We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely individual rooms and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deetjen's Big Sur Inn
Save
You added Deetjen's Big Sur Inn to your Saves list
48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely individual rooms and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in 'Top Antique'. All rooms are different and very cute in wooden houses on various locations in the woods. We had one queen in the main room, very comfy and 2 very comfy arm chairs. Another comfy single bed in a small separate room. We loved the individual style of the room. Windows all around. Bathroom very cute. Perfect towels. Keep in mind the window over the bath tube brings definetely the most fun for the ppl parking below ;-) Dinner was excellent! Would recommend to stop there for at least one night to split the dream of highway one over two days or stay longer and go hiking....meet Fabio the cat....its a big boy and not pregnant ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    88
    34
    14
    14
See reviews for
37
183
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed in the fireplace room with my gf. It was great. Was initially concerned about privacy but it wasn't an issue. In fact, it felt very private. The friendly staff helped us find points of interest (IE hikes, food) in the area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The fireplace room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Can't speak for the actual quality of the inn itself, but the woman in charge of reservations is the rudest customer service person I've talked to. I told her I needed 4-5 rooms for my wedding guests 5 months ahead of time. She told me they were too small and that they only booked really far in advanced. She never mentioned that they inn was fully booked. Guess they just don't like wedding guests staying at their inn. Never encountered a hotel that didn't what business. They certainly won't be receiving mine.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

stayed two nights while driving down the coast on highway 1-
Wonderfully located in the middle of the redwood forest on highway 1.
Truely a historic place with old wooden cabins built in the 1930's by the founder.
Most in original redwood.
So the comforts are also according to the place: a little sparce, but then you get so much else.
Woodfired fireplace in room. old pioneer spirit charm, and a great atmodsphere also in the restaurant which serves great food.
Can only recommend to try this place for everyone.
Be aware that the walls between the rooms are VERY VERY thin.
You can hear everything. But most people act accordingly and with consideration for their neighbours so this was only a minor annoyance.

Room Tip: check the website carefully and choose according to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The room was cosy, and super-warm once we had got the fire going, and at night all you can hear is the creek (and sometimes your neighbours in the next room - the walls are thin). This place is brilliantly ramshackle, and there are some nice trails up the hill, which are worth walking while you're here. Food here is good, and it was a wonderful, homely, place to be for a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I really took some time to research different hotels in big sur. This seemed to offer the best balance of price/location with an added quirky touch. The lack of wifi and cell service made for a relaxing departure from everyday chaos. Free coffee and tea are served in the AM and an assortment of delicious breakfast dishes can be purchased at a really reasonable price. Dinner is on the pricey side but that's par for the course at big sur. That aside, the food was amazing. My room had journals filled with entries back to the late 90s which really made for an interesting experience. Big sur is a place to just let go and take some deep breaths. This is by far the best place to make that happen.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Charming place with wonderful ambiance. Service was friendly and efficient but although I really enjoyed it I am not used to paying close to two hundred for a room with shared bathroom. The room and dinning area was decorated with a wonderful eclectic flare. I can only imagine what the gardens would be like in the summer. We took advantage of the Esalen Institute 1 to 3 am hot springs which is when it is open to the public and were treated to a bath alone and a meteor shower display. Incredible. We had dinner and breakfast at deetjens and although it was expensive both were well worth
It. One of the top 10 meals I have had in years. My wallet was lighter after our stay but I am happy we spurged.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deetjen's Big Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deetjen's Big Sur Inn

Address: 48865 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Deetjen`s Big Sur Hotel Big Sur
Deetjens Big Sur Hotel
Deetjens Big Sur Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deetjen's Big Sur Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.