We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, magic, charm, a step back in time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Save
You added Deetjen's Big Sur Inn to your Saves list
48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Napa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rustic, magic, charm, a step back in time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a place for romantics, free spirits and those who want to experience the essence of Big Sur as it was over 50 years ago. If you're searching for four star luxury it is not the place for you, but if you want respite, reflection and charm with a touch of whimsy, stay at Deetjen's. The restaurant is fantastic, better than Ventana, and if you want a side of poetry with your meal, ask to sit in the Robinson Jeffer's corner. During the day visit the Henry Miller Memorial Library, lunch at Napenthe and stretch out on Pfieffer beach. Heaven.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoGalNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in 'Top Antique'. All rooms are different and very cute in wooden houses on various locations in the woods. We had one queen in the main room, very comfy and 2 very comfy arm chairs. Another comfy single bed in a small separate room. We loved the individual style of the room. Windows all around. Bathroom very cute. Perfect towels. Keep in mind the window over the bath tube brings definetely the most fun for the ppl parking below ;-) Dinner was excellent! Would recommend to stop there for at least one night to split the dream of highway one over two days or stay longer and go hiking....meet Fabio the cat....its a big boy and not pregnant ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed in the fireplace room with my gf. It was great. Was initially concerned about privacy but it wasn't an issue. In fact, it felt very private. The friendly staff helped us find points of interest (IE hikes, food) in the area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The fireplace room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Can't speak for the actual quality of the inn itself, but the woman in charge of reservations is the rudest customer service person I've talked to. I told her I needed 4-5 rooms for my wedding guests 5 months ahead of time. She told me they were too small and that they only booked really far in advanced. She never mentioned that they inn was fully booked. Guess they just don't like wedding guests staying at their inn. Never encountered a hotel that didn't what business. They certainly won't be receiving mine.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank larmstrong0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
204 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

stayed two nights while driving down the coast on highway 1-
Wonderfully located in the middle of the redwood forest on highway 1.
Truely a historic place with old wooden cabins built in the 1930's by the founder.
Most in original redwood.
So the comforts are also according to the place: a little sparce, but then you get so much else.
Woodfired fireplace in room. old pioneer spirit charm, and a great atmodsphere also in the restaurant which serves great food.
Can only recommend to try this place for everyone.
Be aware that the walls between the rooms are VERY VERY thin.
You can hear everything. But most people act accordingly and with consideration for their neighbours so this was only a minor annoyance.

Room Tip: check the website carefully and choose according to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The room was cosy, and super-warm once we had got the fire going, and at night all you can hear is the creek (and sometimes your neighbours in the next room - the walls are thin). This place is brilliantly ramshackle, and there are some nice trails up the hill, which are worth walking while you're here. Food here is good, and it was a wonderful, homely, place to be for a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I really took some time to research different hotels in big sur. This seemed to offer the best balance of price/location with an added quirky touch. The lack of wifi and cell service made for a relaxing departure from everyday chaos. Free coffee and tea are served in the AM and an assortment of delicious breakfast dishes can be purchased at a really reasonable price. Dinner is on the pricey side but that's par for the course at big sur. That aside, the food was amazing. My room had journals filled with entries back to the late 90s which really made for an interesting experience. Big sur is a place to just let go and take some deep breaths. This is by far the best place to make that happen.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jpaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
24.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
19.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
23.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
4.9 mi away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
3.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#6 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing