We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Eternity!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Post Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Post Ranch Inn
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Taste of Eternity!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I had the great privilege of staying at Post Ranch Inn back in early October of 2011. We had the romance package and stayed in an Ocean House. We absolutely love Post Ranch Inn and have decided to make it a yearly trip, as it was so restful and so exquisite that it really proved to be a spiritual retreat for us. We love small, intimate boutique hotels with top-notch service and excellent food. Post Ranch Inn provides everything we love. The service was warm and gracious without being intrusive. The room had every amenity - wonderfully comfortable beds, a wood fireplace, a heavenly view, lovely music on a terrific stereo that lulled us to sleep each night, a fully stocked refrigerator with generous servings of wine and cheese and crackers and the most delicious chocolate chip cookies that were replenished daily. Every meal was phenomenal! Truly, it was some of the best food we've had anywhere - and we've traveled and dined extensively. We had wonderful massages, lounged in the luscious robes and slippers provided in the room, relaxed with the gentle scent of pine trees all over the property and gazed out at views like we've never seen anywhere in the world. It truly is like gazing out at eternity! Sea and sky seem to melt into one! Sunsets are breathtaking and star-gazing at night is a must. We had perfect weather but we even enjoyed seeing the clouds roll in one morning. It was as if we were up in the heavens watching everything unfold before us. We've now decided that Post Ranch Inn is a glimpse of Heaven that we will revisit each year as our spiritual retreat. After three days in Heaven, we felt rested, replenished and inspired. I can't imagine how anyone could write a negative review about this lovely place. It is very expensive but worth every penny. It is understated elegance - our favorite kind of hotel - classy and luxurious but in a very relaxed and unpretentious way. If you want a taste of eternity, go to Post Ranch Inn!

Room Tip: Though it's very expensive, I highly recommend the Ocean House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Melody5,

Thank you for the positive review. We are glad to be able to create such a magical experience for you and your husband. We are happy to see you were able to take full advantage of all we have to offer, from the complimentary activities to the massages and dining experience at Sierra Mar.

We look forward to your next visit and are glad you decided to make an annual trip to Post Ranch.

Kindest regards,

Dan Priano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    81
    41
    17
    20
See reviews for
41
679
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our stay was pretty much perfect. Talk about a great location. The property is built into a cliff facing the ocean, so the views are quite magnificent. The property is very large, but mostly open, and is well-maintained and beautifully designed. Absolutely every detail was thought of. Huge rooms, great layout, total privacy, fireplace, outdoor soaking tub, comfortable beddings, great amenities, great food, excellent service, great everything -- one could live here very very VERY comfortably. Basically, there is not much to be said because everything was so great. And nature helped add to the magic -- one night we fell sleep on the lounge chairs outside while gazing at the stars, and the next morning, a layer of clouds was billowing over the ocean beneath our deck. Absolutely heavenly.

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a bad room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear ElevenBus,

We all appreciate the kind and affectionate way you described our special place in this world. The ever changing weather patterns, as well as the many amenities offered, make Post Ranch a breathtaking place to visit any time of the year. Whatever the next occasion may be, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Ranch.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had to go to San Francisco for a conference and were looking for a few extra days vacation. The lack of a summer vacation this year allowed us to go for quality and not be concerned about the price. If you are worried about the money, read no further and try to find somewhere else accepting that you will have wasted your trip to Big Sur and an outstanding opportunity.
This is the most expensive three days I have spent anywhere but it was worth every penny! The accomodation units are set on a hill overlooking the Pacific to the West and the Santa Lucia mountains to the East. We had driven down along the Pacific Highway from SF in a convertible Ford Mustang - the only way to do this trip if you wish to have the whole experience. Beautiful weather as we arrived in Paradise. You leave the car with reception and are taken around the area (and Big Sur) in environmentally friendly Lexus transport! The quality of the accomodation is outstanding, comfortable beds - luxurious rooms in excellent condition. A spacious shower and a jacuzzi bath in which you could fit your family but thankfully, also good for just two! In fact, don't think of taking the kids - it is not encouraged. You must take a unit with a sea view. We were awake for spectacular sunrises and sunsets overlooking a calm Pacific which glinted under the cloudless sky.
The restaurant has a limited fixed price quality menu with expensive wines form all over the world, and if this does not suit you, again, look somewhere else or persuade the chef to work around your food fads. The restaurant is designed to make the most of the view and at night, you can always go on to the roof and take in that starlit big sky! The breakfasts were excellent and during our three day stay, there was a chef to prepare your eggs every which you could wish for.
There is a lot to do in the area - go to Carmel and Monterey, wineries, wonderful long and short walks in national and state parks, local galleries and museums - all very quaint and cool. I know that Big Sur is supposed to have a population of 1000 and that the Post Ranch can accomodate less than a tenth of that but we were entranced by the tranquility and solitude of this place. We found ourselves becoming absorbed in the facilities on site. A library if you want to watch TV or read a book, an excellent Spa, several infinity pools, a lap pool,woderful guided walks and a mercantile store if you wish to take home some souvenirs.
We had a very relaxing stay and actually resented the noise and drama that accompanied an evening's dinner outside the Ranch. We were reluctant to leave and we could have stayed forever but it is clearly an exceptonal place to stay for that special occasion. We have not looked at the credit card statements since our return but, then again, I don't think that Julia Roberts has either!
Just do it!




me to just go for itThis is my second time staying at Post Ranch in a tree house (Boronda, the ultra-confy bed with my wife, sipping on the complimentary wine given to us in our room, with our fireplace running all night. I know sometimes the managment responds to these posts and if so can you tell me how i can purchase one of those beds?

Room Tip: You have to take a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear 0113,

WOW – Not sure if I can add anything to your overwhelming comments of the Ranch.
But simply to say thank you for your kind and thoughtful review and hope your travels will bring you back soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

If you want a little preview of Heaven, just spend two nights in one of the spectacular private Ocean Rooms overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. You indeed appear to be in heaven while looking hundreds of feet down to the breaking waves and the beautiful clift lined coast. Even the brief period that the fog rolled in was spectacular because we were looking down at the fog from a heavenly perch in amazing sunlight. There is simply no place on earth more beautiful. This alone is worth the trip, but Post Ranch goes over the top with its food, wine and spectacular service. There are indeed many restaurants to visit in Big Sur, and we had the best intentions to do so. However, after the complimentary breakfast, sack lunch for our hike and a fantastic dinner, we simply chose to repeat that all on the following day and left the resort only for a spectacular nature hike at the Anthony Molera State Park and beach. A beautiful 7 mile hike along the coast and throught the park where we ran into Monarch butterflies and beautiful Bobcats! Again, the views of the Pacific were fantastic. At the end of that day we enjoyed a fantastic massage, a dip in the stainless steel hot tub and a champagne dinner. Did I say something about Heaven?? My wife and I enthusiastically encourage you to visit Post Ranch soon. You will not forget it for the rest of your life.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is my second time staying at Post Ranch in a tree house (Boronda, all the rooms have names instead of numbers) and i can't get enough of Post Ranch. Amazing views, ultimate privacy, great food, and endless amanities with-in your room; there is no way not to have a good time here with your loved one. What i have come to adore so much is their beds. I have a hard time sleeping anywhere else but my own bed, however these beds have provided me two of the most tranquil and confortable nights of my life. As i lay in my own bed on my laptop i can only pretend to be at Post Ranch reading my book in the ultra-confy bed with my wife, sipping on the complimentary wine given to us in our room, with our fireplace running all night. I know sometimes the managment responds to these posts and if so can you tell me how i can purchase one of those beds?
..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear cjsfolife,

We are all thrilled to hear of your wonderful stay with us. During the inception of Post Ranch Inn, Bill Post had the idea to name all rooms after family and other early homesteaders of the Big Sur area. It is a great nod of respect to the past – remembering those who helped paved the way for us all to now enjoy this special place in the world.

Like you, many guests have inquired about our beds. They are made specifically for us, and come with either a 3 or 5 inch pillow top. If you like, you can call the Post Ranch Mercantile at 1.831.667.2795 or visit the website at www.postranchmercantile.com

Again, thank you for choosing Post Ranch as your vacation destination. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My extraordinary fiance surprised me with a trip for my birthday last week (I was even blindfolded to the airport) and WOW! The Post Ranch Inn was simply the most amazing place that I have ever stayed. No detail was missed from the rooms to the service to the spa to the pools. We stayed for one night in a Tree House and one night in a Coast House - the Tree House was probably the cooler room but the Coast House had a most inspiring view. They made it so easy to move rooms that next time we go we will do the same thing. We would also highly recommend the Indulgence Ritual in the Spa Suite as well as the guided hikes around Big Sur. There are many things to do but make sure you plan time to walk around the property and enjoy the silence and energy of the place. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear Mark J,

We are happy to hear you and your fiance chose Post Ranch Inn to celebrate your birthday. By your indications, we were able to help make it a memorable one. Each room we have offers unique views and designs, whether they are enchanting mountain and forest views, or the dramatic ocean view. It is hard to go wrong in whatever choosing and we are glad that you found unique characteristics in each of room types. Thank you for experiencing our signature Spa Rituals in our Couples Massage Suite. Whatever the next occasion may be, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Ranch.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My wife and I have been going to Big Sur for the last 20+ years and have always stayed at Ventana. This time we decided to give Post Ranch a try....oh my!!!
We've traveled around the World and have stayed at some spectacular properties but we now have a new favorite!!
The staff is top shelf and the setting is spectacular. Complimentary breakfast is included and it will blow you away with the selection.... No need for lunch after that! Although, they will pack you an amazing lunch for you to take on a hike if you wish. We had planned to have dinner there only 1 night for our 2 nights stay but after our opening night experience we changed plans and stayed "on campus". The wine list is impressive and fairly priced, which is refreshing as that's not the norm for high end destinations.

I'd highly recommend you and your spouse visit Post Ranch sooner than later!

Room Tip: Not a bad room on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPriano, General Manager at Post Ranch Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear Steve J,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent visit with us. While it seems you know the unending beauty of Big Sur, we are glad you chose Post Ranch Inn as your destination. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our daily changing menu at Sierra Mar as well as the large selection of wines we have to offer. When you return to Big Sur, we look forward to welcoming you back to Post Ranch Inn.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
22.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
23.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
#19 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Post Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.