We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wish I had come here years ago! .. price points a bit high for me.... but finally did it!! WOW!!! Exceeded all expectations! This is heaven! Stayed in a Treehouse and felt like one of the trees. The north end mediatation pool is divine. Views, sunsets, dawn, and stars were in a chorus of hallelujahs. Meals were all excellent. Views daytime from the restaurant are to die for. Walks thru redwoods and meadows good. Massages also were bliss. This is a must do even if only for a meal. The aesthetics are an art of perfection and balance. Love the 3 D art surprises along the walks. A Very special place. My only wish was for a hot tub/ water element at the spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    69
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
36
574
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

one of the best and unique hotels i've been to.. totally worth the money :). we stayed for two days once in the "ocean view" room and then in the "tree room/house". both the rooms were worth staying in with "out of this world" breathtaking views. :) the service was excellent, the staff were warm, friendly, attentive and helpful in every possible way. we didn't dine at the restaurant but had the food brought over to the rooms and again we weren't disappointed. everything was cooked to perfection!! all in all an experience to cherish a lifetime. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Well if you've got the ultra-mega bucks this is THE place to stay. We stayed here twice for 2 days each - couldn't afford more, and that was pushing it. The rooms are absolutely exquisite, the restaurant food and views are out of this world, the staff and spa great - it's super elegance. The rooms in the trees, where we stayed, are superb - the rooms overlooking the ocean I suspect are equally amazing. A place to remember for a lifetime.

Room Tip: rooms in trees are gorgeous; ocean view rooms I suspect are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I took my best friend here for her birthday dinner whilst we were on holiday. The food and quality of service was excellent. We found the $110 per person very reasonable for the freshness of produce and flavours from every course. The $110 covers three courses but you get lots of other little things in-between so in total there were an extra 5 little surprise bites thrown in-between making '9 courses'. The flavours were out of this world excellent and ingredients very creative - each mouthful was amazing! Our waitress bas a bit stiff to start but she lightened up and eventually made the dining experience very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is one of the most special properties I have ever seen. If you are traveling in Big Sur, you must visit the Post Ranch Inn. If you cannot stay in one of the luxury suites (must get ocean view, that is the whole beauty of it), at least have dinner or a drink in the restaurant. The scenery took my breath away. I enjoyed the laid-back, casual, unassuming attitude of the other guests. The hotel offers ultimate privacy in a most luxurious setting. I would highly recommend this hotel for its beautiful surroundings, hiking trails, privacy, and camp-like feel. Perfect place for romance!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I are long time repeat guests of post ranch. This is the only property that always delivers rain or shine, cold or hot. Over the years the management and team have refined the ranch to make it evolve yet stay the same. Do: walk the ranch trails everyday, soak in the north end tub, sit on the hidden benches around the property, let the kitchen know if you want something special at least 24 hrs ahead, and above all let Dan the ranch man know if anything is not ok, he will go to great lengths to make your stay with his fantastic team a special one.

Room Tip: Little is at the noth end and faces to the east. If you don't want water views this room is woo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
220 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was a place I really wanted to visit for a night, given that it has been #1 on the Andrew Harper members' list of favourite hideaways in the USA. So I had high expectations -- and they were fulfilled. My upper pacific suite was beautiful in its architecture and it had all the goodies I would expect. OK, so no TV but you can walk to a pavillion with a TV in it and they give you 1,000 channels of satellite radio. So imagine me sitting in my private jacuzzi on my terrace overlooking the ocean watching the sunset while the presidential debate was going on and they are talking about the nation's poor economy -- a bit surreal, yeah. Dinner was excellent and I found the dining room very accommodating, and breakfast was also very good. The views from the dining room are stunning during the day. There was stargazing at night with an astronomer and a telescope; been a long time since I saw so many stars. The spa treatment was also very good and it is a nice setting looking out over the mountains. Walking around the property is really special; there is this "bird's nest" overlooking a pond with a beautiful view of the mountains and you can climb up inside and be totally at peace. I'd go back just to sit in the bird's nest for a few hours by myself or with that special someone (a great place to pop the question for instance). The hammocks and infiniti pool at the end of the line of cottages provide stunning settings to relax. Service was friendly, accommodating and not at all uppity. The gym was OK but less than I was expecting -- I guess they expect everyone to be so exercised out just by walking around that the gym is superfluous but I do like a gym anyway. Expect to do a lot of walking here up and down hill. You can be driven around by them but this is not a place to enjoy if you are not in decent physical condition to be able to walk around by yourself. It gets really dark at night and if you are creeped out by being in a solitary place at night, then bring a friend or a security team or make sure to get a cottage close to the dining room. I flew out of Monterey airport which is about 50-60 minutes drive from the hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.