We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small peace of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Save
You added Deetjen's Big Sur Inn to your Saves list
48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A small peace of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Took some consideration to write this recommendation. I didn't want to expose something I really wanted to keep to myself (didn't want the crowds to come) But Deetjens Inn deserves a HURRAAH and a medal of excellence: Its a little perfect spot on earth. Not any luxury or some of the usual common features at hotels and you have to be quiet at night i 'cause the walls are as thin as paper. But the location! And the spirit of the place! And the restaurant serving both breakfast & dinner. And the special decoration of the rooms and the lack of keys and mobil/internet coverage. Wauw!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    88
    34
    14
    14
See reviews for
37
183
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We called in, there were no vacancies, and we just ate elsewhere, but the service from the sweetest reception lady would make us return! She advised us to call to Cambria and directed us to a super b&b the little sur. thanks so much for that, baby doll

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

You get a really old room that's super rustic. You also get to hear all your neighbors. Every step, every trip to the bathroom and every word. If you have get a room near the road you get to hear the cars. Cool for one night stay then head on down / up the road

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I had not been to Big Sur for a couple of decades (at least) and didn't know whether the place had changed. It hasn't -except that the food is even better than we remembered.

To get a flavor of the Big Sur we recalled, we decided to stay at Deetjen's. What a great idea! It is still the quaint, charming, romantic place it has been for many, many years. It doesn't matter if the fog rolls in or the sun beats down (though it's rare when it does), it's rustic at its best. We loved our fireplace and watched the fire each night with the lights off. The service is pleasant -professional, courteous and non-intrusive- and the restaurant is superb. (More on that in a separate review.)

We walked up the trail (road) that begins in the property and climbs to spots that offer great views of the ocean. Half way up we were greeted by a mama fox and two cubs

Best of all, there was no wi-fi and we couldn't connect to AT&T!

Room Tip: They are all unique; Get one with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay here in March 2012 when we were visiting the area for a family wedding. We prefer unique hotels and B&Bs over the big chain hotels and Deetjen's does not disappoint if that's what you're looking for! It's a fun, very unique little hotel in Big Sur. We were in a smaller room with a shared bath, which we were fine with just to get the experience. It's a very quiet, relaxing area with plenty of hikes down to various beaches (the staff had directions on-hand to get us to a nearby beach with purple sand, very cool). Also, just note, the walls are thin but all guests are warned of this and seem to follow the "quiet hours" at night so everyone can get a good night sleep.

Book ahead as there aren't many rooms and make sure you have breakfast there as well, everything is delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed one night in the 'Faraway' room, which as the name suggests is furthest from reception/restaurant, but that was an advantage, as we had the longest lovely walk back through the forest paths and none of the issues regarding neighbours which some reviewers have mentioned.

If you are used to modern hotels I'd advise to stay one or maybe two nights here to soak up a very different experience, but don't expect any modern amenities like phones, TV etc - there are none - but what a pleasure that is for a short break!

Our room had its own private deck from which we overlooked the small steep river valley and huge trees. We bought some wine and goodies from the store up the road and had a wonderful time getting disconnected from the modern world and watching the birds which came to visit.

Each room has a visitors' book going back years and years - the stories in ours made us laugh and cry - so many tales. A collection of some of the most interesting would make a wonderful book....a project for someone?!

Those tales set the tone, and the room itself with wood stove, very comfy old fashioned bed and rocking chair gave us a sense of the history of the place. Yes, it is rustic, but very comfortable and the bathroom was small but everything worked just fine.

The food - we had dinner and breakfast - was absolutely first rate - look no further, but do take some supplies for snacks and a drink in your room at other times as there is nowhere within walking distance or at the hotel.

Too often places are called 'special' or 'unique' - this place definitely is both. I'm guessing not everyone will 'get' the ambience - and I wouldn't take most teenagers there (no offence meant) but combined with the approach via highway 1 and the forest location it is a little slice of something very different that will clearly and fondly stay in my mind long after many other places I've stayed fade.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's all been said already. But, if you've done the big, luxury hotels and want something different and quaint, stay here on your way down the coast road. We took 3 rooms for the family and, yes, the rooms are made of wood, with a real wood burner stove. As I woke in the night I can tell you that it is very quiet even on the main highway, with just 1 or 2 cars an hour. The beds are very comfortable, the decor and atmosphere quite unique, and I wish more places like this existed. It's also so cheap (as the hotel is a not for profit establishment), and the staff are so nice! Dinner was fantastic, with great wines, brilliant food (quality over quantity) and a really interesting wine list to dig into. All accompanied with some lovely classical music and wonderful hosts.

I suppose this is a love it or hate it kind of place and as a man who spends 30-40 days a year in Hyatt/Intercon-like comfort on business, this was a welcome change. I hope that they keep going.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deetjen's Big Sur Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.