We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Save Saved
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unbelievable weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Reserved a Coast room but because we are an I Preferred member, we were upgraded to an Ocean room. These are really close to the Restaurant and Jade Pool (Infinity heated pool). The service was impeccable, the food totally delicious. The room was Really private with incredible views even from the bed of the ocean and stars at night. Very relaxing. From the time we checked in with complimentary wine and champagne, robes to use at the pools since we arrived early. When we were checking out, Employee #1 (22 years ago) picked us up in one of their Lexus Hybrids and was very cordial and pleasant to talk to. You could really tell how he loves working there. The Astromer was great and they have an awesome telescope to share with the guests. We saw whales off the shore. We've been to a lot of 4-5 star resorts but this is a 5+++.

Room Tip: Looking for a romantic, relaxing place --- This is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    556
    59
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
31
508
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
azusa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is one of the most amazing properties I've ever been to. My husband & I were married here, and we try to come back every once in a while. The excellent service, gorgeous surroundings & wonderful food consistently surpass our expectations. The prices have gotten quite high, but you quickly forget as you sink into the luxury of Post Ranch. Our favorite time of year to come is late February. There's nothing like having breakfast at their restaurant, Sierra Mar (floor to ceiling windows looking out onto the coast) while watching whales migrate in the distance. My favorite type of room is the ocean house, but the tree house is pretty cool, too.

Room Tip: My favorite type of room is the ocean house, but the tree house is pretty cool, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lee , new jersey
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perched on a cliff! Could not afford the units on the cliff so we were on the other side of the road, but still with a woodsy mountain view. EXPENSIVE! But hell, what is $$ for ?! Ate their twice for dinner , at sunset, and it was glorious. Spent one day at the vanishing edge pool just to relax overlooking the Pacific. Treat yourself for a couple of days for that special occasion.

Room Tip: Unless you have big bucks, go for the mountain view as all day you see the Pacific & the pool &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent a brief visit here on a birthday drive up the coast highway all the way to Monteray from San Diego. Post Ranch was the highlight of the trip!! Right from pulling up the personalized service was impeccable. We were well greeted and had champagne in hand before we even sat down. Everyone at the property we spoke to had worked there a considerable number of years - clearly a great place and good management.

Room was incredible - we had a top level Coast room with uninterrupted views of the Pacific.

Sierra Mar restaurant was top notch - did the prix fix with wine pairing. Food was excellent - in particular the octopus cooked on a charred log - divine! Wine was OK, pairings often lagged well behind the course, and the Somilier lacked characther (my only gripe the whole trip)!

Service was impeccable - every small request was fulfilled to the letter - whether it was putting tealights around the spa tub when we were out for dinner, sending a bottle of champagne to the spa pool or building us a nice fire. Property is beautiful too - views great, many opportunities for great walks. Love that the complimentary minibar was well stocked.

Definitely going to be staying again later this year!

Room Tip: Coast Room - top floor gives past value for uninterrupted views without the full price of the Pacifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We drove the big sur coastline looking for accommodations for the night. It was early in the day and we stopped at several other inns/motels to have a look. We knew we would able able to make it to San Francisco if needed. When we stopped at Post Ranch Inn there was not a doubt that we could stay at this resort for a week. Very expensive but worth it. Everything is done top notch. We had a cabin overlooking the pacific with wood burning fireplace. We spent most of our time in the infinity hot tub and on our deck. Breakfast to our room was fresh and delightful. We ate in the restaurant for dinner, not my favorite. Nice grounds to enjoy the numerous sculptures placed. Very quiet as they shuttle you to your cabin in an electric lexus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a sophisticated dinner at the Post Ranch Inn...amazing place...great service.. Exquisite food and choice vines...rather pricy of course but worth the experience...add the amazing setting of Big Sur and it is one of those moments to remember forever

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Amazing views. The most beautiful hotel in all of California BY FAR. Excellent customer service, rooms, food, atmosphere, I could go on all day..... The website doesn't even do it justice. You must go check it out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.