We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, but be prepared...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Save
You added Deetjen's Big Sur Inn to your Saves list
48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
Los
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing, but be prepared...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

We spent a couple of nights in 13th Room, and had a really great time there. It was beautiful and cool in lots of ways. Big Sur is uniquely beautiful, and Deetjen's is a good place from which to enjoy it. The other guests were mostly former hippie-types who now have money (you could tell by the luxury cars in the lot) and go to Deetjen's to re-live the good ol' days. Not exactly the counter culture place it sells itself as, but certainly very rustic and neat.

The good: nicely decorated by someone who clearly had an interesting artistic sensibility; comfortable bed, comforter, pillows, blankets, etc.; good heat; excellent (and expensive) restaurant; lots of hot water in the shower; good location, but right off Highway 1 so not as tucked away in the woods as some reviews might make it seem; no TV so no distraction in that regard; redwoods and creek out the window; close to several gorgeous parks and other good food choices like Nepenthe; character and charm galore.

The bad: we could hear every single thing our neighbors did (especially in their bathroom), which was disconcerting and made me very feel self-conscious about making noise, unfortunately they didn't seem to have the same concern and had very loud, obnoxious conversations; no locks on the outside of the door, so don't leave anything you deem too precious in your room when you leave, and just a latch to lock it at night (that was hard for a former resident of East LA like me to be totally comfortable with); room above, but off to side of 13th Room (Antique Apartment) has stairs that go right by windows into 13th room that provide a direct view into the whole place that means someone can stand up there and look in while you're in bed!

All in all, my husband and I had a lovely time. The journals that chronicled the room's visits/visitors were entertaining and worth reading, although some weirdos felt compelled to write about the sex they had there. Tacky and gross.

p.s. read the journals for tips on lighting the fire in the stove, and be sure to go with someone you won't feel awkward about hearing you pee or anything else...

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    88
    34
    14
    14
See reviews for
37
183
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK Mancester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

What a wonderful place. We stayed in Faraway as part of our honeymoon.

What a wonderful atmospheric place our room was gorgeous and cosy with a big bed and log fire and a deck - we saw hummingbirds!!!

The food in the resteraunt was unmissible - we will be back

Only complaint was that they billed us twice but a quick call brought a speedy refund.

  • Liked — Secluded
  • Disliked — Bit too secluded at times
  • Tips/Secrets — Book for evening meal when booking room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

Stayed there recently on a getaway anniversary weekend. Other than the guest journals, which read like Penthouse Forum, I'm baffled by the appeal. The "fireplace" was an old stove, you have to share a bathroom, there are no locks on the door - so you are encouraged to store your valuables in the car, and was seated late for dinner - despite a reservation - and then waited approximately 30 minutes without any waiter contact before leaving - during which time we watched several other couples in identical predicaments. Stay at the comparably priced state park, which has nicer facilities, real fireplaces, in-room bathrooms/showers, and a staff that might actually apologize when they screwed up your dinner reservations.

  • Liked — Location amongst redwoods
  • Disliked — Terrible service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

If you are the type of person who likes to be waited on by others or needs the full "spa" vacation treatment, stay somewhere else. Deetjen's will be enjoyed by those who appreciate its quiet, subtle charm, the landscape that it blends into perfectly, and one of the best restaurants on the entire coast.

Tiny wooden cabins (and some are apartments with thin walls) are nestled into a pocket canyon above the ocean, wedged in between redwoods and oaks. some have shared baths, some have their own; some have decks and others don't. read the wonderful diaries / guestbooks that go back to the 1950s, mingle with the movie stars who come here to escape the overdone-everything of los angeles and eat some incredible meals (game, fish, steak - all local ingredients, simple preps, nothing fancy, but it's great!).

again, this is not for the kind of person who wants the all-inclusive resort vacation. if you want california, though, this is it.

  • Liked — small but historic apartments. it was quiet and serene.
  • Disliked — i liked everything about it
  • Tips/Secrets — they don't allow loud animals or small children
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

While driving down the coast we were only able to spend one night here, but oh how we wish we could've stayed longer. It reminded me so much of my summer camp when I was growing up; I just loved it. Each little cabin is so cute and quaint. The journals in the rooms are great reading, too. We also had our best meal at the restaurant...my husband is still talking about it!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2006

We stayed at Deetjen's for one night in August, in the 'Little Room'. The room and shared bathroom were both tiny, but beautiful. The rooms adjacent to ours were both occupied, but we didn't hear anything from them.

The location is stunning, and it was lovely to wake up in the morning and see the mist hanging over the pine trees.

The restaurant is also excellent - we had our evening meal there, as well as a fantastic breakfast of pancakes.

We'd been on a long road trip, staying in a lot of chain hotels, and it made a real difference to stay somewhere with such individuality and character. Deetjen's might not be the sort of place you'd like to stay in for a long period of time, but it makes a very refreshing break.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

Surprised at how much everyone seems to like this place. We only stayed one night, thankfully. We booked what we understood was meant to be one of the better rooms - "spacious, with private bathroom and balcony". In fact, the room was medium sized and basic, we had to share a tiny shower room/loo with other guests, and we didn't spend any time on the balcony, seeing as it smelt strongly of sewage. When we raised our disappointment with the staff, they pleasantly but firmly brushed us off. Not great for $180 a night. I imagine we could have found must better value around Carmel. Nonetheless, fortunately we were able to have breakfast at the nearby Nepanthe restaurant, with stunning views over the ocean, which made up for what was otherwise our only negative experience of California.

  • Liked — Nice location - close to Nepanthe
  • Disliked — Too basic and pricey
  • Tips/Secrets — Look to stay in e.g. Carmel
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deetjen's Big Sur Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.