We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Big or Go Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Post Ranch Inn
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Go Big or Go Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is one of the most special properties I have ever seen. If you are traveling in Big Sur, you must visit the Post Ranch Inn. If you cannot stay in one of the luxury suites (must get ocean view, that is the whole beauty of it), at least have dinner or a drink in the restaurant. The scenery took my breath away. I enjoyed the laid-back, casual, unassuming attitude of the other guests. The hotel offers ultimate privacy in a most luxurious setting. I would highly recommend this hotel for its beautiful surroundings, hiking trails, privacy, and camp-like feel. Perfect place for romance!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    74
    40
    15
    17
See reviews for
40
644
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ca
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I are long time repeat guests of post ranch. This is the only property that always delivers rain or shine, cold or hot. Over the years the management and team have refined the ranch to make it evolve yet stay the same. Do: walk the ranch trails everyday, soak in the north end tub, sit on the hidden benches around the property, let the kitchen know if you want something special at least 24 hrs ahead, and above all let Dan the ranch man know if anything is not ok, he will go to great lengths to make your stay with his fantastic team a special one.

Room Tip: Little is at the noth end and faces to the east. If you don't want water views this room is woo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
514 helpful votes 514 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was a place I really wanted to visit for a night, given that it has been #1 on the Andrew Harper members' list of favourite hideaways in the USA. So I had high expectations -- and they were fulfilled. My upper pacific suite was beautiful in its architecture and it had all the goodies I would expect. OK, so no TV but you can walk to a pavillion with a TV in it and they give you 1,000 channels of satellite radio. So imagine me sitting in my private jacuzzi on my terrace overlooking the ocean watching the sunset while the presidential debate was going on and they are talking about the nation's poor economy -- a bit surreal, yeah. Dinner was excellent and I found the dining room very accommodating, and breakfast was also very good. The views from the dining room are stunning during the day. There was stargazing at night with an astronomer and a telescope; been a long time since I saw so many stars. The spa treatment was also very good and it is a nice setting looking out over the mountains. Walking around the property is really special; there is this "bird's nest" overlooking a pond with a beautiful view of the mountains and you can climb up inside and be totally at peace. I'd go back just to sit in the bird's nest for a few hours by myself or with that special someone (a great place to pop the question for instance). The hammocks and infiniti pool at the end of the line of cottages provide stunning settings to relax. Service was friendly, accommodating and not at all uppity. The gym was OK but less than I was expecting -- I guess they expect everyone to be so exercised out just by walking around that the gym is superfluous but I do like a gym anyway. Expect to do a lot of walking here up and down hill. You can be driven around by them but this is not a place to enjoy if you are not in decent physical condition to be able to walk around by yourself. It gets really dark at night and if you are creeped out by being in a solitary place at night, then bring a friend or a security team or make sure to get a cottage close to the dining room. I flew out of Monterey airport which is about 50-60 minutes drive from the hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were recommended to this place by guest at a hotel in Las Vegas, they said it was pretty special and they were not wrong. this has to be one of the best locations i have ever stayed at. everything about the place is class and if you can afford the rates it is a must do place. i cant praise this highly enough. great food in resturant also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Staying here is like being transported into a different life zone where you lose yourself in the utter tranquillity and beauty of the place. It has an understated style that just lets the beautiful surroundings of Big Sur take priority. For instance even small things like the slate colour of the towels blend into the surroundings. Top 3 pleasures for me were the views, the infinity pools and the most amazing beds. It is like climbing into a fairy tale princess bed – they are quite high and super comfortable. The atmosphere rubs off on all the guests. Everyone smiles and says hello. Lots of travellers on Trip Advisor say it is a once in a lifetime opportunity and I massively agree. You won’t want to leave. I also recommend reading up on the history of the place (you get books provided in the room) – it gives perspective on why the hotel itself and the service is so good. My only suggestion would be to try a change of scene from the very refined ‘haute cuisine’ hotel restaurant. The other restaurants nearby have similar views but are much less expensive and the hotel will even give you a lift. I also think paying a little more for ocean views was worth it as a big hit for me was the really impressive ocean view - not the moutain view.It’s expensive but I felt it was worth every penny or rather cent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The place is beautiful. The setting is spectacular and staff charming BUT we stayed in an ocean view suite and at a premium of $1685 it was dark cramped and frankly not worth the money. I had a fabulous room at the Cipriani in Venice for the same money. I know it is a completely different experience but I don't want to spend top dollar to stay in Uncle Tom's cabin Paying a fortune to pretend I am on a budget is just not my style. Next time I will try Ventana Inn.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here chose a mountain room It is a lovely view it's a larger room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is truly heaven on earth. This was our third visit. This time we stayed 3 nights in a cliff house. The room was huge with magnificent views of the ocean from every room and the hot tub. The service from the front desk to the cleaning staff was friendly, courteous and efficient. The grounds are very well maintained and a pleasure to stroll through. The only drawback is that it is very expensive, but by the same token well worth the splurge for the best views and service. The food and service in the restaurant "Sierra Mar" was also superb. We will return, but this time we would like to try one of the Tree House rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.