We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Save Saved
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
booandkat@gmail.com
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

From the moment we drove in to Post Ranch Inn and the attendants met us at the car and called us by name it was magical. The setting is unbeatable, high on the cliffs above Big Sur while still nestled in amongst the redwoods. We were offered champagne while we waited for our bellman to drive us to our room (and allowed to check in early), then got a personal tour of the property and were checked into our room. We had the least expensive room, in the Butterfly area, and it was so nice it made us giggle. The atmosphere was rustic while still being luxurious. Our small private deck had a view of the gorgeous mountains and redwoods; the more expensive rooms had ocean views and many were stand alone. There were people in the building above us but we never heard them at all. We had a real fireplace and a kitchenette stocked with gourmet cheese, chocolates, nuts, juice, soda, which was all replaced the next day for free and 2 half bottles of wine, which were not. Since this was a birthday celebration we also had champagne, and the morning of my birthday I found a personalized birthday card. Everyone knew it was my birthday and everyone, from the concierge to the waiter at dinner wished me happy birthday. The basking infinity pools overlooked the ocean and with the binoculars provided in the room we could watch grey whales migrating while we basked. They also had hiking trails and hidden "quiet spots" with hammocks or benches to relax. Breakfast was amazing and the dinner was worth the cost, in a dining room with floor to ceiling windows where you could watch the sunset. I tried the yoga class, which was low key and a good workout and the workout room was quite well supplied. Everyone who worked at the resort was very nice and hard working and all the guests were very happy. Several commented that although this is an expensive place to stay you didn't mind because it was so worth it. We couldn't agree more.

Room Tip: Even though we had the least expensive room it was very nice. We met people in the more expensive r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    564
    59
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
31
513
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

we had a magical time at the post ranch a while back now. just started writing reviews on tripadvisor but thought it was worth going back to cover this as it was absolutely spectacular. everything from the views, the infinity pool perched over the pacific, the food (outstanding) and the grounds were out of this world.If you were to rate a hotel as a 1 being worth travelling across a continent for (2 for travelling across a country, 3 for travelling across a city) this would be a 1.
Great hotel on a great trip down the californian coast

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We live in Pebble Beach and took our international visitors to lunch here today.
It was a 10/10 day, whales migrating North, sparkling sea and a superb luncheon and wines (Hanzell 2009 Chardonay - one of the top whites made in USA).

I have been to a lot of exotic places and I've eaten in many good restaurants around the World, but I cannot think of a more enjoyable experience than today.
Food is very reasonably priced and excellent. Wines are expensive, but global and very good...start about $60.
Worth it and looking forward to our next visit.

We did not stay in the hotel, we only visited for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Staying at the Post Ranch Inn is truly an unforgettable experience. I've been there a couple of times, and have never been disappointed. It's an incredible mixture of natural beauty, seamless service, and a calming aura that make the Inn an unparalleled place. From the time you are warmly greeted by the staff in reception (Martin, Jorge, Shane are all fantastic), to the folks awaiting in Lexus crossover vehicles (we had Humberto, and he was very kind and accomodating) to take you to your room, the experience when initially on the property is unmatched. When we walked into our room ("Peace", very appropriately named), my boyfriend and I both stared at each other in amazement. The "room" was a mecca of lovely furniture, a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean, our very own little hot tub, and a bathroom layout that was truly stunning.
I have a lot to say about the Post Ranch Inn, and strongly recommend it to individuals, couples, friends, or any other adults over 18 (no kids allowed) who want to truly get away from it all. This place is amazing, and we definitely plan on returning!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

In early March, we dropped in for drinks and dinner. The going rate for one dinner is 110.00 before any liquid is consumed. It was a lot of fun to do for one night. The food is in very small portions but you are full when you leave. Views are spectacular and it was a good time. The price i thought was high for what you received.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is a very expensive hotel, but is worth every penny. We stayed in the "Harlen" tree house, which is the least expensive option. It was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful, rooms exceptional, staff top notch. They have thought of everything in the room: a fully stocked mini frig with delicious food and all kinds of drinks, hiking books, historical books about big sur, binoculars, walking sticks, sunscreen, bug repellent, plenty of wood and kindling for fireplace. Breakfast, (included in price) was amazing, and you can have it delivered or eat at the lovely restaurant. The 2 infinity pools ( heated to 105 degrees) are beautiful and truly a fantastic way to view the ocean. ( go to the one by restaurant- we were there 3 times and has it to ourselves) dinner was delicious but super expensive ( price fix 4 course with no alcohol was 250.00 for 2 of us), so i would not do that more than once. They have a seperate room service menu that is very good. There is a library with tons of games and books. I hear the in room massages are great, though we did not have one.
Save up and stay here, you will not be disappointed!!! We stayed 2 nights and did not leave the property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Post ranch is in a class on its own- I've never been to a similar property. The most amazing art is aside from the stunning views all around are the friendliness of the staff who are some of the best in the world. Post Ranch also clearly cares about the future of our planet as many of the structures and facilities are earth friendly. As you would expect at other incredibly high end small properties, it feels intimate, miles away, and yet you have everything you can possibly imagine. My favorite part is that they bring you wood to make a fire at your own unit. Oh, and cliff-side soaking tubs. The stretch of highway around Post Ranch is also not to be missed. Enjoy your next meal over the cliff on a glass floor- you'll have plenty to talk about. It's expensive- but once your there you'll see why.

Room Tip: I stayed in a treehouse- the units under the earth have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.