We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy cuisine at a memorable place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fancy cuisine at a memorable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a sophisticated dinner at the Post Ranch Inn...amazing place...great service.. Exquisite food and choice vines...rather pricy of course but worth the experience...add the amazing setting of Big Sur and it is one of those moments to remember forever

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Amazing views. The most beautiful hotel in all of California BY FAR. Excellent customer service, rooms, food, atmosphere, I could go on all day..... The website doesn't even do it justice. You must go check it out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

It will be by far one of the most treasured and most memorable retreat. My husband surprised me knowing how much I love Northern Ca. You're immediately greeted and treated like a celebrity... upon arrival they take your luggage off your hands and help you refresh from your trip getting there.Offering you a cold beverage or nice glass of wine then you're quickly driven to your hidden room under the flowers as I like to say.When you get to your room the music is set to the most soothing music and you have a welcome tray of cheese and fruit. Simple, but soo welcoming. I LOVE TREES and the outdoors so you can only imagine this place was like jumping into a dream for me where you can retreat into the trees and disappear. The morning hike through the redwoods (which is guided by the owner) is an experience. He manages this tour and hike while on a segway the entire time which is pretty funny. The story of how Post Ranch came to be and created and continually working towards a more organic and sustainable retreat is pretty amazing. We had a couples spa massage set up in the room and then had the most amazing sky welcome us to dinner and the outdoor infinity pool is wonderful!! I felt very fortunate to be able to stay here and to be able to experience 3 days of complete relaxation. What we really enjoyed was that it felt like we were the only ones there you don't have the crowds or people in your space it's soo private and remote and BEAUTIFUL!! Perfect place to spend an anniversary or any special event. LOVED IT

Room Tip: The ocean suites have the dreamlike surreal quality of making you feel as if you are in a dream. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Paradise on the Pacific Ocean. Experience the best of Big Sur at the Post Ranch Inn. As soon as you drive on to the property you realize it is special. Check in includes champagne and a Lexus drive to your exquisite room. There are less than 30 and except for the views they are pretty much the same. The tree houses are a good in between choice. The property includes red wood trees, pool facilities and hot tubs overlooking the Pacific with some of the best star gazing in the world at night. Dinner at the Sierra Mar is another opportunity to watch day move to sunset and on to star gazing. Special side trips include a secluded beach just south of the Ranch and the Jules Pfeiffer Beach with a waterfall into the Pacific about 30 minutes south of Big Sur. Great place for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during the first week of January for 3 nights. This was my second stay at the Post Rach Inn. My wife and I drove along the beautiful coastline in the morning from San Francisco. Upon arrival we were comfortly welcomed and greeted at the small kiosk. Check-in went very smoothly, as I was our second stay at the Inn.

The weather was spectacular during our entire stay. On day one we went to beautiful Pfiffer Sate Beach, and hard and incredible time walking along the shore. Day 2, we went out to Julia Pfiffer Burns park to enjoy the beautiful waterfall (strongly recommend it). Day 3, we just relaxed at the Meditation hot tub and wnjoyed the pure air and beauty this amazing resort has to offer. I stongly recommend the Post Ranch and I'm definitely returning next year as soon as I save up enough money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibeastonthem23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It's difficult to decide which stunning feature of this resort to describe first: the accommodations, the scenery, the service, the restaurant. All are exceptional.

My husband and I have been coming here for years and the experience has always been superlative. The only change has been a new chef who is in charge of the dining room, Sierra Mar. We've eaten all over the world, inclduing Paris,and I can honestly say that both lunch and dinner here were among the best meals we've eaten anywhere.

There are infinity pools, well heated, overlooking the pacific and surrounded by lavender and other flowers in bloom (in February). The property is situated high above the ocean and may have the best situation in all of big sur.

The staff is attentive without being effusive. The rooms all have fireplaces which are prepped for your use every day, and refrigerators which are kept well stocked and whose contents are included in the price of the room. All rooms have a nicely sized deck for relaxing. Bathrooms are well appointed with large jacuzzi tubs and open onto the decks.

The price is higher than some resorts, but has always been a good value. Even if you can afford one or two nights, it's worth the experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our visit to the Post Ranch Inn was one that we will forever treasure! We had the most beautiful and unique rooms I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The view was breathtaking and frankly I didn't want to leave. My spa treatment was fantastic and I felt one with nature and at peace. The restaurant was marvellous, with spectacular views. We dined there for breakfast each morning and enjoyed dinner there a few nights as well. We also had a fantastic meal at Deetjens. The staff at Post Ranch are very gifted in making you feel at home and welcomed. They greet you with a glass of bubbly and whisk you away in their Lexus SUVs to your amazing chalet (or treehouse). I hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
22.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
20.0 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#4 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex and Hotwire so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing