We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection at Post Ranch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Save Saved
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lauderdale-by-the-Sea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfection at Post Ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The treehouse room is probably the most unique room I have ever slept in. Everything from check in to check out was excellent. I made the reservation through whatahotel.com which gave some extra perks - lunch credit at the Sierra Mar restaurant, as well as a room upgrade. An extraordinary stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    562
    59
    35
    15
    13
See reviews for
31
511
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The Post Ranch Inn has the rare distinction of being one place that is much, much more lovely that it appears in pictures and on any website. It is a stunning location, with breathtaking views from almost every part of the property. We stayed in two different rooms - two days in a treehouse room ( Awesome!!) and one night in a Coast room (wonderful ). The treehouse was our favorite, because it feels like you're at your own private resort. The eternity hot tub was super relaxing, the food delicious and staff the nicest I've ever encountered. I keep a picture of this place on my office computer as a reminder of what I'm working for, because I just want to go back ASAP.
In the words of Ferris Beuler, 'if you have the opportunity, I strongly reccomend it.' The Post Ranch Inn is worth every penny.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A few years ago, my husband and I stopped by and had a glass of wine at Post Ranch Inn. We were so mesmerized by the view that we stayed and ate dinner. We were then so intoxicated by the view, the food, the architecture, the decor and the service that we came back a year or so later and stayed for three nights in an Ocean House.

Forever changed by our experience, we have joyfully accepted the fact that a yearly pilgrimage to Post Ranch Inn is a requirement for the sake of our souls. We’ve just returned from another magical stay, this time in the Upper Pacific Suite. We are now thoroughly spoiled. The room is exquisite and spotless, the amenities perfect and the view is other-worldly. The Upper Pacific Suite is more expensive but definitely worth the splurge.

When we stay at Post Ranch, we wake up each morning thinking we're in Heaven as we look out at the spectacular 180 degree view of sky and sea melding together far off into the Horizon. We revel in the sounds of birds singing and the fire crackling in the fireplace. We're transfixed by the sight of the ocean and sky and calmed by the natural aromatherapy generated by the scent of pine and redwood all around us.

The vibe during the day is casual and we live in our hiking and yoga clothes as we stroll outside in the gloriously fresh air. The vibe at night is upscale/nice casual, though we were a bit surprised to see one diner wearing shorts at dinner... hmmm... The staff at Post Ranch is certainly gracious enough to tolerate that but shorts at dinner seemed disrespectful to the chef and the staff, given how wonderfully thoughtful they are in preparing and serving the food.

We loved the outdoor soaking tub on the balcony of our suite both for the relaxation it provided and for the lovely waterfall sound it added to the already beautiful symphony of birds singing outside and the fire crackling in the fireplace inside. As always, we ate way too much but then who can resist such over the top delicious food? We devoured the daily chocolate chip cookies that are discreetly refilled in the in-room cookie jar. We loved the strawberry muffins and eggs benedict at breakfast, and we were continually delighted by the flavorful creations at dinner. Never before Post Ranch had we ever had such delectable risotto with chanterelles!

The overall vibe of Post Ranch Inn is Zen, spiritual, sacred, restful, and retreat-like. We typically spend three nights there and, upon leaving, feel so profoundly rested on every level that it’s as if we’ve been there for a full week. The service is exceptional and the food is delicious. Thank you to the many wonderful people on the staff who made our stay so perfect: Soaring, Jorge, Fred, Mike, Paige, Christian, Talmon, Trevor, Nicole, Aga, Candace, Rebecca, Martin... I hope I haven't left anyone out by accident! We are forever thankful and we can’t wait to return to the beautiful sanctuary that is Post Ranch Inn.

Room Tip: The Ocean Houses lovely - cozy yet with stunning views, private patio, fireplace and all the ameniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wish I had come here years ago! .. price points a bit high for me.... but finally did it!! WOW!!! Exceeded all expectations! This is heaven! Stayed in a Treehouse and felt like one of the trees. The north end mediatation pool is divine. Views, sunsets, dawn, and stars were in a chorus of hallelujahs. Meals were all excellent. Views daytime from the restaurant are to die for. Walks thru redwoods and meadows good. Massages also were bliss. This is a must do even if only for a meal. The aesthetics are an art of perfection and balance. Love the 3 D art surprises along the walks. A Very special place. My only wish was for a hot tub/ water element at the spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

one of the best and unique hotels i've been to.. totally worth the money :). we stayed for two days once in the "ocean view" room and then in the "tree room/house". both the rooms were worth staying in with "out of this world" breathtaking views. :) the service was excellent, the staff were warm, friendly, attentive and helpful in every possible way. we didn't dine at the restaurant but had the food brought over to the rooms and again we weren't disappointed. everything was cooked to perfection!! all in all an experience to cherish a lifetime. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Well if you've got the ultra-mega bucks this is THE place to stay. We stayed here twice for 2 days each - couldn't afford more, and that was pushing it. The rooms are absolutely exquisite, the restaurant food and views are out of this world, the staff and spa great - it's super elegance. The rooms in the trees, where we stayed, are superb - the rooms overlooking the ocean I suspect are equally amazing. A place to remember for a lifetime.

Room Tip: rooms in trees are gorgeous; ocean view rooms I suspect are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I took my best friend here for her birthday dinner whilst we were on holiday. The food and quality of service was excellent. We found the $110 per person very reasonable for the freshness of produce and flavours from every course. The $110 covers three courses but you get lots of other little things in-between so in total there were an extra 5 little surprise bites thrown in-between making '9 courses'. The flavours were out of this world excellent and ingredients very creative - each mouthful was amazing! Our waitress bas a bit stiff to start but she lightened up and eventually made the dining experience very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.