We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Spectacular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Simply Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed only one night, 12/25/12. What a Merry Christmas! After a wonderful meal at the restaurant we retired to our room at about 10pm but it was cold, windy and pouring rain. Didn't matter. We braved the elements and settled into the soaking tub on our deck, which was in one of the Upper Pacific Suites. It was amazing to see the whitecaps on the raging Pacific 1200' below in the moonlight after a passing Pacific storm. Not many places where you can experience that.

The fireplace in our room had real kindling and real wood. We had to light it and stoke it. So unusual and so awesome these days. Kept our room very toasty.

The next morning we had an in-room couples massage. Great therapists, great experience. The sun was peeking out between the clouds and that added to the ambiance. Afterwards, my wife and I soaked again in the tub in better conditions. The sun was out and the Pacific was calm. The air was cool but enjoyable.

We checked out late but were never rushed. We sent our bags and car keys down and they took care of the rest. All we had to do was sign the bill and drive away. We hated to leave.

Northern California in the winter is something that everyone should experience. It's not warm... it's not cold... well, maybe a bit cold. But no snow. It's simply spectacular. I've been twice to Tahiti and Big Sur rivals it in every way, in its own way. And Post Ranch Inn brings the best of Big Sur to you. Give it a shot. If you have the right state of mind, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Upper Pacific Suites do not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    73
    39
    15
    16
See reviews for
39
623
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary, and it was truly a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the Pacific suits, it was clean, gorgeous, and had an amazing view. The bar fridge was stocked with drinks (wine, and champagne included) and food (nuts, crackers, cheeses, candy, chips, etc...) Room service was quick and very friendly. The spa services were fantastic, we had gotten in room massages, and the masseuses were unbelievably great. The hiking trails were so beautiful, we saw deer, turkeys, bob cats, and tons of birds. The entire place had breathtaking views from very angle. You won't be disappointed.

My only complaints would be that below us they were doing some construction in the room. It wasn't terribly loud, however when we were getting our massages, you could hear it. The tub in the bathroom had mineral deposits everywhere, it looked really gross. Needless to say we didn't take any baths (luckily there was a soaking tub on the balcony). Other than that this place was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room called Meadows, it was more private, remote, and had a gorgeous view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a room reserved for two nights over the Christmas holiday-- and actually never stayed at the hotel. We unfortunately got caught between two landslides that closed down the 1 freeway during a heavy rainstorm at night, and no one could get north to Big Sur or south to San Simeon. While we were huddled at the only open restaurant with a lot of other stranded travelers, we made a wifi call to a friend, who then called Post Ranch Inn to say we couldn't get there. They immediately said that they would refund our pre-paid room charge, AND they called around and found us the last available hotel room (a yurt, actually!) on that stretch of the highway. While the drive to the yurt was harrowing, we did make it and were very thankful to not have to sleep in the car. The hotel staff is incredible, and I can only imagine what it must be like if we had actually managed to stay there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Of all the fantastic places on the face of the Earth I've been fortunate enough to experience, Post Ranch Inn is the hands down favorite. I can't get enough of it, and it's difficult to explain why.

It's simply the most rejuvenating place you can possibly go.

When a "busy" day consists of sleeping late, watching the deer wander by, reading a good book, staring at the fire, breaking briefly for the best massages anywhere, taking time out to enjoy the spectacular view from Sierra Mar for lunch, back to reading, time for a nap, perhaps a hike or workout if you're feeling ambitious, and then a fantastic dinner back at Sierra Mar, you can't go wrong.

Rooms are comfortable, staff is incredibly friendly (and when I say friendly, we actually consider them friends), it feels like "home" upon your return, scenery is breathtaking, wildlife is abundant, and no matter what the weather (rain, fog, or shine) you feel like it's been a good day.

Sierra Mar was just re-awarded Wine Spectator's Grand Award thanks to the efforts of one of the most brilliant wine directors in the country (Dominique DaCruz). Make sure to ask for the "big" wine list of 130+ pages, and let Dominique, Michael, or Wanda choose the wine for you. If you're willing, ask them to bring something you've never heard of--it'll be spectacular.

Sierra Mar's new chef John Cox has outdone himself with the new menu, including an extended multi-course tasting menu for dinner, and consistently fantastic food dish after dish. The restaurant and its chef will stand on its own alongside any top notch dining experience in the country. Do I see Michelin stars in the future?

Leave your cell phone, computer, iPad, or other electronic devices put away, or better yet, forget you even have them. Post Ranch is perfect for completely unplugging and recharging like we just don't do anymore--take advantage of it.

Is it expensive? You betcha. But there's a big difference between price and value--PRI's value is off the charts.

Whether for one night or several, dare to splurge--you're worth it!

Counting down the days until our return...

Room Tip: There's no such thing as a "bad" room. Even the least expensive is incredibly comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

this is a very special place to stay. make maximum use of the facilities and the time you have available. we had an ocean room with an uninterrupted view of the Pacific. the sunset was one of the best we've ever seen - just stunning. the room itself was amazing - one of the touches i liked most in the design was the natural light that slowly filters through the room when you wake up in the morning. but its not all about the aesthetics - the mini bar options were pretty good too. its worthwhile walking around the grounds and taking in the scenery and the wonderful outdoor sculpture, and also relaxing in the pools. We only stayed for one night but we managed to fully switch off and it will be etched in our memories for a long time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

So, we booked two nights in the most expensive room there, the Cliff House. We arrived on a Friday and it was pure fog for both nights (and days) 11/30-12/1. We couldn't see more than a few feet in front of us and still we said that we would definitely come back. This place is amazing to say the least! Our room was beyond words. Sonos sound system, the best pillows we have ever slept on (we ended up purchasing 2 and had them mailed to our home before we left;) the fireplace, room service, beds, shower that opens up to the outdoors/deck, private hot tub....the list goes on... However the point of our trip out there from WI was to see the ocean. So as we monitored the weather on our cell phones, we saw that the fog was supposed to break on Sunday. We stayed an extra night so that we could experience the ocean and the wonderful views. Beautiful....beautiful. Nothing like it! Can't forget to mention the amazing breakfast that is included with your stay. Fabulous.... fresh fruit, amazing french toast! the brown sugar and home made jam's were wonderful! We definitely looked forward to making it to breakfast every morning... We never had a chance to walk the grounds due to the fog, but the weather did not dampen the beauty and amazement of this place! Book your reservation and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Post Ranch Inn in September 2012 and it was amazing!

Staying at the Post Ranch Inn isn't just a vacation, it is the experience of a lifetime!

We stayed in the Cliff House, a stand alone building overlooking the ocean. All I can say is WOW! From the room / building itself to the amazing, incredible views - everything was spectacular. We watched the sunset from our balcony and truly enjoyed seeing the stars at night.

We only stayed for one day, but the memories will last a lifetime. This is by far the most expensive place we have ever stayed and was dramatically more than we had ever paid for a hotel room before. That being said, it was worth every single penny.

Room Tip: The Cliff House was truly amazing, but anywhere you can afford to stay on the property will work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.