We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the splurge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is a very expensive hotel, but is worth every penny. We stayed in the "Harlen" tree house, which is the least expensive option. It was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful, rooms exceptional, staff top notch. They have thought of everything in the room: a fully stocked mini frig with delicious food and all kinds of drinks, hiking books, historical books about big sur, binoculars, walking sticks, sunscreen, bug repellent, plenty of wood and kindling for fireplace. Breakfast, (included in price) was amazing, and you can have it delivered or eat at the lovely restaurant. The 2 infinity pools ( heated to 105 degrees) are beautiful and truly a fantastic way to view the ocean. ( go to the one by restaurant- we were there 3 times and has it to ourselves) dinner was delicious but super expensive ( price fix 4 course with no alcohol was 250.00 for 2 of us), so i would not do that more than once. They have a seperate room service menu that is very good. There is a library with tons of games and books. I hear the in room massages are great, though we did not have one.
Save up and stay here, you will not be disappointed!!! We stayed 2 nights and did not leave the property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    67
    35
    15
    13
See reviews for
33
550
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Post ranch is in a class on its own- I've never been to a similar property. The most amazing art is aside from the stunning views all around are the friendliness of the staff who are some of the best in the world. Post Ranch also clearly cares about the future of our planet as many of the structures and facilities are earth friendly. As you would expect at other incredibly high end small properties, it feels intimate, miles away, and yet you have everything you can possibly imagine. My favorite part is that they bring you wood to make a fire at your own unit. Oh, and cliff-side soaking tubs. The stretch of highway around Post Ranch is also not to be missed. Enjoy your next meal over the cliff on a glass floor- you'll have plenty to talk about. It's expensive- but once your there you'll see why.

Room Tip: I stayed in a treehouse- the units under the earth have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Staying at the Post Ranch is not cheap --- but it is well worth it.
It is a truly unforgettable experience, combining the magnificent nature of Big Sur
with the best in contemporary-nature architecture, great service and superb food.

If you can't afford to stay at the hotel, make sure to visit the Sierra Mar restaurant for lunch of dinner. Sunsets are spectacular from up there, and on weekends at night they usually offer star gazing through the telescope.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean Fronts if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salinas, california
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed at Post Ranch Inn for a weekend, although grateful for the experience a weekend was not enough to take in all the surrounding beauty. It was all breathtaking! The staff was helpful and gave us suggestions of places to eat and wonderful hiking trails. The rooms were so warm and inviting, I couldn't bring myself to leave my room. I can't wait to go back and have the whole experience; star gazing, yoga, hiking, and the incredible pools are just a few pleasures they offer that I am looking forward to doing next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

It was a delightful pleasure to stay at the Post Ranch and to be welcomed in such a warm, embracing manner by the Post Ranch staff, who thought of everything! This was especially important since we were overly tired and stressed out. Once checked in, you will no longer need your car. You may walk or be driven to destinations on the ranch. Make reservations for dinner in advance if you want to eat dinner at the Ranch. Breakfast was fabulous. GREAT PLACE!

Room Tip: The staff will be very helpful with selecting a room. I am sure there are no rooms are not great. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We recently stayed at Post Ranch Inn for three nights and it really was the most relaxing and beautiful place I've ever stayed. The staff is extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast is phenomenal and the views from everywhere including the restaurant are stunning. They stock your complimentary mini-bar daily with tasty treats daily and their chocolate chip cookies are heaven. We only left once in three days to go hiking. We spent a lot of time at the basking pool taking in the incredible views and enjoying the privacy. It's fancy but not pretentious. This is not your ordinary resort hotel. I could go on and on but if you are on the fence about staying here, do it. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in upper butterfly and while you don't have the ocean view it is much less expensive a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I ended up staying here by accident. We went to try the restaurant, which is amazing, ranked one of the top in California, if not the world, and got caught in a rainstorm, so we ended up spending the night. One of the best accidents to ever happen to me! I've been back many times since, and it never looses its magic. It's not inexpensive by any means, but the otherworldly quality of the natural beauty that surrounds you makes it worth every penny and keeps me coming back. (Can't forget to mention that the staff are all so helpful and friendly - I think they are zenned out from working in that magical place!) Much love- E

Room Tip: The "worst room" (read least expensive) is better than the best room at most all other pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith and Hotels.com so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.