negative about the food at the Sierra Mar Restaurant. We thought the food was amazing. Every dish we ordered was delicious and high quality. We liked that portion size was not overly large. For me I think the highlight of the three days at the Inn was the time I spent in the garden just looking at all the amazing flowers, plants, fruit and vegetables that the gardener was producing for the Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am the CEO of multiple companies in Hawaii and i was amazed at the serenity and placement of this boutique hotel in Big Sur..started by the Post Family ....I was looking for a place to celebrate our 34th anniversary..and had decided in the Post Ranch Inn......It generally takes me a bit to wind down.....but i was intrigued with how quickly i had dialed down!

Ocean views were phenomenal!...The architecture of wood, glass and steel...blending in to the natural environment like a symphony!...The service is impeccable.....it is almost as if the servicing of the clients and units ... they read your mind! ....

Even when fully occupied......it was like having a "place of heaven" to ourselves.... my wife and i felt "at peace" very quickly.....from the fireplace with "real wood" .... to no "TV" ... experiencing nature at its finest...from Deers we encountered on our hikes, to seeing a pod of killer whales, sperm whales and porpoises, hawks...and all this from a distance we could fully enjoy..
example ... to see the whites of the Flukes and their full bodies of the whales below is pretty up close....

Food......amazing...dinners ...just right in portion......had a eclectic and complex flavours which my wife and i relished in.....everynite a surprise!..... and the buffet with its incredible detail to presentation and taste .... in all... a culinary delite!!!.....to the Chef and his restaurant definitely punctuate...the Post Ranch Inn Experience......AMAZING!!

Post Ranch Inn....We will defintely be coming back...HOME!....
Aloha
Guy Akasaki

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.